Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Galaxy S4 At&T/Tmobile Phone/sim combo

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Posts
    17
    Feedback Score
    0

    Galaxy S4 At&T/Tmobile Phone/sim combo

    This is the question I am trying to answer within these 2 scenarios:

    Q: Will this setup get 4G or LTE speeds or Both or Neither???

    Scenario 1: A Galaxy S4 from Tmobile with AT&T sim

    Scenario 2: A Galaxy S4 from AT&T with a T-mobile sim


    Thank you

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    119
    Feedback Score
    0
    Neither of these will work unless the phone is unlocked. Why not put the SIM with the locked carrier phone?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    Tulsa
    Posts
    2,102
    Device(s)
    iPhone XS
    Carrier(s)
    Verizon, AT&T
    Feedback Score
    0
    Both phones support the same LTE bands so both scenarios are possible provided both phones are unlocked.

    However they don't both share as many HSPA+ 3G bands.

    The T-Mobile GS4 will work in all T-Mobile 3G areas and all AT&T 3G areas.

    The AT&T GS4 will work in some T-Mobile 3G areas (only those with refarmed 1900mhz 3G) and all AT&T 3G areas. The AT&T GS4 lacks the 1700/2100 3G band so any area that only has 1700/2100 3G on T-Mobile will be a 2G area for the AT&T GS4 on T-Mobile (although this problem is slowly being eliminated with the 1900mhz 3G refarm).

    Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using Tapatalk 2
    iPhone XS:
    Verizon February UDP (Physical Sim)
    AT&T Unlimited Plus (E-SIM)

    iPad Pro 10.5:
    Verizon February UDP

    Rural Internet:
    Nighthawk HW1.0 LTE on AT&T Unlimited Plus
    Don’t cheap out on your cables!!!
    Years of struggle to get good speeds on a crap signal
    All solved with some quality LMR400 cables
    (went from 1-6mbps to 20-60mbps!!!)

    AT&T Fiber

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    4,013
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by moorie30 View Post
    This is the question I am trying to answer within these 2 scenarios:

    Q: Will this setup get 4G or LTE speeds or Both or Neither???

    Scenario 1: A Galaxy S4 from Tmobile with AT&T sim

    Scenario 2: A Galaxy S4 from AT&T with a T-mobile sim


    Thank you
    check out post #55 to compare S4 T-Mobile and S4 AT&T. If you can handle 16GB of internal storage, the T-Mobile is a better version, it has all the AT&T bands + bands used by T-Mobile. Unlock it and you can go to either carrier and you'll have LTE on both network. But, if you require 32GB of internal storage, your only option is AT&T S4. Verizon also has 32GB but CDMA, I'm not familiar with that version.

    http://www.howardforums.com/showthre...9#post15231599

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    115
    Feedback Score
    0
    The att S4 can be used under aws band 1700 as well only after you do the aws mod. I'm current using my tmobile Sim card on an ATT s4 (32GB). Doing the aws mod allows you to use aws 1700.

    Sent from my GT-I9505G using Tapatalk 2

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    4,013
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Febby View Post
    The att S4 can be used under aws band 1700 as well only after you do the aws mod. I'm current using my tmobile Sim card on an ATT s4 (32GB). Doing the aws mod allows you to use aws 1700.

    Sent from my GT-I9505G using Tapatalk 2
    here's how you can have aws on AT&T S4 from galaxys4root.com, IDK if they have remedied the MF3 with a different codes.


    http://galaxys4root.com/galaxy-s4-tu...i337sgh-i337m/

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Posts
    1,301
    Device(s)
    A phone
    Carrier(s)
    Any
    Feedback Score
    0
    The google play edition works on both.

    https://play.google.com/store/device...sung_galaxy_s4

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Posts
    17
    Feedback Score
    0
    Thank you guys.

    I appreciate all the great information. Currently have ST-Tmobile on a LG myTouch that is acting up real bad.
    The Tmobile S4 seems a better deal with all the bands included and would be an easy switch having a Tmobile sim.
    The AT&T will be fine but i would have to get a new sim and transfer to AT&T.
    The final decision will depend on what kind of deal I will find and the price I have to pay for the phone.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    58
    Feedback Score
    0
    i have a verizon locked S4, i put in an AT&T sim, set to global, it worked, HSPA+ 3G

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 18
    Last Post: 04-26-2008, 04:15 PM
  2. Replies: 5
    Last Post: 11-16-2006, 07:51 PM
  3. TMObile phone but no SIM Card
    By KrazyLLC in forum T-Mobile
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 02-21-2004, 09:50 AM
  4. swap nextel sim card from i90c to tmobile phone
    By theblackhand in forum Motorola Modding
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 12-18-2003, 07:52 AM
  5. Cingular SIM, Tmobile Phone
    By groggrog in forum AT&T
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 07-05-2003, 01:30 PM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks