Results 1 to 12 of 12

Thread: LTE Bands 2, 5 used for calling?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    414
    Feedback Score
    0

    LTE Bands 2, 5 used for calling?

    I am looking to buy Blackberry Classic for verizon
    it has LTE 4, 13 only.
    I will be using it only for calling and messaging.
    Will I be missing any calls or
    have less coverage for calls without LTE band 2 and 5

    Blackberry classic
    LTE Band 13/4 (700/1700 MHz), CDMA/1xEVDO Rev. A (800/1900 MHz); Global Network: EDGE/GSM (850/900/1800/1900), HSPA/UMTS(850/900/1900/2100)

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Posts
    2,256
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by ahg View Post
    I am looking to buy Blackberry Classic for verizon
    it has LTE 4, 13 only.
    I will be using it only for calling and messaging.
    Will I be missing any calls or
    have less coverage for calls without LTE band 2 and 5

    Blackberry classic
    LTE Band 13/4 (700/1700 MHz), CDMA/1xEVDO Rev. A (800/1900 MHz); Global Network: EDGE/GSM (850/900/1800/1900), HSPA/UMTS(850/900/1900/2100)
    No B2 and B5 are just added capacity. Band 13 is what gives VZW their big coverage. B5 is not available in some areas and, some areas it never will be.

    Sent from my SM-G950U using Tapatalk

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Location
    Chattanooga, TN
    Posts
    1,327
    Device(s)
    SM-G965U1
    Carrier(s)
    Verizon Wireless
    Feedback Score
    0
    As long as you can get 13, and 4 you'll have service everywhere. Having said that, you won't get the speeds in all areas without band 2. But for your use case, that won't matter. I'll assume it can do VoLTE.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    414
    Feedback Score
    0
    I guess band 2 and 5 are redundant. they are mainly for more data speeds

    is that right

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Location
    Chattanooga, TN
    Posts
    1,327
    Device(s)
    SM-G965U1
    Carrier(s)
    Verizon Wireless
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by ahg View Post
    I guess band 2 and 5 are redundant. they are mainly for more data speeds

    is that right
    Yes. Added capacity for faster speeds.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    414
    Feedback Score
    0
    it looks like Blackberry Classic does not have Volte on Verizon
    Can anyone confirm it

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2016
    Posts
    2,526
    Device(s)
    Sonim XP8, iPhone XS, Pixel 3 XL
    Carrier(s)
    SouthernLINC, T-Mobile, Verizon
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by ahg View Post
    it looks like Blackberry Classic does not have Volte on Verizon
    Can anyone confirm it
    It doesn't have VoLTE.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    414
    Feedback Score
    0
    Verizon's Customer service tells Volte works on blackberry classic

    is that not accurate

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Feb 2016
    Posts
    2,526
    Device(s)
    Sonim XP8, iPhone XS, Pixel 3 XL
    Carrier(s)
    SouthernLINC, T-Mobile, Verizon
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by ahg View Post
    Verizon's Customer service tells Volte works on blackberry classic

    is that not accurate
    No. I have one and it calls only go through 1x.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    414
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by CircuitSwitched View Post
    No. I have one and it calls only go through 1x.
    Thank you





    .

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    414
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by CircuitSwitched View Post
    No. I have one and it calls only go through 1x.
    also, does it give you the options or a menu for advanced calling

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Feb 2016
    Posts
    2,526
    Device(s)
    Sonim XP8, iPhone XS, Pixel 3 XL
    Carrier(s)
    SouthernLINC, T-Mobile, Verizon
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by ahg View Post
    also, does it give you the options or a menu for advanced calling
    No, because it doesn’t support it....

Similar Threads

  1. Which frequency bands does Telus use for LTE?
    By RogersUser1 in forum TELUS/Koodo/Public Mobile
    Replies: 18
    Last Post: 05-23-2016, 07:50 AM
  2. What bands am I using for texts and phone calls?
    By Falcon_73 in forum T-Mobile
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 08-02-2015, 12:34 PM
  3. 1000 Canadian LD minutes/$5 can be used for call forwarding?
    By DataDude in forum Rogers/Fido/Chat-r
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 08-23-2010, 11:41 AM
  4. V600 Ringer ID - used for calls and SMS??
    By Steve28 in forum Motorola
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 08-17-2004, 03:06 AM
  5. What band does Nextel use for GSM?
    By Mysticales in forum General Nextel Discussion
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 08-08-2004, 01:57 AM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks