Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Transfer to new tracfone with bundle service with deactivated safelink number

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Posts
    15
    Feedback Score
    0

    Transfer to new tracfone with bundle service with deactivated safelink number

    Hi all,

    So basically I got my friend a rebel tracfone with 1 year service and 1200min/txt/data. I will need to transfer her existing service double min feature dummy phone to this new rebel phone. I notice that on the card that the min/time will be automatic but it says safelink customers can not upgrade or transfer service to this phone. So the question is how do I get this to work.

    In summary my friend was a safelink customer a few years ago but no longer gets minutes from safelink aka she pays for her own service time and minutes. Unfortunately I think she is still labelled as a safelink customer. Is there a way to know and will it really not add min/time/phone number to this new phone if she is considered safelink.

    Steps taken so far and I plan to do the transfer on Saturday. So any tips and knowledge would be appreciated and I will list the steps I did and result.

    1) spent 45 min with tracfone correcting the service end date. It seem that my friend had a date on her phone but Tracfone has it expiring 8 months earlier. I think this explains why they deactivated her last year at the same time. I think that is the safelink date but she is no longer with safelink so who knows if its a glitch or what.

    2) The next day I logged into her safelink tracfone account and removed her phone from the system.

    3) After removing the number from the tracfone account, I added the phone number to her personal tracfone account.

    4) Later in the day I changed the pin number on the account. (Never knew what she had but in case I need the pin when I do a chat)

    So what other steps should I do to ensure that this transfer of the phone number to the rebel will work. I assume by moving the number to the personal account it makes it a personal number and not safelink unless it is tied to the phone number.

    I plan to add the new phone sim/etc to the account first and then initiate a chat to transfer the phone number/service date/ minutes to the new phone. Will they add the 1 year service and minutes on top of what she has to the new phone automatically? Do I need to tell the chat rep. that?

    Thanks. Will keep everyone posted on what happens. Any tips to make it go smoothly is appreciated or if anyone has been successful doing it.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    West Palm Beach
    Posts
    187
    Device(s)
    Note 8, LG Xpression 2
    Carrier(s)
    Xfinity, Tracphone
    Feedback Score
    0
    You did too much work and may have made the situation worst. I would have just went to a Wal-Mart and asked for the Tracfone customer service number. I would have the just talked to a live representative and made them do all the work. If you go to certain Wal-Mart's they have a connection center that can handle it. If there is not a connection center in your closet area just ask for the customer service number like I said before.

    Sent from my Moto G (4) using HoFo mobile app

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Posts
    15
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by David Walcott View Post
    You did too much work and may have made the situation worst. I would have just went to a Wal-Mart and asked for the Tracfone customer service number. I would have the just talked to a live representative and made them do all the work. If you go to certain Wal-Mart's they have a connection center that can handle it. If there is not a connection center in your closet area just ask for the customer service number like I said before.

    Sent from my Moto G (4) using HoFo mobile app
    Thanks. But there is no wal-mart close enough besides why would they help if I did't even buy anything from them. I assume for this complicated transfer documenting it in writing is my best bet via chat (considering I hear stories that people lose time/minutes since they can't prove it and chat is more proof when their systems shows something else in error). The key point at end of day is this is not my phone (it belongs to a friend). I'm just allotting my time and home internet to help her with the transfer. I just want this to be simple because ultimately I'm the one that has to research, add time/minutes, etc for her because she won't do it herself. It took me over 1 year to convince her to get a new phone (her phone is very very old and dying a slow death 8+ years? tracfone). Literally I had to convince her to pay $50 for new phone, 1 year service with 1200 call/txt/data vs $70 with only 1 year of service and 200 single unit only no new phone.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    258
    Device(s)
    LY Stylo 2v
    Carrier(s)
    TracFone
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by echoecho View Post
    Thanks. But there is no wal-mart close enough besides why would they help if I did't even buy anything from them. I assume for this complicated transfer documenting it in writing is my best bet via chat (considering I hear stories that people lose time/minutes since they can't prove it and chat is more proof when their systems shows something else in error). The key point at end of day is this is not my phone (it belongs to a friend). I'm just allotting my time and home internet to help her with the transfer. I just want this to be simple because ultimately I'm the one that has to research, add time/minutes, etc for her because she won't do it herself. It took me over 1 year to convince her to get a new phone (her phone is very very old and dying a slow death 8+ years? tracfone). Literally I had to convince her to pay $50 for new phone, 1 year service with 1200 call/txt/data vs $70 with only 1 year of service and 200 single unit only no new phone.
    The best way to document anything with TracFone is to take screenshots of the account online and if possible on the phone also.
    I transferred to a different phone last month and everything went missing. Fortunately I had went to TF website and took a screenshot of my balances and also did that on my phone. I transferred via TF chat which has always worked for me, but this time something went wrong. Called TF CS and had to be connected with a higher level cause the first CS rep only wanted to give me a fraction of the minutes, data, texts I had. Told him I wanted to talk to someone higher up than him cause I was not gonna settle for that. He connected me with someone else and they didn't want to give me everything back until I told them I had taken screenshots of my account balance right before the transfer, that I could send them to them via email. After I said that they gave me back my minutes, etc.
    ~~Teresa ~~

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    BP subsidized Gulf Coast
    Posts
    6,854
    Carrier(s)
    Tracfone
    Feedback Score
    0
    Besides chat transcript (and the ticket number so they can locate the chat later) and screenshots you can also record parameters 0 and 30 just before the transfer: prepaid menu > code entry

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Posts
    15
    Feedback Score
    0
    This the the process I went thru and the problems I came across.

    1) updated the phone to the correct expiration date (phone vs tracfone internal system/website is difference) Day 1 document units and expiration date

    2) remove phone from safelink tracfone account and then added to personal tracfone account. Also changed the Pin since I don't know it Day 2

    3) Day 3 Saturday AM. Thought phone was dead on arrival but then it suddenly worked after hitting the power button (Probably wasn't charged properly yet who knows but I did place a call to tracfone which basically they told me if it didn't work you need to contact ebay and request return since it may be defective - good thing I made one last effort before hitting return button diverting crisis of headache of the return)

    4) Added new phone to personal account unactivated

    5) Initiate chat - confirm units and expiration date again.

    6) Ask to transfer number with units and time to new phone and request confirmation that the additional 1 year & 1200 min/txt/data that was part of the bundle will be added on top

    7) Told to turn off phones.

    8) Suddenly it says

    "Thank you for continuing to use SafeLink Wireless as your service provider.
    The serial number of the new phone will be added in your existing account.
    Before we proceed with your request, I need to validate your account first........"

    This is where I freak out since the phone is not a safelink wireless phone. Long time ago when it deactivated and my friend just extended service/ minutes using her own money. I quickly tell her I'm not a safelink customer. She basically tells me that the enrollment ID is still attached to the account. I'm worried since it says that safelink customers can not upgrade and transfer to this phone in the card that came with the phone even though I'm not safelink but the system may think I am?

    9) I ask that if the extra minutes/time/ phone number will transfer over. She answers yes.

    10) I provide the pin for the transfer

    11) Some back and forth. I turn on the phone it does not activate. She tells me it is still in progress and calls in a port specialist for any updates. they continue working on account and say activation is complete,

    12) test calling does not work. when i dial it asks me to buy by dialing an operator instead, I hang up and tell the chat that its asking for units.

    13) chat tells me that the minutes were transferred and to turn off phone and wait a few minutes

    14) upon opening it works on outgoing and incoming call

    15) I confirm final service end date/ units and end chat thanking tracfone rep.

    16) Later it seems that dialing in does not work. After setting up voicemail the number now receives and can call phones.

    17) End result = transfer from dummy basic phone to new rebel smartphone with 1 additional year of service on top of old and old units are in 3 buckets instead of 1 with 1200 additional voice/txt/data on top of the old units.

    Took a while but eventually worked. Chat took over an hour excluding phone setup time Did a lot of turning off and on the phone when things didn't work. I felt they may have been manually adding the stuff for me or trying to work around it to make it work since the safelink maybe causing the hiccups. Very happy to have someone know what to do and provide so much help from Tracfone directly to make it work. This will be the phone for my friend for a while. Not bad, for $50 my friend got extra 1 year service, 1200 min/txt/data and a new smartphone, case, and freebie car charger if she uses it. I consider myself lucky that the transfer worked until time when she tells me to add service time/units

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 17
    Last Post: 08-18-2016, 07:17 PM
  2. transfer to new sim with no phone
    By selphj in forum Other Devices (HotSpots/MiFi, USB Modems, Netbooks, etc.)
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 05-21-2014, 01:02 PM
  3. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 04-10-2012, 10:04 PM
  4. service time doesn't transfer to new Tracfone?
    By a5253628 in forum Tracfone/Net10
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 10-01-2011, 07:55 PM
  5. Replies: 7
    Last Post: 06-26-2004, 01:32 PM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks