Thread: AT&T 4G HSPA+/LTE Speedtests!

  1. #15391
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Philly
    Posts
    5,409
    Device(s)
    iPhone 6S
    Carrier(s)
    AT&T
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by mush10 View Post
    This is rural Bucks County. Not a good showing by AT&T. Verizon was 68.9/24.9 here. Verizon is crap the closer you get to the city, but still excels in the rural areas.
    Verizon has ONLYshown interest in rural areas in this market. Hardly anyone lives in these areas or even travels through them that I've seen in MD and DE, so it's baffling that's where their money goes. The only areas where at&t drops to 4G and Verizon has LTE is extremely rural areas, where for some reason, someone at Verizon throws up a new cell site in literally the middle of nowhere. I am unfamiliar with areas like that in Bucks.

    Otherwise they've put no effort in, as you said. I'd imagine FirstNet would force at&t to do better in these areas. While 1.75mbps of 4G is fine in fringe locations, it isn't OK when Verizon clearly has a site nearby--time for at&t to densify when appropriate because that area is no longer a fringe area IMO. Generally, if I am in a rural area and see a cell site, Verizon and AT&T are on it (or more commonly there are 2 towers next to each other ).
    Verizon Wireless: 2001-2004 & 2011-2013
    Cingular/AT&T: 2004-2006 & 2008-2009 & 2013-Present
    Sprint: 2006-2007 & 2009-2011

  2. #15392
    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Location
    De Soto
    Posts
    611
    Device(s)
    LG Phoenix 3 (with FM Radio), LG Phoenix 2, iPhone 4S
    Carrier(s)
    AT&T
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Shizam76 View Post
    Western Michigan really needs help. Bad. I've never really had great service all around all over here. I'm constantly stuck on 5 Mhz of Band 12. Stuff is timing out.

    It's so bad and dirty, the phone wants wifi calling even on what should be usable signal.....

    Sent from my SM-G892A using Tapatalk
    My phone connects to WiFi Calling even with 5 bars if the network is congested but if it isn't congested it will only connect to WiFi Calling with 1 bar.

    Sent from my LG-M150 using HoFo mobile app

  3. #15393
    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Location
    De Soto
    Posts
    611
    Device(s)
    LG Phoenix 3 (with FM Radio), LG Phoenix 2, iPhone 4S
    Carrier(s)
    AT&T
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by ZeroSignal View Post
    Pretty sure they mean their whole spectrum portfolio. Why climb every tower only to add Band 14? That would be a waste, so they'll be deploying and upgrading whatever they can while they are up there including Bands undeployed such as Band 66 and Band 30 in some areas, Band 2 etc. Not just spectrum adds but 4x4 MIMO and 256QAM. Which will definitely increase current speeds by at least 2x. Cant wait haha.

    Sent from my SM-G955U using Tapatalk
    They should be adding Band 14 on every tower in the Farmington-Ste. Genevieve Market. There is only one tower in the 26385 TAC in St. Francois County that still has to get Band 5 which is deployed on all of the towers except this one on HWY 32 in Park Hills near Bus. 67!

    Sent from my LG-M150 using HoFo mobile app

  4. #15394
    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Location
    De Soto
    Posts
    611
    Device(s)
    LG Phoenix 3 (with FM Radio), LG Phoenix 2, iPhone 4S
    Carrier(s)
    AT&T
    Feedback Score
    0
    My phone just registered to WiFi Calling now at home when it's lunch time at the Junior High School and High School which are closer to the tower than me but get 1 bar of UMTS (my phone when I was going to the HS only registered to UMTS with very slow speeds and not HSPA+) and LTE. Even with 3 bars at my house it registers to WiFi Calling! My home tower with ALU gets very congested quickly and most of the day (3/4 of the day) is congested!

    Sent from my LG-M150 using Tapatalk

  5. #15395
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Posts
    1,335
    Feedback Score
    0
    Just a question for the thread .. att is quick at work with panel swaps and a lot of sites are already at the max of spectrum that att owns in El paso.. some towers are now even showing a 5th RRU.. any idea what that could be ?
    This is a example
    First pic : the 2nd from the left is 4/12.. the 3rd is a mystery but has an RRU.. and the 4th is 2/30
    Bottom pic: 2nd panel is doing 2/30 .. 3rd is 4/12.. and then the 4th panel ? No idea
    Could this mean 5xca by Year's End

    Sent from my SM-G965U using Tapatalk

    Last edited by tyroned3222; 05-16-2018 at 11:14 PM.

  6. #15396
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    3,294
    Device(s)
    iPhone Xs 256 GB Gold,Galaxy S8+
    Carrier(s)
    AT&T Mobility, T-Mobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by tyroned3222 View Post
    Just a question for the thread .. att is quick at work with panel swaps and a lot of sites are already at the max of spectrum that att owns in El paso.. some towers are now even showing a 5th RRU.. any idea what that could be ?
    This is a example
    First pic : the 2nd from the left is 4/12.. the 3rd is a mystery but has an RRU.. and the 4th is 2/30
    Bottom pic: 2nd panel is doing 2/30 .. 3rd is 4/12.. and then the 4th panel ? No idea
    Could this mean 5xca by Year's End

    Sent from my SM-G965U using Tapatalk

    5/14/66?


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

    B2+B66+B30+B5 (20 MHz + 10 MHz + 10 MHz + 5 MHz)
    Minneapolis, MN

  7. #15397
    Join Date
    Sep 2016
    Posts
    1,306
    Device(s)
    Samsung Galaxy S9
    Carrier(s)
    Verizon
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by tyroned3222 View Post
    Just a question for the thread .. att is quick at work with panel swaps and a lot of sites are already at the max of spectrum that att owns in El paso.. some towers are now even showing a 5th RRU.. any idea what that could be ?
    This is a example
    First pic : the 2nd from the left is 4/12.. the 3rd is a mystery but has an RRU.. and the 4th is 2/30
    Bottom pic: 2nd panel is doing 2/30 .. 3rd is 4/12.. and then the 4th panel ? No idea
    Could this mean 5xca by Year's End

    Sent from my SM-G965U using Tapatalk

    It's actually probably (in some order):

    UMTS
    12/4 (or 2)
    2 (or 4/66)
    29/30

  8. #15398
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Posts
    1,335
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by JimMcGraff View Post
    It's actually probably (in some order):

    UMTS
    12/4 (or 2)
    2 (or 4/66)
    29/30
    We have no band 29,5 or 66 in El paso
    These tower are already running 2/4/12/30

    Sent from my SM-G965U using Tapatalk

  9. #15399
    Join Date
    Jul 2017
    Location
    U.S.A
    Posts
    1,045
    Device(s)
    AT&T S8+
    Carrier(s)
    AT&T
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by tyroned3222 View Post
    We have no band 29,5 or 66 in El paso
    These tower are already running 2/4/12/30

    Sent from my SM-G965U using Tapatalk
    Dang no Band 66? What's the capacity band there? 2?

    Sent from my SM-G955U using Tapatalk

  10. #15400
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Posts
    1,335
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by ZeroSignal View Post
    Dang no Band 66? What's the capacity band there? 2?

    Sent from my SM-G955U using Tapatalk
    20mhz .. I wanna say the last spectrum assigned to us would be band 14 ... The panels swapped that took place was att removing the umts panel.
    So running 4xca we are running 50mhz downlink
    Band 2: 20mhz
    Band 4: 10mhz
    Band 12: 10mhz
    Band 30: 10mhz

    Sent from my SM-G965U using Tapatalk

  11. #15401
    Join Date
    Jul 2017
    Location
    U.S.A
    Posts
    1,045
    Device(s)
    AT&T S8+
    Carrier(s)
    AT&T
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by tyroned3222 View Post
    20mhz .. I wanna say the last spectrum assigned to us would be band 14 ... The panels swapped that took place was att removing the umts panel.
    So running 4xca we are running 50mhz downlink
    Band 2: 20mhz
    Band 4: 10mhz
    Band 12: 10mhz
    Band 30: 10mhz

    Sent from my SM-G965U using Tapatalk
    Seems like T doesn't have much spectrum there, is the network holding up otherwise? I know that T's strategy is to add capacity as needed to existing towers contrary to Verizon who just build towers to combat their capacity problems. Maybe T is dense enough there that they're fine with that spectrum?

    Sent from my SM-G955U using Tapatalk

  12. #15402
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Posts
    1,335
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by ZeroSignal View Post
    Seems like T doesn't have much spectrum there, is the network holding up otherwise? I know that T's strategy is to add capacity as needed to existing towers contrary to Verizon who just build towers to combat their capacity problems. Maybe T is dense enough there that they're fine with that spectrum?

    Sent from my SM-G955U using Tapatalk
    Ya they are running the most spectrum out of anyone on the sites.. att density is decent at best, but adding 50mhz of spectrum has helped att maintain good speeds at the edge of the cell site ..
    Att tower count 89
    Verizon tower count : 176

    Sent from my SM-G965U using Tapatalk

  13. #15403
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    tacoma
    Posts
    752
    Device(s)
    Galaxy s7 edge, nexus 6p as a backup
    Carrier(s)
    AT&T
    Feedback Score
    0
    Speeds at home, outside, inside I had 110 down

    Sent from my SM-G955U using Tapatalk

  14. #15404
    Join Date
    Jul 2017
    Location
    U.S.A
    Posts
    1,045
    Device(s)
    AT&T S8+
    Carrier(s)
    AT&T
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by tyroned3222 View Post
    Ya they are running the most spectrum out of anyone on the sites.. att density is decent at best, but adding 50mhz of spectrum has helped att maintain good speeds at the edge of the cell site ..
    Att tower count 89
    Verizon tower count : 176

    Sent from my SM-G965U using Tapatalk
    Lol Verizon has double the towers over T there!

    Sent from my SM-G955U using Tapatalk

  15. #15405
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Posts
    1,335
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by ZeroSignal View Post
    Lol Verizon has double the towers over T there!

    Sent from my SM-G955U using Tapatalk
    Oh ya and att is getting behind more every quarter

    Sent from my SM-G965U using Tapatalk

Page 1027 of 1145 FirstFirst ... 27 527 927 977 1013 1014 1015 1016 1017 1018 1019 1020 1021 1022 1023 1024 1025 1026 1027 1028 1029 1030 1031 1032 1033 1034 1035 1036 1037 1038 1039 1040 1041 1077 1127 ... LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. New 4G HSPA / LTE network sightings
    By ChristopherMcG in forum T-Mobile
    Replies: 1403
    Last Post: 10-21-2014, 08:11 PM
  2. Sonic 4G Works on AT&T 4G (HSPA)
    By silentjudge in forum Data Aircards / USB Modems / Netbooks
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 05-05-2013, 12:54 PM
  3. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 10-28-2012, 02:36 PM
  4. AT&T 4G (HSPA+) Rollout
    By elimcgrubber in forum AT&T
    Replies: 55
    Last Post: 02-17-2012, 02:46 PM
  5. Possible to use Verizon or AT&T 4G HSPA Phone on Telus?
    By berzerkled in forum TELUS Mobility
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 05-17-2011, 01:14 AM

Bookmarks