Results 1 to 12 of 12

Thread: HTC One: Will it work on WIND?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Posts
    334
    Feedback Score
    0

    HTC One: Will it work on WIND?

    http://www2-shopamerica.htc.com/cell...htm?prId=41589

    This HTC One® unlocked version comes with: 32GB of onboard memory and is SIM unlocked. - HSPA/WCDMA: 850/1900/2100 MHz - GSM/GPRS/EDGE: 850/900/1800/1900 MHz - LTE: 700/850/AWS/1900 MHz (US)

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Posts
    764
    Device(s)
    Nexus 6
    Carrier(s)
    WIND Mobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    What are the frequencies WIND uses?
    Are they in the specs you provided?

    As near as I can see, only the HTC One S has the right frequncies.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    2,166
    Feedback Score
    0
    The original spec from HTC

    http://www.htc.com/ca/smartphones/ht...27p71495#specs

    2G/2.5G - GSM/GPRS/EDGE:
    850/900/1800/1900 MHz
    3G - UMTS/ HSPA:
    Europe/ Middle East/ Africa: 900/1900/2100 MHz with HSDPA up to 42 Mbps
    Asia: 850/900/1900/2100 MHz with HSDPA up to 42 Mbps
    Canada/ Latin America: 850/1900/2100 MHz up to HSDPA 42 Mbps
    T-Mobile (US): 850/ AWS/1900/2100 MHz with HSDPA up to 42 Mbps
    AT&T: 850/1900/2100 MHz with HSDPA up to 21 Mbps
    Sprint: 1900/2100 MHz with HSDPA up to 14.4 Mbps
    3G - CDMA:
    800/1900 MHz for Sprint
    4G - LTE:
    Europe/ Middle East/ Africa: 800/1800/2600 MHz
    Asia: 1800/2600 MHz
    T-Mobile (US)/ AT&T/ Canada/ Latin America: 700 MHz and AWS band

    This looks a lot more promising than what it states in the
    http://www2-shopamerica.htc.com

    Daniel

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    7,393
    Device(s)
    Nexus 6
    Carrier(s)
    The Big-T
    Feedback Score
    0
    The T-mobile version will work

    Sent from my SGH-I317M using HowardForums

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    2,166
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by xtachx View Post
    The T-mobile version will work

    Sent from my SGH-I317M using HowardForums
    The T Mobile version also works for Bell/Rogers with LTE - future proof . T Mobile is selling it at $580 - a good deal for one of the best phones around. Got to save some money for up front payment though

    Daniel

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    54
    Feedback Score
    0
    any word on this phone launching with wind??

    it's so nice!

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    Toronto
    Posts
    6
    Carrier(s)
    Freedom Mobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    Hey guys annoying newbie here.

    1. Any manual programming steps if I get a T Mobile HTC One? I am assuming I just buy the SIM and pop her in? Does the phone come unlocked?
    2. How would someone from Canada have the T Mobile phone shipped to Canada? Could I buy the phone from a Canadian carrier save the hassle?

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    2,334
    Carrier(s)
    wind
    Feedback Score
    1 (100%)
    all the high end phones should be made penta band (3g & 2g)

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Vancouver & Toronto
    Posts
    1,158
    Device(s)
    BlackBerry Classic, BlackBerry Priv, Samsung Galaxy Note 4
    Carrier(s)
    Freedom Mobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by 2c View Post
    all the high end phones should be made penta band (3g & 2g)
    YES, forget all higher end phones - ALL PHONES should be made pentaband 3G/2G. Offers more revenue to the manufacture in the long run..

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    2,166
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by dc2000 View Post
    YES, forget all higher end phones - ALL PHONES should be made pentaband 3G/2G. Offers more revenue to the manufacture in the long run..
    But from the point of view of the incumbents (or cartel or phone mafia), that will encourage those pissed off clients to jump over away from the them (Wind/Mobi) The incumbents (or cartel or phone mafia) of course do not use the AWS at all.
    They twist arms of the manufacturers and make sure the AWS is an odd band and people have to jump hoop to get away from them.

    Daniel

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Posts
    387
    Carrier(s)
    Koodo
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by dtong22 View Post
    But from the point of view of the incumbents (or cartel or phone mafia), that will encourage those pissed off clients to jump over away from the them (Wind/Mobi) The incumbents (or cartel or phone mafia) of course do not use the AWS at all.
    They twist arms of the manufacturers and make sure the AWS is an odd band and people have to jump hoop to get away from them.

    Daniel
    Other than a few carriers in North America, no one else uses AWS, for less than 40 million customers worldwide it's a pretty big hassle to add those bands to all the phones.

    Sent from my SGH-I717D using HowardForums

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    368
    Carrier(s)
    WIND Mobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by dc2000 View Post
    YES, forget all higher end phones - ALL PHONES should be made pentaband 3G/2G. Offers more revenue to the manufacture in the long run..
    No, in the long run the manufacturer gets more revenue if you need to buy a new phone when you switch providers. Locking phones and supporting a limited number of bands is to the manufacturer's advantage. The only benefit they'd get is economies of scale due to less variants.

Similar Threads

  1. T-Mobile HTC Wing - Will it work on Wind?
    By sd99m3 in forum Freedom Mobile (previously Wind Mobile)
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 11-02-2010, 02:46 PM
  2. Unlocked HTC Magic Android Phone (works with Wind Mobile)
    By bhuachua in forum GSM phone Buy/Sell/Trade
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 05-03-2010, 02:33 AM
  3. Rogers HTC Magic, Will It Blend, Err.. WIND?
    By r3dline in forum Freedom Mobile (previously Wind Mobile)
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 01-02-2010, 06:23 PM
  4. New Google Phone! Also, Will Probably Work on WIND!
    By leetpyro in forum Freedom Mobile (previously Wind Mobile)
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 12-12-2009, 09:50 PM
  5. Replies: 41
    Last Post: 11-19-2008, 07:07 AM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks