Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 18

Thread: Balances are not transferred, help/suggestion required

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Posts
    16
    Feedback Score
    0

    Balances are not transferred, help/suggestion required

    Hi,
    A few days ago I ported my number to Cricket. Cricket said not to cancel Tracfone service until I got my phone. I did not do that. I received an email from cricket saying that my number is ready to be ported. I opened my tracfone dashboard to check whether everything is ok. It was not, I could not see my number anymore. Only the SIM number with only the expiration date of my service. I could not see my balances.
    But the strange thing was I was able to use my phone without any problem. So I talked to a CSR who said that when I activate a new number (which was my plan), that balance will transfer automatically. Now I did that, but the balance is not transferred.
    In the meantime, my cricket phone received next day. When I activated it, then only my old TracFone number stopped working. But the balances have not been transferred.
    I talked to a CSR now and she said that the balances are lost. Though I can still see the expiration date which is in 2018.
    What can I do now? I have chatted with 4-5 CSR and getting pissed now. It was a lot of balances. Like 2.3 GB 1500 min and 2600 txt.
    Please help/suggest.
    Thank you.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    BP subsidized Gulf Coast
    Posts
    6,778
    Carrier(s)
    Tracfone
    Feedback Score
    0
    When you ported your phone number to Cricket it deactivated your Tracfone and the remaining airtime goes into limbo. It would have been best if you had been in contact with Tracfone at that same time to re-activate it with a new phone number. At the least you should have chatted with Tracfone, expland what you wanted to do and gotten your remaining airtime in a chat transcript to use as proof of what was going to be lost in the port.. Tracfone does not know what airtime you had remaining, without contacting the service provider to get an accounting. You are going to have to fight with Tracfone to get your remaining airtime. You can also contact the Miami BBB to help you, but you must have proof of what is due you.

    Next time please check here BEFORE you make the mistakes, rather than afterward. .

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Posts
    16
    Feedback Score
    0
    I took a screenshot of my balances a day before the porting. Do you think that is going to help?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    2,063
    Feedback Score
    0
    Technically when you port out a number, your balances are null and void. A nice CSR might restore it for you. She might want you to buy some airtime.

    One time I reactivated online with a new number and didn't need a CSR at all, but that was a few years ago.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Posts
    16
    Feedback Score
    0
    Did you reactivate on the same SIM?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    BP subsidized Gulf Coast
    Posts
    6,778
    Carrier(s)
    Tracfone
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by mkdas View Post
    I took a screenshot of my balances a day before the porting. Do you think that is going to help?
    Not sure there is a way to get the screenshot to Tracfone, or they will just claim there is no way. Good proof for the BBB if you can get it to them in Miami. Keep your airtime is easy profit for Tracfone when times are difficult for them. Tracfone has a lot of freebie glitches they have to make up, if at all possible.

    Also open a case with the FCC, whose contact Info in in a few threads here (as is the BBB). Tracfone is quick to contact you after contacting the BBB or FCC, but they may still try to negotiate the airtime they have to give you.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Posts
    16
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Tracfancier View Post
    Not sure there is a way to get the screenshot to Tracfone, or they will just claim there is no way. Good proof for the BBB if you can get it to them in Miami. Keep your airtime is profit for Tracfone.

    Also open a case with the FCC, whose contact Info in in a few threads here (as is the BBB). Tracfone is quick to contact you after contacting the BBB or FCC, but they may still try to negotiate the airtime they have to give you.

    Thanks for the help. Appreciate it

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Virginia
    Posts
    3,294
    Feedback Score
    0
    There must be a record of the balances somewhere. Perhaps one of the Tracfone BBB specialists can find it.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    BP subsidized Gulf Coast
    Posts
    6,778
    Carrier(s)
    Tracfone
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Lisme View Post
    There must be a record of the balances somewhere. Perhaps one of the Tracfone BBB specialists can find it.
    There has to be a record or Tracfone could not give an instant Remaining balance to you. .But what happens to the last balance when the account closes, both with Tracfone and the service provider. Is the last balance saved and for how long?

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Posts
    16
    Feedback Score
    0
    Before contacting BBB/FCC I took another chance. This time they are saying that they are going to send me a new sim that will have the balance. Let's see what happens.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    658
    Carrier(s)
    Tracfone
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by mkdas View Post
    Before contacting BBB/FCC I took another chance. This time they are saying that they are going to send me a new sim that will have the balance. Let's see what happens.
    It would be totally amazing if the balances are on the sim card. So then your mins/days/etc. would be back on a
    TF sim? How does that help with anything on Cricket? (Don't know anything about Cricket but assume they are
    not tied to Tracfone)

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Posts
    16
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by weiden1 View Post
    It would be totally amazing if the balances are on the sim card. So then your mins/days/etc. would be back on a
    TF sim? How does that help with anything on Cricket? (Don't know anything about Cricket but assume they are
    not tied to Tracfone)
    There is no problem with cricket. The problem is with the TracFone account.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    3,295
    Carrier(s)
    FreedomPop, ekit, Truphone, Piranha, Three UK, Lycamobile, WorldSim
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by mkdas View Post
    There is no problem with cricket. The problem is with the TracFone account.
    Why were you expecting to keep the Tracfone balance?
    What were you planning to do with it?

  14. #14
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    BP subsidized Gulf Coast
    Posts
    6,778
    Carrier(s)
    Tracfone
    Feedback Score
    0
    He ported his Tracfone phone number to Cricket.
    He then planned to have Tracfone supply a new phone number to his deactivated phone with remaining airtime.
    His mistake was not doing it all while on chat with Tracfone, thus having a chat transcript with a reference number.
    The assigned chat reference number being the most important, so that Tracfone could later find the chat transcript.
    You must always get your remaining airtime confirmed upfront within the Chat transcript.
    Also a good idea to cut and paste a copy of the transcript yourself.

  15. #15
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    BP subsidized Gulf Coast
    Posts
    6,778
    Carrier(s)
    Tracfone
    Feedback Score
    0
    You can re-use a CDMA/Verizon SIM, you cannot re-use a GSM/AT&T SIM.
    For a SIM to have airtime on it, it must also have a phone number assigned,.
    As soon as you know the new phone number, do an airtime check here:
    https://www.fastactportal.com/static/balance

    If the CSR knew you have an online tracfone account, there is a slight chance the CSR may have set up the SIM/phone in your account.
    Then you can click to check the remaining airtime.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 8
    Last Post: 01-11-2008, 04:53 PM
  2. Help new apps are not showing ony my iphone
    By tornadox in forum iOS Jailbreaking and Unlocking
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 10-10-2007, 07:32 PM
  3. Replies: 4
    Last Post: 12-05-2003, 06:48 PM
  4. Replies: 16
    Last Post: 07-17-2003, 12:59 PM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks