Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 24

Thread: Google Voice

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    435
    Device(s)
    iphone 6+
    Carrier(s)
    AT&T
    Feedback Score
    0

    Google Voice

    I keep reading about getting a mobile number ported to Google Voice.

    When I go to Google Voice and try to look up my cell number I get this message:

    Porting your mobile number to Google Voice is unavailable
    Your mobile number can not be ported at this time.
    - This number appears to be from an area we don't currently support for porting.


    I live in a fairly large metro area.......

    Am I doing something wrong?

    Thanks,

    Dawn

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    NYC/OK-TX
    Posts
    2,467
    Device(s)
    LG H631
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    In this thread from 2011
    a Google employee discusses this, his name is Vincent.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Posts
    2,391
    Carrier(s)
    Ting - R+ - Lyca - BYO - Selectel
    Feedback Score
    0
    There is also a HoFo Forum Board on this as well HERE You might get better answers to your questions.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    NYC/OK-TX
    Posts
    2,467
    Device(s)
    LG H631
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by pfoneguy View Post
    There is also a HoFo Forum Board on this as well HERE You might get better answers to your questions.


    That link here links to a 2001 thread about Telus Pay and Talk Changes and not GV. (At least from my phone when I click on it)

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Posts
    1,938
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by DawnM View Post
    I live in a fairly large metro area.......
    What city do you live in? What is the area code of the number you're trying to port?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Posts
    2,391
    Carrier(s)
    Ting - R+ - Lyca - BYO - Selectel
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by gate115 View Post
    That link here links to a 2001 thread about Telus Pay and Talk Changes and not GV. (At least from my phone when I click on it)
    Well, your phone is wrong.

    Edit: Well, the HoFo app is wrong!
    Last edited by pfoneguy; 10-05-2013 at 09:54 PM.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Posts
    1,938
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by gate115 View Post
    That link here links to a 2001 thread about Telus Pay and Talk Changes and not GV. (At least from my phone when I click on it)
    Yep, that's what I get on my phone too.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Posts
    2,391
    Carrier(s)
    Ting - R+ - Lyca - BYO - Selectel
    Feedback Score
    0
    Works on my phone without the HoFo app. The HoFo app directs you to the wrong link? Just scroll on down to Mobile Services and Click Google Voice.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Pittsburgh
    Posts
    1,877
    Carrier(s)
    PagePlus (this month anyway)
    Feedback Score
    0
    Here is my experience from a couple years ago trying to port from PagePlus to GV. I just gave up and got a totally new GV number which I've been using since then. It's nice because I can try any prepaid service I want to without having to change my number or port in.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    2,523
    Feedback Score
    0
    To the OP.
    Just keep your current number where it is, get as new GV number and start handing it out as your new number. In time everyone will have your new number.
    Also download the GV app to your phone and set it to make all outgoing calls. With this everyone will see your GV number when you call them. You can also text through the GV app and your text will show as coming from your GV number. Be sure to go in to the GV setting and set your area code as the default.
    Know this though, GV does not do MMS or picture messaging so you will need to use the normal text app for those.

    Sent from my AT100 using Tapatalk 2

    ST to IPhone http://goo.gl/bYd8e
    ST to Android http://goo.gl/Xael3
    ST to Windows Phone http://goo.gl/MMuZH
    Tracfone CS at 800-876-5753 or 800-626-4883
    Phone Number for Google Customer Service. 18558363987

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    435
    Device(s)
    iphone 6+
    Carrier(s)
    AT&T
    Feedback Score
    0
    Sorry, meant to come back and reply. I live in Charlotte, NC. Area code 704.

    Quote Originally Posted by afblangley View Post
    What city do you live in? What is the area code of the number you're trying to port?

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    435
    Device(s)
    iphone 6+
    Carrier(s)
    AT&T
    Feedback Score
    0
    Yeah, I may have to do this.

    Dawn

    Quote Originally Posted by AndroidFoneFan View Post
    To the OP.
    Just keep your current number where it is, get as new GV number and start handing it out as your new number. In time everyone will have your new number.
    Also download the GV app to your phone and set it to make all outgoing calls. With this everyone will see your GV number when you call them. You can also text through the GV app and your text will show as coming from your GV number. Be sure to go in to the GV setting and set your area code as the default.
    Know this though, GV does not do MMS or picture messaging so you will need to use the normal text app for those.

    Sent from my AT100 using Tapatalk 2

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    435
    Device(s)
    iphone 6+
    Carrier(s)
    AT&T
    Feedback Score
    0
    Ok, I ended up getting a new number tonight. When I dial it, it does go to my cell but the voice quality is very crackly. Is this normal?

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Posts
    1,938
    Feedback Score
    0
    How do you have your GV setup? Do you have calls forwarded to your cell phone or are you doing voip (ie. via Talkatone/GrooveIP)? Typically, with the former calls are as good as cellular. With the latter, it's very dependent on the quality of your data connection.

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    435
    Device(s)
    iphone 6+
    Carrier(s)
    AT&T
    Feedback Score
    0
    I have no idea!

    I just got a number assigned and called it.

    I don't even know what Talkatone or GrooveIP is. Is there another step? I guess so. Off to google.

    Dawn

    Quote Originally Posted by afblangley View Post
    How do you have your GV setup? Do you have calls forwarded to your cell phone or are you doing voip (ie. via Talkatone/GrooveIP)? Typically, with the former calls are as good as cellular. With the latter, it's very dependent on the quality of your data connection.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Alltel U + Google Voice = Unlimited Voice/Text for $23/month
    By cnr1109 in forum General Prepaid discussion
    Replies: 54
    Last Post: 10-04-2010, 02:38 PM
  2. Replies: 38
    Last Post: 05-02-2009, 03:40 PM
  3. Replies: 50
    Last Post: 03-30-2009, 06:17 PM
  4. Replies: 6
    Last Post: 03-19-2009, 04:26 PM
  5. Omnia question - Google Voice App or Windows Live Search
    By johnner1999 in forum Windows Mobile (Before 7)
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 12-15-2008, 03:45 AM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks