Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Rogers Data Speeds Not on Network

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    2,108
    Device(s)
    One Plus One (Virgin), iPhone 5c (Mobi)
    Carrier(s)
    Virgin > Fongo, Chatrlicity
    Feedback Score
    0

    Rogers Data Speeds Not on Network

    I was looking at the Rogers site and it appears that data speeds for their wireless services have all been removed from the site. Does this mean they are admitting their network is not as good as the competitor's? Or am I just looking at the wrong places?
    Bell SK+fongo:
    $85 Unlimited NA, NA text, US Roaming, 15GB

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    1,030
    Device(s)
    iPhone XS
    Carrier(s)
    Telus
    Feedback Score
    0
    Yep. That's exactly what they are doing. They just didn't want to put a large banner that says "We are inferior", so this is a subtle way of doing it.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Posts
    76
    Device(s)
    Iphone 6 Plus
    Feedback Score
    0
    Rogers is still a very good network where I am located(Rural Ontario) But I would love travel across Canada to compare and see what it is like relative to bellus. I have an old Fido plan that does not have extended network access, and I would still rate rogers network as good.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    7,393
    Device(s)
    Nexus 6
    Carrier(s)
    The Big-T
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Michael_2258 View Post
    Rogers is still a very good network where I am located(Rural Ontario) But I would love travel across Canada to compare and see what it is like relative to bellus. I have an old Fido plan that does not have extended network access, and I would still rate rogers network as good.
    In Edmonton its just as bad as bellus. Speeds of 10-30 Mbps. Since this is telus territory, the telus towers are usually overloaded and comes to a crawl in the evenings. The Rogers towers at least dont do that but on average speeds are a tad bit slower than bellus.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    2,108
    Device(s)
    One Plus One (Virgin), iPhone 5c (Mobi)
    Carrier(s)
    Virgin > Fongo, Chatrlicity
    Feedback Score
    0
    OMG, this is what I get for writing a post late. The data speeds are not shown on their website any more. In the past it would say speeds up to 21mbps or whatever. Has anyone found any reference to expected speed on their site now?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Posts
    61
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by xtachx View Post
    In Edmonton its just as bad as bellus. Speeds of 10-30 Mbps. Since this is telus territory, the telus towers are usually overloaded and comes to a crawl in the evenings. The Rogers towers at least dont do that but on average speeds are a tad bit slower than bellus.
    I would disagree with this. I just switched from Rogers to Bell (and kept the same iphone 7 Plus). I can confidently say that both DL and UL speeds are higher on Bell. I did some Speedtest that were consistently in the 50-70 range DL. Coverage within the city is also better on Bell. Rogers roaming is also a joke. A Koodo iPhone 6 had coverage in and around the Banff area, whereas the Rogers phone would not pick up any signal.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2016
    Posts
    219
    Device(s)
    iPhone 6s Plus, iPhone 6s
    Carrier(s)
    Rogers, Telus, Bell
    Feedback Score
    0
    If Rogers actually tried even a little bit more, they could have quite a fast network. They have tons of spectrum, the problem is that they have 2x CA at best, and it's barely deployed anywhere, and they still use microwave backhaul for a lot of urban towers. I wonder if they'll put in a bit more effort (capital) for network improvements with Natale.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Posts
    100
    Device(s)
    iPhone 11 Pro Max
    Carrier(s)
    Telus
    Feedback Score
    0
    Last story I heard was from back in 2015 where they said they support up to 225 Mbps. (The story says 300, but Rogers clarified at the bottom of the article.)
    http://mobilesyrup.com/2015/01/26/ro...-lte-advanced/

Similar Threads

  1. CDMA: How much does data cost, not on a plan?
    By pgfreak in forum TELUS/Koodo/Public Mobile
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 01-29-2010, 09:51 AM
  2. Having problems with 1X data speeds? Read on...
    By Popasmurf in forum USCellular
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 12-21-2009, 03:01 PM
  3. Rogers Data Speeds
    By zcarguy in forum Rogers/Fido/Chat-r
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 08-01-2008, 10:04 AM
  4. horrible data speeds lately on att with n95-3
    By RogerPodacter in forum Symbian/S60
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 01-27-2008, 03:30 AM
  5. data cable not on verizons web site anymore
    By rjpierson in forum Feature Phones
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 11-25-2005, 01:43 AM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks