Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Thread: Vodafone Italy 4G

Feedback Score
    vBActivity - Stats
    vBActivity - Bars

Vodafone Italy 4G

Hi guys! I'm leoloca and I just bumped into this forum while I was looking for any solution to the crazy iPhone 6S field test not showing bandwidth and others information, not solution yet.
    I'm Italian, based in Milan, 23 yo and I'm an university student with a very strong passion for mobile phone networks. In Italy we have the same forum as yours, with speed tests and so on. I was looking at yours carriers speeds, here on the forum, and they are quite similar to ours.
    I'm on Vodafone network, both for my iPhone 6S and iPad Air. I think it's the best carrier we have in Italy. 4G (by 4G in Europe we mean LTE) covers 95% of population, almost 6300 municipalities out of 8000. 4G+ (LTE Advanced) covers 800 municipalities. 3G coverage reaches 98% of population. 2G coverage reaches 99% of population. It offers VoLTE for every costumers with capable handset.
    TIM is considered the second national carrier.
    We have 4 real carriers in Italy: Vodafone Italy, TIM (Telecom Italia Mobile), Wind Telecomunicazioni (the same as in Canada. It's Italian company but now Russians bought part of it) and H3G (also known as 3 or Hutchison Whampoa).
    We also have a lot of virtual mobile operators that run on the rail operator networks.
    Vodafone, TIM and Wind have 2G, 3G and 4G. 3 has 3G and 4G, when no service it roams on TIM 2G network.
    Bands are different from the ones use in the USA.
    These are the frequencies used in all European Union countries:
    2G: GPRS/EDGE, 900Mhz and 1800Mhz.
    3G: HSPA+ maximum download speed 42.2Mbps, 2100Mhz and 900Mhz to get a strong coverage inside.
    4G: 800Mhz Band 20, 1800Mhz Band 3, 2600Mhz Band 7.

800Mhz has 10Mhz bandwidth down and up.
    1800Mhz has 15Mhz bandwidth down and up.
    2600mhz has 15Mhz/10Mhz/20Mhz bandwidth down and up.

Vodafone and TIM have the whole spectrum.