Page 1 of 5 1 2 3 4 5 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 72

Thread: 2018 Truphone thread 2018

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    554
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile & AT&T
    Feedback Score
    0

    2018 Truphone thread 2018

    Well, if I can, let me be so bold as to start the 2018 general thread.

    My wife and I are planning on using Truphone in the UK this year and I seem to remember somewhere that Truphone has changed partners and is now using O2 as a supplier. Does anyone have any experience with data on O2/Truphone in the area between London and Brighton in recent months?

    The last time I tried Truphone on the continent we were bitten by the bug where out phones did not work on the frequencies that Truphone's partners used in Germany. Hopefully, this time we'll be able to get 4G speeds in the UK.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    3,295
    Carrier(s)
    FreedomPop, ekit, Truphone, Piranha, Three UK, Lycamobile, WorldSim
    Feedback Score
    0

    Los Angeles How/Why I use Truphone

    Thanks for starting this thread.
    I would encourage calling Customer Service with your UK questions.
    They might be located in the UK. If not they probably know or can find out.
    My experience with their CS has always been very good.

    I use Truphone because the SIMs do not expire with minimal usage
    and at a predictable cost.
    They can be used internationally if needed.
    They also can call internationally at a predictable cost.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    1,885
    Device(s)
    LG Ultimate 2 L41C, HTC Evo 4G, Photon Mifi
    Carrier(s)
    Pageplus Cellular
    Feedback Score
    0
    I just bought a prepaid sim to attempt to use in a dual sim phone setup. We'll see how it goes

    Sent from my LEX727 using Tapatalk

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    3,295
    Carrier(s)
    FreedomPop, ekit, Truphone, Piranha, Three UK, Lycamobile, WorldSim
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by ShredFred View Post
    I just bought a prepaid sim to attempt to use in a dual sim phone setup. We'll see how it goes.
    What will the other SIM be?
    What are the two slot's modulations [2G, 3G, 4G or LTE]?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    12,980
    Device(s)
    LG Phoenix 2
    Carrier(s)
    FreedomPop
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by ShredFred View Post
    I just bought a prepaid sim to attempt to use in a dual sim phone setup. We'll see how it goes

    Sent from my LEX727 using Tapatalk
    Quote Originally Posted by rfranzq View Post
    What will the other SIM be?
    What are the two slot's modulations [2G, 3G, 4G or LTE]?
    Yes, please reply to let us know what 2nd SIM you got and what model dual SIM phone you got. Thanks!

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    1,885
    Device(s)
    LG Ultimate 2 L41C, HTC Evo 4G, Photon Mifi
    Carrier(s)
    Pageplus Cellular
    Feedback Score
    0
    I bought a iRULU GeoKing Max 3 phone on Amazon. It's currently listed for $119 but I took advantage of some flash deal and got it for $79. Still a pretty good price for this Samsung Note clone.

    This is a dual standby phone. Was able to specify which sim gets data, phone and SMS.

    I got my FreedomPop LTE Sim in slot 1 working in full 4g LTE speeds.

    I got the truphone sim working in slot 2 which supports 3g. Have been able to receive s call and a SMS successfully.

    Sent from my G36 using Tapatalk

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    1,885
    Device(s)
    LG Ultimate 2 L41C, HTC Evo 4G, Photon Mifi
    Carrier(s)
    Pageplus Cellular
    Feedback Score
    0
    I am trying to figure out how to use a callback app to place outgoing calls for free by ringing back to my incoming number. Seems like voice+ is no more. Does anyone else have this working?

    Sent from my G36 using Tapatalk

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    12,980
    Device(s)
    LG Phoenix 2
    Carrier(s)
    FreedomPop
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by ShredFred View Post
    I am trying to figure out how to use a callback app to place outgoing calls for free by ringing back to my incoming number. Seems like voice+ is no more. Does anyone else have this working?

    Sent from my G36 using Tapatalk
    Try the GVoice Callback app. https://play.google.com/store/apps/d...callback&hl=en

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    1,885
    Device(s)
    LG Ultimate 2 L41C, HTC Evo 4G, Photon Mifi
    Carrier(s)
    Pageplus Cellular
    Feedback Score
    0
    Thanks for the info.

    I tried that app but for some reason I couldn't get it configured correctly. It only listed a number that I had in my Google Voice account/hangouts as the dial back number and couldn't figure out how to replace it with my Truphone number.

    Maybe it's tied into my Google voice settings. I will try poking around in there.

    Sent from my LEX727 using Tapatalk

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    12,980
    Device(s)
    LG Phoenix 2
    Carrier(s)
    FreedomPop
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by ShredFred View Post
    Thanks for the info.

    I tried that app but for some reason I couldn't get it configured correctly. It only listed a number that I had in my Google Voice account/hangouts as the dial back number and couldn't figure out how to replace it with my Truphone number.

    Maybe it's tied into my Google voice settings. I will try poking around in there.

    Sent from my LEX727 using Tapatalk
    Yes, it is. You must use one of your GV forwarding #s. That was the same with the old Voice+ app.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Posts
    4,484
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by ShredFred View Post
    I am trying to figure out how to use a callback app to place outgoing calls for free by ringing back to my incoming number. Seems like voice+ is no more. Does anyone else have this working?
    The GV account webpage in a mobile browser works pretty well for this. That's what I used when the V+ app stopped working.

    You have to set the callback number when you first use it. To change the callback number, clear the browser cache.

    I don't approve of using Tru this way. YMMV. I was using the GV callback to setup landline calls.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    1,885
    Device(s)
    LG Ultimate 2 L41C, HTC Evo 4G, Photon Mifi
    Carrier(s)
    Pageplus Cellular
    Feedback Score
    0
    Thanks for the info, seems to work well. I bought a licence for the app.

    Sent from my G36 using Tapatalk

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    12,980
    Device(s)
    LG Phoenix 2
    Carrier(s)
    FreedomPop
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by ShredFred View Post
    Thanks for the info, seems to work well. I bought a licence for the app.

    Sent from my G36 using Tapatalk
    You're welcome. Hopefully the GVoice Callback app keeps working.

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    1,172
    Feedback Score
    0
    Does anyone know the MCC and MNC for the TruPhone APN in the US?

    Most phones fill those items automatically but I have one that doesn't.

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Posts
    4,484
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by barryspar View Post
    Does anyone know the MCC and MNC for the TruPhone APN in the US?

    Most phones fill those items automatically but I have one that doesn't.
    Mine says MCC: 310, MNC: 30.

    I did not fill them in. It probably changes depending on where the phone is.

Page 1 of 5 1 2 3 4 5 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. 2017 Truphone Thread 2017
    By rfranzq in forum General Prepaid discussion
    Replies: 101
    Last Post: 01-26-2018, 02:15 PM
  2. 2016 Truphone Thread 2016
    By rfranzq in forum General Prepaid discussion
    Replies: 111
    Last Post: 11-29-2016, 01:00 PM
  3. Replies: 25
    Last Post: 06-30-2015, 01:04 PM
  4. The Future: 2018, 2058, 2108
    By Elusor in forum The Lounge
    Replies: 26
    Last Post: 07-31-2008, 01:18 PM
  5. Sports: FIFA World Cup 2018...in Canada?
    By g3off in forum The Lounge
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 03-17-2007, 10:52 AM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks