Page 36 of 37 FirstFirst ... 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 LastLast
Results 526 to 540 of 541

Thread: Freedompop Global SIM will quit working on 1/3/2018

  1. #526
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    11,903
    Device(s)
    LG Phoenix 2
    Carrier(s)
    FreedomPop
    Feedback Score
    0
    My FP Global SIMs still work. I've only been charged the $0.01 a few times over the last 2 years on my 12 FP GSM SIMs on the free plan. I don't think I've been charged at all on either of my FP Sprint products on the free plan.

  2. #527
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Clovis
    Posts
    45
    Device(s)
    Galaxy Note 4
    Carrier(s)
    Verizon
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by djphilosophy View Post
    Not necessarily. When was they last time they worked in your location? Since the FP Global SIMs only work on T-Mobile 2G and 3G now in the US, and T-Mobile has shut been shutting off 3G, it could just be that you're in an area of no T-Mobile coverage on either (T-Mobile LTE not being allowed on the Global SIM). What does it say when you log in to your account online?
    It says "Our Global SIM is being discontinued due to performance issues" at the top of the page.
    But everything else looks fine, 200mb, 500 text, 200 voice.

  3. #528
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    11,903
    Device(s)
    LG Phoenix 2
    Carrier(s)
    FreedomPop
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by jason559 View Post
    It says "Our Global SIM is being discontinued due to performance issues" at the top of the page.
    But everything else looks fine, 200mb, 500 text, 200 voice.
    It has said that for close to 2 years.

  4. #529
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Clovis
    Posts
    45
    Device(s)
    Galaxy Note 4
    Carrier(s)
    Verizon
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Boz1 View Post
    It has said that for close to 2 years.
    Yes, was just wondering if there is a way to check the SIM status. Sounds like there isn't.
    Signal shows 0dBm and 99asu

  5. #530
    Join Date
    May 2016
    Posts
    334
    Carrier(s)
    FreedomPop, Truphone, Toggle, Netzclub DE, Three UK
    Feedback Score
    0
    You didn't answer when you last had a usable signal in that location.

    Something else you can try: assuming this is Android, and your phone allows it, go into the phone dialer and enter *#*#4636#*#*. If allowed, that will bring up phone testing. Tap Phone Information, go into Set Preferred Network Type, and select GSM Only. Then go into mobile settings (same section as APN) and do a manual network search. See if T-Mobile comes up. You can do it again with W-CDMA Only (should also show AT&T's 3G network) and LTE Only (just to confirm whether your device is seeing a T-Mobile LTE signal, not that the Global SIM can use it).

    If your device shows a GSM (2G) or W-CDMA (3G) T-Mobile network, but you're not connecting, that would add fuel to the argument that your account is dead.

    Also, you said you checked APN, but there's a different APN for the LTE SIM, just confirm the one you're using is freedompop.foggmobile.com.

  6. #531
    Join Date
    Feb 2017
    Posts
    19
    Feedback Score
    0
    I threw away my two global SIMs a few months ago when I started getting the "your item is being shipped" screen (I wasn't using them anymore). Now I've gotten the $0.01 charges on my credit card again. I tried cancelling my accounts online, but that failed (of course). Any suggestions on how to clear my card data from the accounts, or even better how to cancel the accounts?

  7. #532
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    270
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by malet View Post
    I threw away my two global SIMs a few months ago when I started getting the "your item is being shipped" screen (I wasn't using them anymore). Now I've gotten the $0.01 charges on my credit card again. I tried cancelling my accounts online, but that failed (of course). Any suggestions on how to clear my card data from the accounts, or even better how to cancel the accounts?
    You have to contact FreedomPop through the FreedomPop forum.

  8. #533
    Join Date
    May 2016
    Posts
    334
    Carrier(s)
    FreedomPop, Truphone, Toggle, Netzclub DE, Three UK
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by malet View Post
    I threw away my two global SIMs a few months ago when I started getting the "your item is being shipped" screen (I wasn't using them anymore). Now I've gotten the $0.01 charges on my credit card again. I tried cancelling my accounts online, but that failed (of course). Any suggestions on how to clear my card data from the accounts, or even better how to cancel the accounts?
    For anyone lucky enough to have a still working Global SIM, this is good reason to use Paypal as the payment source going forward. My Global SIMs were shutdown with the "your item is being shipped" message last year as well, but I haven't had any further $.01 charges via Paypal.

  9. #534
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    11,903
    Device(s)
    LG Phoenix 2
    Carrier(s)
    FreedomPop
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by malet View Post
    I threw away my two global SIMs a few months ago when I started getting the "your item is being shipped" screen (I wasn't using them anymore). Now I've gotten the $0.01 charges on my credit card again. I tried cancelling my accounts online, but that failed (of course). Any suggestions on how to clear my card data from the accounts, or even better how to cancel the accounts?
    Have you tried logging in, clicking on the gear in the top right, clicking on Account Status in the menu on the left, and then Cancel Account?

  10. #535
    Join Date
    Feb 2017
    Posts
    19
    Feedback Score
    0
    Yup, that’s what I did. At what I assume was the end of the process I got an error saying the cancellation failed. I’ll try again over the next few days.

  11. #536
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    287
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by malet View Post
    Yup, that’s what I did. At what I assume was the end of the process I got an error saying the cancellation failed. I’ll try again over the next few days.
    That's a little scary. I'm glad I'm on virtual cards for all accounts except one. Do let us know what you discover when you try again, please.

  12. #537
    Join Date
    Feb 2017
    Posts
    19
    Feedback Score
    0
    Okay Boz1, going back and checking I didn't quite do what you suggested, because I don't see any of those options (no gear, no account status.) What I did do was (1) log in: gives me screen with shipping status and little else. (2) Click on Freedom Pop in the upper left: takes me to the my device/usage screen. (3) Click on Billing details -> Update billing information: Gives me a Settings column on the left with Account Status at the bottom. (4) Click Account Status -> Cancel Account: pops up a warning dialog. (5) Click Cancel Account -> choose billing issues to answer "why are you leaving" (5) Enter password to cancel: get processing window, then "Failure: Cancellation unsuccessful, please try again later."

    I'll try again during business hours this week.

  13. #538
    Join Date
    May 2016
    Posts
    13
    Feedback Score
    0
    I tried doing the same thing as you, and it never worked. Like others have noted, I ended up having to contact FreedomPop support directly (I don't recall if it was through their support forum or from another avenue), and they were able to cancel my account.

    Quote Originally Posted by malet View Post
    Okay Boz1, going back and checking I didn't quite do what you suggested, because I don't see any of those options (no gear, no account status.) What I did do was (1) log in: gives me screen with shipping status and little else. (2) Click on Freedom Pop in the upper left: takes me to the my device/usage screen. (3) Click on Billing details -> Update billing information: Gives me a Settings column on the left with Account Status at the bottom. (4) Click Account Status -> Cancel Account: pops up a warning dialog. (5) Click Cancel Account -> choose billing issues to answer "why are you leaving" (5) Enter password to cancel: get processing window, then "Failure: Cancellation unsuccessful, please try again later."

    I'll try again during business hours this week.

  14. #539
    Join Date
    Feb 2017
    Posts
    19
    Feedback Score
    0
    So, I was finally able to get the accounts canceled by posting on their forum. I eventually got a PM requesting account info and a screenshot of the cancellation failure (which, given the number of threads asking about the same issue, I’m guessing is just one last hoop they make you jump through in the hope you won’t cancel.) A day or two later the account was closed.

  15. #540
    Join Date
    Feb 2017
    Posts
    19
    Feedback Score
    0
    So, I was finally able to get the accounts canceled by posting on their forum. I eventually got a PM requesting account info and a screenshot of the cancellation failure (which, given the number of threads asking about the same issue, I’m guessing is just one last hoop they make you jump through in the hope you won’t cancel.) A day or two later the account was closed.

Page 36 of 37 FirstFirst ... 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. SMS spam on Freedompop global sim
    By larrycl in forum General Prepaid discussion
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 06-16-2017, 10:17 AM
  2. Replies: 31
    Last Post: 08-10-2010, 03:46 PM
  3. HTC Ozone With No SIM - Will It Work on Verizon CDMA Network?
    By dpippel in forum Page Plus Handset and Technical Forum
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 03-13-2010, 01:18 PM
  4. will telenav work on i875 with nextel sim?
    By MaLore in forum Software
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 01-28-2006, 03:53 PM
  5. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 05-21-2002, 09:12 PM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks