Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: I use to have Wind 2 years ago. How are there Speeds in London now?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    9
    Feedback Score
    0

    I use to have Wind 2 years ago. How are there Speeds in London now?

    I use to have (formerly) WIND 2 years ago and their data plan was unsable in London, Ontario. It was so frustrating i needed to get a refund. And while getting a refund the rep in store used their own phone and Sim to attempt to prove me wrong but only confirmed what i said that it was unusable. He had no answer as to why. I only use data and so only having access to 2KB/s was not doable.

    I get a sense Wind did not have 4G at the time but seems under the new name of Freedom it has 4G in London.


    So i am wondering, does anyone have Freedom in London? Any speed test results?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    7,393
    Device(s)
    Nexus 6
    Carrier(s)
    The Big-T
    Feedback Score
    0
    According to reddit posts, its between 30 and 102 Mbps. YMMV. There are also no more data only plans and you will need an LTE plan to get access to the LTE network. You will also need a band 66 LTE device.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Alberta
    Posts
    3,400
    Carrier(s)
    Value
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by xtachx View Post
    There are also no more data only plans
    The 10GB for $40 internet plan is still listed on the website.
    https://www.freedommobile.ca/plans-a...ternet-plan-40

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    GTA
    Posts
    457
    Device(s)
    LG G5, LG G4, Note 4, BB Classic
    Carrier(s)
    Koodo, TELUS
    Feedback Score
    1 (100%)
    LTE data speeds are legit. Don't know if calling has improved, but they have gotten better than 2 years ago. Downside is you need a handset that supports their band 66 LTE.

    Sent from my LG-H831 using Tapatalk

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    7,393
    Device(s)
    Nexus 6
    Carrier(s)
    The Big-T
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by pjw918 View Post
    The 10GB for $40 internet plan is still listed on the website.
    https://www.freedommobile.ca/plans-a...ternet-plan-40
    No. The main plan page is https://www.freedommobile.ca/plans-and-devices/plans

    That plan is not available and also not LTE.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Alberta
    Posts
    3,400
    Carrier(s)
    Value
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by pjw918 View Post
    The 10GB for $40 internet plan is still listed on the website.
    https://www.freedommobile.ca/plans-a...ternet-plan-40
    Quote Originally Posted by xtachx View Post
    No. The main plan page is https://www.freedommobile.ca/plans-and-devices/plans
    That plan is not available and also not LTE.
    I'm familiar with the Freedom plans page ;p

    If you look at the upper right corner of the main plans page..




    Following the Mobile Internet Plan link takes you to..




    I've just confirmed with Windsor CS that the $40 10GB mobile internet plan is indeed still available.
    Yes, it would be 3G. A B66 LTE device is not needed to use this data-only plan.
    They no longer sell the dedicated mobile internet devices.
    Last edited by pjw918; 08-31-2017 at 10:24 PM. Reason: 'data-only'

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    SW Ontario
    Posts
    1,828
    Device(s)
    RIM9790
    Carrier(s)
    Wind
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by nfq View Post
    LTE data speeds are legit. Don't know if calling has improved, but they have gotten better than 2 years ago. Downside is you need a handset that supports their band 66 LTE.

    Sent from my LG-H831 using Tapatalk
    My kids have B66 devices (a Sony and an LG).

    Saturday at noonish at Dundas and Richmond they were getting 80-90 down and 30 up with 25ish pings.

    At 7pm at Oxford and Hydepark, they were getting mid 90's.

    My HSPA device was getting between 8 and 10 in those same times and places.

    The LTE footprint is smaller than HSPA at this time, but the map online is pretty much true to life.

    Sent from my XT1563 using HoFo mobile app
    --------------------------------
    Un petit d'un petit
    S'étonne aux Halles
    Un petit d'un petit
    Ah! degrés te fallent

    Old French Proverb from the book of; Mots D'Heures Gousses Rames

    (I am the Stig!)

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Posts
    76
    Device(s)
    Iphone 6 Plus
    Feedback Score
    0
    How is the coverage in St. Thomas? I don't know if they added LTE yet. But none the less I am curious.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    SW Ontario
    Posts
    1,828
    Device(s)
    RIM9790
    Carrier(s)
    Wind
    Feedback Score
    0
    No LTE in St.T, yet.

    My only experience is the drive down Sunset to Pt.Stanley, and that is pretty good.

    Sent from my XT1563 using HoFo mobile app

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 01-09-2015, 03:34 PM
  2. How are evdo speeds in the Orlando area (Epcot/WDW)
    By johnner1999 in forum 4G LTE Discussion
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 01-29-2012, 07:34 PM
  3. FS or FT: Reebok Pump Omni (That's Right, Pumps Like We All Used to Have)
    By Jaredg in forum Other Buy/Sell/Trade Archive
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 02-08-2003, 05:36 PM
  4. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 12-03-2002, 08:09 PM
  5. Can't find midi's that i used to have...
    By jfandem in forum Samsung
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 11-28-2002, 04:31 PM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks