Page 1 of 12 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 LastLast

Thread: Tethering and hot spots with non cricket phones.

Feedback Score

Tethering and hot spots with non cricket phones.

Hey peeps. I have the 20gig plan and thinking about adding tethering. I have seen the list of compatible phones. I recently bought an s7 from cricket with the intention of adding tethering.
    I was told by sales rep that the phone has to be a cricket issued phone to use tethering. They implied that I couldn't buy an unlocked at&t s7 and tether with it.
    Anyone know if this is correct? I could buy a new s7 on n ebay for 575. That would save me 150 over buying it from cricket and tax.
    I do have the cricket issued s7 now. Stoked on it because it doesn't have a **** load of at&t bloat ware on it.
    Not sure if the at&t version has a bunch of bloat, I only imagine it does.
    The cricket s7 only had 1 page of apps new.

Anyone know about the tethering

Feedback Score
    I have no experience with the S7, but I've been with Cricket (Aio) since the beginning. Tethering is disabled on most Cricket and AT&T branded phones. Tethering is built into the Android OS, and while carrier branded phones disable this capability, it works on most factory unlocked phones on Cricket. This has always been the case. While it may be technically possible for them to enforce tethering rules, they have yet to do so. I've never been unable to tether using my Samsung devices on AT&T's or T-Mobile's networks, including MVNOs. I've used, Cricket, GoPhone, H2O, Harbor to name a few.

Feedback Score
    Wait a minute. Are you saying that I will probably be able to tether if I buy an unlocked at&t samsung phone?
    So me buying the cricket phone and paying the extra ten bucks is just stupid?
    Would this work on the 70$ unlimited plan?

Carrier(s)
    FirstNet, Verizon via RedPocket, Alachua County CCC via APCO25
    Feedback Score