Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: 3G connectivity questions

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Posts
    2
    Feedback Score
    0

    3G connectivity questions

    I have an issue I hope can have some light shed upon. I'm a T-mobile client and have a couple of unlocked GSM/WCDMA phones to talk about. I have a Lenovo K900 which is great and connects to T-mobile 3G. It displays an (H) on the screen beside the signal indicator. I also have a Zopo ZP998 which does the same and displays (3G) beside the signal bars. The Zopo also displays T-mobile 3G on the notification page when you scroll down from the top. Both phones are capable of 4 bars of signal in my home as I have a T-mobile Cell-fi booster unit. Here is the issue; the Lenovo's specs indicate it has only a 2100mhz band capability for WCDMA, and the Zopo's specs claim 900, 1900, and 2100mhz capability. This seems to indicate to me that the band being broadcast from my Cell-fi for 3G is 2100mhz. If this is the case I would assume that another phone I have recently acquired, which has specs claiming 900 and 2100mhz capability for WCDMA, would be able to access the T-mobile 3G network just as well. However it does not. It is barely able to access a 2G signal on my property and is a high quality device, a Kolina 100+ v6. What am I missing? I've read as much as I can find about T-mobile's bands and have seen much differing info about 1700mhz being the only band used for T-m's 3G and 1900 also being one of the bands. My Lenovo's success at achieving a strong connection seems to defy these opinions, and I'd love to know why any device with a 2100mhz can't also have that connectivity. If there is someone who can enlighten me, please do. don

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    California
    Posts
    3,293
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile US
    Feedback Score
    1 (100%)
    Your phones are using 1900MHz HSPA+/3G to connect to the booster. The other 3G band T-Mobile uses is 1700/2100MHz, which is completely different than the European/Asian 2100MHz band (which is not used at all in North America). That's why the Kolina can't access 3G.

    The Lenovo supports both of T-Mobile's 3G bands (1900MHz and 1700/2100MHz).
    http://shop.lenovo.com/ae/en/smartph...tab-tech_specs
    Carriers I've used: Sprint, T-Mobile, Cricket, AT&T, Verizon, Page Plus, Virgin Mobile, Movistar, AT&T Mexico, Telcel, Straight Talk, RingPlus.
    Phones I've used: iPhone 6S, iPhone 5c, HTC One M9, Samsung Galaxy S3, LG G2, BlackBerry Storm, Nokia 820, Motorola Atrix HD, iPhone 4S, HTC One V, iPhone 4, Nokia Lumia 900, Nokia N9, Samsung Focus, Samsung Captivate, Nokia N900, HTC 8525, iPhone 3GS, iPhone, Nokia E61i, Siemens A56...

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Posts
    2
    Feedback Score
    0
    Thanks for the info and also so quickly. I'm sad to learn about the Kolina, though it did not cost much and can still be useful as a 2G device in a pinch.

Similar Threads

  1. 3Gs with Bluetooth Headset connection Question
    By Andru1313 in forum iPhone/iPad/iPod touch Accessories
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 06-30-2009, 01:13 PM
  2. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 06-29-2009, 11:29 AM
  3. Question on Data (3G) Connection
    By nvisi0n in forum Windows Mobile (Before 7)
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 09-30-2007, 09:53 PM
  4. question about 3g connectivity
    By kevinf in forum AT&T
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 08-08-2007, 10:34 AM
  5. 3g connection question
    By urmomis100 in forum Feature Phones
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 05-11-2007, 11:52 PM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks