Thread: All my hotspot devices prefer a no signal/ low bar band (pics listed) Why?

Device(s)
    Samsung Galaxy S8
    Carrier(s)
    AT&T
    Feedback Score

All my hotspot devices prefer a no signal/ low bar band (pics listed) Why?

I've been using several hotspots for a couple years now with ATT in a rural area. I don't use a terrible amount of data with them, probably between 20-40GB a piece on unlimited. I've never had this issue up until a few months ago, but all of my devices stick to Band 4 after being powered on over 1 hour, which where I'm at has no signal/1 bar. To get them back on a different band/ havemore bars, I have to manually restart the devices and will have service for a while until they go back to Band 4. The devices have very slow internet when connected to this band, and literally will go offline / say no signal, but never toggle back to the other bands which are faster, i.e. Band 12 or Band 2 (2-3 bars each). The devices I have are a nighthawk and Unite Explore; I've tried several explores and all exhibit the same behavior. I've had to resort to turning off LTE to get signal to stay on something usable. Band 2 has 2-3 bars and is 30Mbps+, Band 12 has 2-3 bars and is 6-12Mbps, and Band 4 is fringe and limited no signal, with sub 1Mbps speeds. Pictures attached of the hotspot info when the behaviors are evident. Any ideas why they won't stay on the other bands?
    Name:  B12_.png
Views: 559
Size:  55.4 KBName:  b4_.png
Views: 561
Size:  73.6 KBName:  B2_.png
Views: 537
Size:  53.2 KB

Device(s)
    iPhone 7 & 7+, Galaxy S8, iPad mini 4
    Carrier(s)
    AT&T, T-Mobile, Verizon, US Cellular
    Feedback Score
    Basically, the device doesn’t have a toggle to stay on one specific band. Unfortunately there isn’t a way to manually select a preferred band, at least not right now.
    --Bentley

Feedback Score
    What's the weather been like in your area?

Device(s)
    Samsung Galaxy S8
    Carrier(s)
    AT&T
    Feedback Score