Results 1 to 12 of 12

Thread: Can a Prepaid SIM starter kit be used with a postpaid plan?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    434
    Device(s)
    Nexus 6P, Nexus 5X, Nexus 5
    Carrier(s)
    Cricket Wireless
    Feedback Score
    0

    Can a Prepaid SIM starter kit be used with a postpaid plan?

    I am looking to activate a T-Mobile Simple Choice 2GB line that includes the free throttled International roaming.
    If I go directly thru T-Mobile it seems the SIM starter kit is $20. My question is, is it possible to buy a Prepaid SIM Starter Kit via Best Buy and then call T-Mobile and have them activate the SC 2GB plan (do the credit check, etc.) on post paid. The bottom line is is there a difference prior to activation between the Prepaid Starter Kit's and the Postpaid one I would be receiving thru the website? Specifically the SIM Kit I'm looking at is this one.
    http://www.bestbuy.com/site/t-mobile...?skuId=8699899

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    5,445
    Feedback Score
    0
    I used a T-Mobile prepaid kit when my Mom needed a micro SIM when she changed phones. She is on my brothers family plan which is post paid.

    Sent from my Wonderful LG Phoenix 2

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    405
    Feedback Score
    0
    I have handed T-Mobile sales person at the store a prepaid starter kit and he had no issues activating it to add a line in my plan.

    Sent from my SM-G935T using Tapatalk

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    2,437
    Feedback Score
    0
    You should have no problem. I used 2 Best Buy sim kits to activate the two free line promo last month at a T-Mobile store. One on a voice line and one data line for an iPad.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2016
    Posts
    39
    Feedback Score
    0
    Yes.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    434
    Device(s)
    Nexus 6P, Nexus 5X, Nexus 5
    Carrier(s)
    Cricket Wireless
    Feedback Score
    0
    Looks like I shouldn't have a problem. Thanks everyone!

  7. #7
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    1,326
    Carrier(s)
    Only SPCS
    Feedback Score
    0
    Yeppp. No issues whatsoever. It's just a SIM card.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Brooklyn, NY
    Posts
    31,608
    Device(s)
    LG V20 and LG G Pad X 8.0
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile One Plan 6+1 lines
    Feedback Score
    0
    I bought several SIM kit from Best Buy, and the SIM can be setup with your calling/data plan.



    Optimum/Cablevision

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Posts
    230
    Feedback Score
    0
    But will it work internationally? Or are the prepaid SIM card numbers blocked from international data use and 20 cent calling as they are for prepaid use?

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    14,807
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by skierrob View Post
    But will it work internationally? Or are the prepaid SIM card numbers blocked from international data use and 20 cent calling as they are for prepaid use?
    No, the account the SIM is tied to determines things like international roaming. Has nothing to do with the SIM.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Posts
    23
    Feedback Score
    0
    I called T-Mobile and asked them this and they said they either have to send you a SIM, or you go into a store. They can't activate an account without seeing you in person or mailing something to you.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    14,807
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by FastGPRS View Post
    I called T-Mobile and asked them this and they said they either have to send you a SIM, or you go into a store. They can't activate an account without seeing you in person or mailing something to you.
    I think that goes along with posts #3 and #4 in this thread. In both of those examples, the person took the prepaid SIM they had in their possession into the store to activate a line.

    But for telesales it appears they are setup to only activate the line by sending out a new SIM to you. (and charging you the fee.)

    Now once you have a line, you can add a prepaid SIM to an existing postpaid account with no problem.

Similar Threads

  1. Can SIM activation kit be used on existing prepaid monthly plan?
    By taoman in forum Verizon Prepaid/Visible
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 11-02-2016, 12:57 PM
  2. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 11-03-2013, 09:24 AM
  3. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 05-27-2011, 10:46 AM
  4. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 06-22-2008, 10:07 PM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks