Page 1 of 8 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 LastLast

Thread: Am I beyond hope?

Device(s)
    Lg800g
    Carrier(s)
    Tracfone
    Feedback Score

Am I beyond hope?

I am a seasoned citizen who has enjoyed this forum for years and over a year ago, I purchased an LG41c and a LG34c that I ended up with basically for free. I have been off the forum for awhile....I am retired so I dont have lots of free time.....(dont laugh)
    I like Verizon service and I like my 41c. But I keep reading about people using BYOP and activating 4g/LTE phones on tracfone. I have two questions.
    1. Will or why doesnt TF just bring out a 4G/LTE phone I can buy and switch my LG34c over to?????
    2. If they do not wish to do this, I would like to try the BYOP business by switching over my LG34c to a new BYOP, but every time I read the threads on how to do this, my brain jumps out of gear and my eyes glaze over.....

I am not really technically challanged. I made my living fixing police communications systems...two way car radios, portable radios, radars, etc so I think I can swap in a sim card.

Maybe what I need is a simple set of instructions to follow...something like...
    1. Buy one of these phones on Ebay/Amazon (insert links here)
    2. Go to Wallmart/Ebay/Tf/ whatever and buy this "kit" or secret squirrel number or whatever
    3. Get on TF website after putting in sim and do this....

I am sure my advanced years dont make the alphabet soup of abreviations and jargon any easier...perhaps there is already a thread on BYOP for us older folk?

Feedback Score
    The Tracfone Sunset is 4G LTE and sold by HSN or QVC including other places.

Do you currently use mobile data on your phone much?

Reasons to get a BYOP is if you want a larger phone, more processing power (quad core, octa core), more RAM, newer Android version, etc.

There are BYOP threads and the BYOP canonical handbook to help you get started. Feel free to ask more questions.
    Cheers!

Feedback Score