Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 18

Thread: How do I find my account number?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    289
    Device(s)
    LG800g
    Carrier(s)
    Tracfone
    Feedback Score
    0

    How do I find my account number?

    I was porting my son's Virgin Mobile phone number to Cricket (AT&T prepaid), Cricket is asking for his account number.

    I have always logged into Virgin Mobile under his telephone number. After logging in I cannot find any place that shows the account number.

    Cricket is saying that his telephone number (what I log in under) is not a valid account number. Any ideas?

    Thanks!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Twin Cities
    Posts
    806
    Carrier(s)
    Metro by T-Mobile, Freedompop
    Feedback Score
    0
    You have to contact Customer Service in order to get the account number. It isn't available online and is only used for porting your number. Calling CS ensures that you have to talk to someone in Retention before your number is ported. They're available pretty early in the morning, but aren't 24 hours.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    289
    Device(s)
    LG800g
    Carrier(s)
    Tracfone
    Feedback Score
    0
    Thanks. On the Cricket website they first said the transaction didn't go through because my account number was not right (I had used the phone number, which is what I had used to log into the Virgin Mobile site). Now Cricket is saying that the transaction went through but the account has not been activated...

    The point where I entered the Virgin Mobile information was the last step, I had already entered the new phone's IMEI # and my credit card information. Maybe it went through and I will soon receive a shipping notification on the new SIM card?

    It is almost 1 am right now, if I don't receive any emails by roughly noon tomorrow I'll call Cricket to see what the status is, maybe the phone number was all that was needed (with PIN). Else I'll call Virgin Mobile.

    The Virgin Mobile account is active for another couple of weeks, and stays alive for another 30 days if I remember right, so I have a little time. That being said, he wants to use his iPhone.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Posts
    3,363
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by MikeZ3 View Post
    Thanks. On the Cricket website they first said the transaction didn't go through because my account number was not right (I had used the phone number, which is what I had used to log into the Virgin Mobile site). Now Cricket is saying that the transaction went through but the account has not been activated...

    The point where I entered the Virgin Mobile information was the last step, I had already entered the new phone's IMEI # and my credit card information. Maybe it went through and I will soon receive a shipping notification on the new SIM card?

    It is almost 1 am right now, if I don't receive any emails by roughly noon tomorrow I'll call Cricket to see what the status is, maybe the phone number was all that was needed (with PIN). Else I'll call Virgin Mobile.

    The Virgin Mobile account is active for another couple of weeks, and stays alive for another 30 days if I remember right, so I have a little time. That being said, he wants to use his iPhone.
    Call VM first to get that account number. I had to call Boost Mobile to get my account number too when I ported to Aio.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    MA
    Posts
    1,197
    Carrier(s)
    guess
    Feedback Score
    0
    Look for the post that tells you how to get your account # with chrome browser. It works. No need to call

    here you go

    First. Log in to your virgin mobile account.

    If you’re using Chrome, you can do the following:

    1.) Right-click the page;
    2.) Select ‘Inspect Element’;
    3.) Click the ‘Resources’ tab;
    4.) Expand the ‘Cookies’ group;
    5.) Select ‘www2.virginmobileusa.com’, and;
    6.) Check the list that appears in the right pane for the Name ‘ban’. The nine digit number you see assigned in the Value column next to that Name is your account number.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    2,980
    Carrier(s)
    Virgin Mobile USA
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by southchatham View Post
    Look for the post that tells you how to get your account # with chrome browser. It works. No need to call

    here you go

    First. Log in to your virgin mobile account.

    If you’re using Chrome, you can do the following:

    1.) Right-click the page;
    2.) Select ‘Inspect Element’;
    3.) Click the ‘Resources’ tab;
    4.) Expand the ‘Cookies’ group;
    5.) Select ‘www2.virginmobileusa.com’, and;
    6.) Check the list that appears in the right pane for the Name ‘ban’. The nine digit number you see assigned in the Value column next to that Name is your account number.
    I found out the hard way that if you log in to more than one VM account, the ban number doesn't change. If this is not an issue for you, proceed as normal. Otherwise, clear your www2.virginmobileusa.com cookies before logging in and then write down the 9 digit "ban" number.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    3,860
    Device(s)
    Nexus 6P
    Carrier(s)
    H2O Wireless
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by JDubTrey View Post
    Otherwise, clear your www2.virginmobileusa.com cookies before logging in and then write down the 9 digit "ban" number.
    Rather than clearing cookies, this would be a good place to use an anonymous or private browser window. That will ignore any cookies previously set for the site.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    1,336
    Device(s)
    Samsung Galaxy S8+
    Carrier(s)
    Verizon Wireless
    Feedback Score
    0
    I wish I would have caught on the BIN number thing. I called CS to get my account number. I ported my VM line to Cricket and for 2 days, I was only making calls on the Cricket line; all incoming calls were directed to the VM line. I went to the Cricket store and they were at a loss. Apparently, I was the only person who ported from VM. The store did countless ports from T-Mobile and Boost. The rep suggested that I call VM. Lo and behold, VM had placed some sort of hold on my line. I had to tell them to release the number.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    289
    Device(s)
    LG800g
    Carrier(s)
    Tracfone
    Feedback Score
    0
    The cookie trick would have worked, thanks for the info. I had sent virgin mobile an email, they responded with the account number. Then I started the port process again and things looked "normal". He received the new SIM a couple of days later and is now a happy iPhone 5 user on Cricket. Thanks again for the help.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    121
    Carrier(s)
    Tracfone
    Feedback Score
    0
    This is what I love about Howard Forums! I had the exact same question as the OP and searched here to find 6 helpful responders.

