Page 29 of 50 FirstFirst ... 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 ... LastLast
Results 421 to 435 of 743

Thread: RingPlus - discussion of plans and plan changes

  1. #421
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Posts
    13,768
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by bobdevnul View Post
    As said, this tethering just enables the Sprint Hotspot on Sprint branded phones. That should be a good portion of phones on R+. It does it without rooting or modifying system files that is beyond the ability or interest of many users.

    I have a Galaxy S3 that I could not find any way to get third party tethering to work after rooting and trying many tether apps. This worked for me and it is might handy to have available.
    In general, is tethering on Sprint usually allowed or not? MVNOs, again in general?

  2. #422
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    1,493
    Feedback Score
    0
    Some allow it and some don't. Sometimes phones can tether on their own but sprint tends to kick that feature on many on their prepaid devices

  3. #423
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Posts
    4,693
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by HansCT View Post
    In general, is tethering on Sprint usually allowed or not? MVNOs, again in general?
    Sprint postpaid tethering costs extra, $20/2GB/month, etc.

    Sprint MNNO Ting allows tethering at no extra cost if the phone supports it.

    Ringplus has started offering tethering on a few plans recently at no extra cost. There is no separate or partial allocation for tether data. Before Ringplus started allowing tethering, starting the hotspot would go to a message to contact Sprint to pay for the service. Since we are not Sprint customers there was no way to pay for it even if we wanted to. Some third party tether apps do work on some phones even without Sprint permission.

    I don't know much about other MVNOs, Sprint or otherwise. I think GoPhone allows it and Tracfone works, but not explicitly allowed.

  4. #424
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Posts
    13,768
    Feedback Score
    0
    Thank you for the detailed response.
    Quote Originally Posted by bobdevnul View Post
    I think GoPhone allows it and Tracfone works, but not explicitly allowed.
    that is correct, although there hasn't really been enough long term heavy usage testing to say for sure, I think on the AT&T side is more well established than on the Verizon network

    http://www.howardforums.com/showthread.php?p=15984298
    Tracfone hotspotting phones, tablets, mifi?

  5. #425
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    1,493
    Feedback Score
    0
    Some new sim cards can disable the built in tethering on some companies as well. Cricket does this.

  6. #426
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    5,013
    Feedback Score
    0

    RingPlus - discussion of plans and plan changes

    For existing users, to get on the wait list for upgrade to Leonardo,
    the URL is
    https://store.ringplus.net/leonardo-upgrade-list.html

    Open NOW.

    It turns out you can request either:

    Leonardo 2 - 1500/1500/1500
    or
    Leonardo 3 - 1200/1200/1200 with tethering

    (Or Leonardo 1 also)
    Last edited by comintel; 11-18-2015 at 07:26 AM.

  7. #427
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    192
    Feedback Score
    0
    Dumb question.
    So, I got Leo2 SIM to use in an old phone.
    What would happen if I got Leo3 on a different device? Does that nix the SIM's plan when it arrives?
    Also, the store wasn't tied to my login, so I did a new one with a different email address. Will they want the acct. tied to that, or would it even matter?

    Contemplating a Moto E, since they're on sale. Might just wait and see if the SIM shows up though.

  8. #428
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Posts
    4,693
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by kansanian View Post
    Dumb question.
    So, I got Leo2 SIM to use in an old phone.
    What would happen if I got Leo3 on a different device? Does that nix the SIM's plan when it arrives?
    Also, the store wasn't tied to my login, so I did a new one with a different email address. Will they want the acct. tied to that, or would it even matter?
    With a different account or different line on the same account and with different devices it should work. The new phone must not have been on a free plan within 30 days. Problems arise when people try to do plan upgrades, ESN swaps, try to activate a previously used phone.

    It is supposed to be one free plan per physical person.

  9. #429
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Posts
    898
    Device(s)
    Nexus 5
    Carrier(s)
    FreedomPop, Virgin Mobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    Wirelessly posted (iphone 4: Opera/9.80 (Android; Opera Mini/12.0.1987/37.7138; U; en) Presto/2.12.423 Version/12.16)

    I have a question. I just added my line to the leo 2 waiting list. if I have over $15 sitting on my account already will it still top $15?
    Last edited by prepaidmasterz; 11-18-2015 at 02:46 PM.

  10. #430
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    797
    Device(s)
    Nokia 3595
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    Does anyone know if a Sprint LG G2 works on RingPlus? The phone seems to come with a SIM card from Sprint but would it work without a SIM?

  11. #431
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Bend, Oregon
    Posts
    7,701
    Device(s)
    Nexus 6
    Carrier(s)
    Sprint
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by below20 View Post
    Does anyone know if a Sprint LG G2 works on RingPlus? The phone seems to come with a SIM card from Sprint but would it work without a SIM?
    I activated one about a week ago now.

  12. #432
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Posts
    2,951
    Device(s)
    Nexus 5X - Moto X PE, LG X Charge, LG G Pad, Nokia 6102b, ZTE 222
    Carrier(s)
    Tracfone, Xfinity Mobile, Freedom Pop, Lycamobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by below20 View Post
    Does anyone know if a Sprint LG G2 works on RingPlus? The phone seems to come with a SIM card from Sprint but would it work without a SIM?
    The SIM it comes with will work with Ring plus, is it used though? Ring Plus' activation system has a mind of its own, especially if you are doing a swap, so if it is a used SIM YMMV and I doubt C/S would have a clue on how to fix any sort of error, if you can even contact them.
    You will not be able to activate without the UICC ID # for a device with a removable SIM, at least that has been my experience in the recent past.

  13. #433
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    1,493
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by below20 View Post
    Does anyone know if a Sprint LG G2 works on RingPlus? The phone seems to come with a SIM card from Sprint but would it work without a SIM?
    The LG g2 will work great. You can get the sprint Sim card from best buy, ting, or Sprint. If it has the LTE built in without a sim card it will still work including the LTE.

  14. #434
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    797
    Device(s)
    Nokia 3595
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    Do I need a SIM card with the G2 or not? Can I get one without a SIM card and use it with R+ for voice and data?

  15. #435
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    192
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by bobdevnul View Post
    With a different account or different line on the same account and with different devices it should work. The new phone must not have been on a free plan within 30 days. Problems arise when people try to do plan upgrades, ESN swaps, try to activate a previously used phone.

    It is supposed to be one free plan per physical person.
    Thanks! Think I'll play the waiting game for now and see if the sim works as advertised.

Page 29 of 50 FirstFirst ... 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 ... LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. New $29 Unlimited voice/text/data (for life) plan, and other changes
    By mGeek in forum Freedom Mobile (previously Wind Mobile)
    Replies: 323
    Last Post: 10-10-2012, 09:18 PM
  2. Change of Equipment and Plan
    By Larklen in forum TELUS/Koodo/Public Mobile
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 10-04-2010, 11:00 PM
  3. Sound of open and close changes at times
    By warlockaxe in forum Apple
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 08-13-2009, 02:31 PM
  4. Premium plan and plan discount
    By rich_gs in forum Verizon Wireless
    Replies: 19
    Last Post: 07-14-2007, 11:43 AM
  5. Replies: 5
    Last Post: 02-09-2005, 11:28 AM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks