Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Faxing

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Posts
    52
    Feedback Score
    0

    Faxing

    Does anyone know of a work around: I plugged my Brother fax machine directly into the Verizon FiOS Optical Network Interface(ONT) in one of the phone jacks in the back of the terminal. I start the fax transmission. I get a busy signal. The fax is not sent. What am I doing wrong? Verizon has to know about this problem. Would I have to have a second line installed? Do I need a stronger phone cable? Thanks in advance.

    Sent from my XT1609 using Tapatalk

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Posts
    52
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by jameny5 View Post
    Does anyone know of a work around: I plugged my Brother fax machine directly into the Verizon FiOS Optical Network Interface(ONT) in one of the phone jacks in the back of the terminal. I start the fax transmission. I get a busy signal. The fax is not sent. What am I doing wrong? Verizon has to know about this problem. Would I have to have a second line installed? Do I need a stronger phone cable? Thanks in advance.

    Sent from my XT1609 using Tapatalk
    I found a resolution to the problem. Set it up correctly and it will work!

    Sent from my XT1609 using Tapatalk

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Northern Virginia
    Posts
    18,875
    Device(s)
    Apple iPhone7 Plus Apple iPhone 7 Plus
    Carrier(s)
    AT&T Mobility
    Feedback Score
    0
    Since these forums are mutual self-help, you should give some details about the solution you discovered.
    Earl F. Parrish

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Posts
    52
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by efparri View Post
    Since these forums are mutual self-help, you should give some details about the solution you discovered.
    I just had the telephone wire and cordless phone plugged in a multi line phone adapter a long with a line plugged from it to the Genie. I disconnected one of them and the fax machine had a dial tone. I also took the line from the fax machine and plugged it directly in the back of the Verizon ONT. The little square black ONT for small apartments. Problem solved. Now faxing! I guess I'm a teacher now. Yowza...

    Sent from my XT1609 using Tapatalk

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Posts
    52
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by jameny5 View Post
    I just had the telephone wire and cordless phone plugged in a multi line phone adapter a long with a line plugged from it to the Genie. I disconnected one of them and the fax machine had a dial tone. I also took the line from the fax machine and plugged it directly in the back of the Verizon ONT. The little square black ONT for small apartments. Problem solved. Now faxing! I guess I'm a teacher now. Yowza...

    Sent from my XT1609 using Tapatalk
    I believe the DIRECTV line being plugged in at the same time in the back of the ON THE causes the Fax machine to lose dial tone. So I disconnect that line from the back of the ONT. Then the Fax machine gets a dial tone. (A better clarification)

    Sent from my XT1609 using Tapatalk

Similar Threads

  1. Gprs Faxes
    By colodny in forum Rogers Wireless
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 01-18-2002, 08:03 AM
  2. t68 fax help req'd
    By Robocop in forum SonyEricsson
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 12-22-2001, 09:29 PM
  3. Sanyo 5000 - faxing
    By darrylpierce in forum Sanyo
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 10-22-2001, 06:16 AM
  4. Automated fax machine has hold of my cell number!
    By Pat DiPersia in forum General Mobile Questions and Discussion
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 07-30-2001, 05:03 PM
  5. Nokia/Voicestream Fax
    By fmkj54 in forum T-Mobile
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 07-20-2001, 06:54 PM

Bookmarks