    Thanks to All.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    Northern California
    Posts
    491
    Carrier(s)
    Tracfone
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by southchatham View Post
    Look for the post that tells you how to get your account # with chrome browser. It works. No need to call

    here you go

    First. Log in to your virgin mobile account.

    If you’re using Chrome, you can do the following:

    1.) Right-click the page;
    2.) Select ‘Inspect Element’;
    3.) Click the ‘Resources’ tab;
    4.) Expand the ‘Cookies’ group;
    5.) Select ‘www2.virginmobileusa.com’, and;
    6.) Check the list that appears in the right pane for the Name ‘ban’. The nine digit number you see assigned in the Value column next to that Name is your account number.
    Thanks! This worked out great! Wanted to move the number from Virgin Mobile to H2O Wireless and an AT&T GoPhone (Nokia Lumia 520 Windows phone).
    Is a Telegram a metric e-mail?

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    2,980
    Carrier(s)
    Virgin Mobile USA
    Feedback Score
    0
    Is this cookies method actually working for anyone now?

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    1,394
    Carrier(s)
    Tracfone - Verizon
    Feedback Score
    0
    "Virgin Mobile - You need to contact Virgin Mobile customer service to get your account number - it will be a 9-Digit number - and the passcode is usually the customer's birthday in 6-digit format (2-digit month/2-digit day/2-digit year...example: 011065 for January 10th 1965) UNLESS you changed it to something else.

    Update 7/20/16: The account number is no longer included in the source code of the Virgin Mobile My Account web page. However, you can view your cookies for the "virginmobileusa.com" domain and it will be listed under a cookie with the name "ban." The Web Developer extension for Chrome or Firefox is an easy way to view cookies for the current web page."

    http://www.prepaidphonenews.com/2014...find-your.html

    Relatively recent update.

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    On an Island...
    Posts
    5,879
    Device(s)
    iPhone8, Galaxy_S9+
    Carrier(s)
    Virgin_Mobile, Total_Wireless
    Feedback Score
    0
    Wirelessly posted (PREPAID Wireless...: Opera/9.80 (BlackBerry; Opera Mini/7.1.33553/37.8993; U; en) Presto/2.12.423 Version/12.16)

    Call and ask for it. They have a "saves" department, they used to provide great offers to customers depending on subscriber history. Everything from free phones to free month of service. Again, depending on history or longevity. They know why you are asking for the number and will rarely hesitate to provide it. It is definitely worth calling to get the info. ...
    Last edited by vmobi; 10-23-2016 at 08:09 PM.
    PREPAID means I have all the power.
    They want me, but they can't have me...


    Virgin Mobile: $50 / $10 | Total Wireless: $25

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    DC-MD-VA
    Posts
    675
    Carrier(s)
    Virgin Mobile, T-Mobile, Verizon
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by mathfaster View Post
    "Virgin Mobile - You need to contact Virgin Mobile customer service to get your account number - it will be a 9-Digit number - and the passcode is usually the customer's birthday in 6-digit format (2-digit month/2-digit day/2-digit year...example: 011065 for January 10th 1965) UNLESS you changed it to something else.

    Update 7/20/16: The account number is no longer included in the source code of the Virgin Mobile My Account web page. However, you can view your cookies for the "virginmobileusa.com" domain and it will be listed under a cookie with the name "ban." The Web Developer extension for Chrome or Firefox is an easy way to view cookies for the current web page."

    http://www.prepaidphonenews.com/2014...find-your.html

    Relatively recent update.
    Couldn't find the cookie with "ban".

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. how do I find my account number?
    By tebow in forum General Prepaid discussion
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 02-07-2014, 12:28 AM
  2. How Do I Find My Phone Number in a Kyocera Rise?
    By annepani in forum Virgin Mobile USA
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 09-03-2013, 05:44 PM
  3. How do I get my account number?
    By jaschiero in forum ALLTEL
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 06-06-2008, 02:37 PM
  4. how do I find my own number on my MDA??
    By andrzej in forum Windows Mobile Devices
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 02-07-2007, 10:58 PM
  5. How do I find my account number?
    By Guest 153 in forum Bell Mobility
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 07-05-2004, 01:27 AM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks