Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Prepaid phone "cannot be used until scanned at the register"

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Location
    Albuquerque, NM
    Posts
    109
    Device(s)
    Samsung Galaxy S9
    Carrier(s)
    AT&T
    Feedback Score
    0

    Prepaid phone "cannot be used until scanned at the register"

    I work retail, and when someone buys a prepaid phone (Verizon, AT&T, Simple Mobile, and T-Mobile), we don't scan the barcode that says "scan for activation", we simply scan the UPC of the package and the phone works. No activation whatsoever.



    What's the point of the "cannot be used until scanned at the register" if in theory, someone could steal a phone from my store and it would work.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    5,956
    Feedback Score
    0
    the stolen phone wouldn't activate. they have ways to tell if the phone was purchased or stolen.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Location
    Albuquerque, NM
    Posts
    109
    Device(s)
    Samsung Galaxy S9
    Carrier(s)
    AT&T
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by october262 View Post
    the stolen phone wouldn't activate. they have ways to tell if the phone was purchased or stolen.
    But each phone has the same UPC bar code on it.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    5,956
    Feedback Score
    0
    doesn't matter, if the phone is stolen and the person tries to activate the stolen phone they will get denied no matter who you talk to. the only thing that the stolen phone would be good for would be for an mp3 / videoplayer and wifi use if it hasn't been retail scanned when you try to activate then it is considered a stolen phone. - see here post #1 - http://www.howardforums.com/showthre...retail-scanned also see here - http://www.howardforums.com/showthre...t-retail-store

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Location
    Portland, OR
    Posts
    1,407
    Device(s)
    iPhone 11, Moto G7 Power
    Carrier(s)
    AT&T, Three UK
    Feedback Score
    0
    Here's how it works: i bought a iPhone SE for AT&T Prepaid at Bestbuy. Bestbuy rep scanned the UPC instead of the Imei and phone got flagged 3 days later and stopped working. Other people had the same thing happen. You would have to email AT&T an upload of the receipt, imei number, and phone number on the account the phone belongs to so that it would be cleared for activation.
    Home Entertainment: Xfinity Double Play with 140+ channels and 100 Megs per second internet.

    Landline: Google Voice

    Mobile Entertainment: AT&T Prepaid as primary, Three UK sim as secondary.

Similar Threads

  1. AT&T phone dialer cannot be used with FreedomPop Messaging Phone/SIM
    By hoktrillian in forum General Prepaid discussion
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 02-21-2017, 03:54 PM
  2. Replies: 25
    Last Post: 10-06-2015, 01:23 PM
  3. telus phones that cannot be used with ported #?
    By key_guard in forum TELUS/Koodo/Public Mobile
    Replies: 28
    Last Post: 03-15-2007, 09:44 PM
  4. this Sim card cannot be used with this phone
    By iamtohh in forum HP/Palm
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 10-24-2004, 08:25 AM
  5. Are there any mobile phones that can be used in both the USA and JAPAN ???
    By almaviva in forum General Mobile Questions and Discussion
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 11-01-2002, 11:35 AM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks