Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Rogers VoLTE while roaming as Videotron customer

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Posts
    207
    Device(s)
    Galaxy S7Edge
    Carrier(s)
    Videotron
    Feedback Score
    0

    Rogers VoLTE while roaming as Videotron customer

    Here's an interesting question from a Videotron customer: if I take the Rogers Nougat update for my S7 Edge, will I be able to use VoLTE when roaming on their network? I can force LTE bands in service mode to ensure I'll be on Rogers (MNC 700-720)
    I'm on the verge about upgrading (too happy with battery life to screw it up) but I'd do it for better voice quality. I keep finding the phone using narrow band AMR now.
    Out of all the things I have lost, I miss my mind the most. [Mark Twain]

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    1,111
    Carrier(s)
    Rogers
    Feedback Score
    0
    I still have no idea which devices support VoLTE and weather the calls work between different carriers.

    or weather unison customers have access to it.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Posts
    207
    Device(s)
    Galaxy S7Edge
    Carrier(s)
    Videotron
    Feedback Score
    0
    I realize this is a corner case, but no one can chime in with their experience?

    To @cloneman...you lost me. No clue what you're trying to say. At any rate, iPhones 6&7,Galaxy S6 and above, etc - all support VoLTE. As for carriers, they are signing agreements to pass VoLTE without transcoding. Getting there...but I wasn't asking about THAT kind of roaming.
    Videotron has a different agreement with Rogers

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    1,111
    Carrier(s)
    Rogers
    Feedback Score
    0
    I spoke to rogers this week. Even for their own customers, Volte is disabled unless you have a Rogers phone. It checks the IMEI and does not provision VoLTE of it doesn't see a known Rogers device. This is in a case of regular Rogers customers - and is speculative based on information the rep told me that I don't see anywhere on their website.

    On the Rogers VoLTE faq, it also says that VoLTE in not available when Rogers customers roam on 3rd party networks.

    While this doesn't answer your question, it establishes a pattern of "we will enable it where we feel like it", and thus its unlikely to me that they'd bother turning it on for Videotron customers.

    You can check in settings phone info if the flag is on...

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Posts
    207
    Device(s)
    Galaxy S7Edge
    Carrier(s)
    Videotron
    Feedback Score
    0
    Thank you
    That's what I was looking for. Any extras would be a bonus.

Similar Threads

  1. Activate Rogers prepaid while roaming in US?
    By beer30 in forum Rogers/Fido/Chat-r
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 11-13-2013, 05:52 PM
  2. Replies: 5
    Last Post: 11-15-2008, 12:16 AM
  3. Forward Rogers # to Cingular pay-as-you-go while roaming
    By sharktank9000 in forum Rogers/Fido/Chat-r
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: 04-17-2006, 08:52 PM
  4. Replies: 10
    Last Post: 12-12-2003, 07:43 PM
  5. Replies: 25
    Last Post: 07-15-2002, 01:51 PM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks