Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Few silly wind mobile questions

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    13
    Device(s)
    Nexus 4
    Carrier(s)
    WIND Mobile
    Feedback Score
    0

    Few silly wind mobile questions

    Hi I activated my phone a month ago and just some silly question I wanted to know answer to.

    I am using nexus 4 4.2.2. On the about phone, status, my phone number in settings, it apparently display the wrong phone number. (My number was changed BTW) and still display old number. This kind of bothers me a bit bug text and call still work with new numbers.

    Second when that happens, I did also change to a new Sim card. And before with the old Sim card, it used to display WIND Home and WIND Away networks. But now my phone with the new Sim displays WIND only, and WIND Away still same. Lol I know its silly but it just urges me to know if its only me that have wind or the new sim changed updated to just wind.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Scarborough
    Posts
    849
    Carrier(s)
    Wind
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by joshtrader View Post
    Hi I activated my phone a month ago and just some silly question I wanted to know answer to.

    I am using nexus 4 4.2.2. On the about phone, status, my phone number in settings, it apparently display the wrong phone number. (My number was changed BTW) and still display old number. This kind of bothers me a bit bug text and call still work with new numbers.

    Second when that happens, I did also change to a new Sim card. And before with the old Sim card, it used to display WIND Home and WIND Away networks. But now my phone with the new Sim displays WIND only, and WIND Away still same. Lol I know its silly but it just urges me to know if its only me that have wind or the new sim changed updated to just wind.
    Don't worry about the number not showing your new ported in number. This is commin as the sim number doesn't seem to change when the number is ported in. If you have a blackberry or a friend with one you can edit the number. As for the phone not saying Wind Home, all the new sims have gotting rid of Wind Home. So i wouldn't worry about this either.
    Just loving it.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Toronto
    Posts
    191
    Device(s)
    BB 9700
    Carrier(s)
    WIND Mobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by FTW View Post
    Don't worry about the number not showing your new ported in number. This is commin as the sim number doesn't seem to change when the number is ported in. If you have a blackberry or a friend with one you can edit the number. As for the phone not saying Wind Home, all the new sims have gotting rid of Wind Home. So i wouldn't worry about this either.
    But his new SIM should have the correct number?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    1,350
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by polkiu View Post
    But his new SIM should have the correct number?
    Nope. None of the WIND SIMs I've used have shown the correct number.

    Sent from my Nexus 4 using HowardForums

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Ottawa CDN
    Posts
    121
    Device(s)
    Galaxy Nexus
    Carrier(s)
    Windmobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by TigerMSTR View Post
    Nope. None of the WIND SIMs I've used have shown the correct number.

    Sent from my Nexus 4 using HowardForums
    My old SIM did. My new one does not though.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    2,334
    Carrier(s)
    wind
    Feedback Score
    1 (100%)
    on bb i can change the number.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Scarborough
    Posts
    849
    Carrier(s)
    Wind
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by polkiu View Post
    But his new SIM should have the correct number?
    Ya your actual right. Not sure why the number didn't change.

    Sent from my Nexus 7 using HowardForums

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Vancouver
    Posts
    8,782
    Device(s)
    LG Nexus 4
    Carrier(s)
    Wind
    Feedback Score
    0
    Does changing the # on the BB actually affect the SIM? I was under the impression that nothing on a Wind SIM could be edited.
    The word 'Pentaband' means '5 Bands', from the Greek word 'pente' meaning '5'. For a phone to be pentaband it has to support 5 bands. If the phone has AWS support, it doesn't automatically mean that it is pentaband.

    Don't send me PMs for questions that can be asked publicly.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    13
    Device(s)
    Nexus 4
    Carrier(s)
    WIND Mobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    yeah i was thinking the same thing, will it effect the performance of sim or sim itself if the number was changed manually?

    also another silly question, for the SIM Toolkit, under Contact WIND, does your "Text us" option works? mine doesn't for some reason. and under Manage Services, My account, Check my balance and check my plan, when i pick those option, it used to send me the info though text on my old sim, but now it seems to just shows it under that dialogue.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    GTA
    Posts
    6,398
    Device(s)
    Blackberry Z30, Blackberry Q10, Galaxy Nexus
    Carrier(s)
    Fido
    Feedback Score
    1 (100%)
    A ported number always has 2 numbers EXCEPT for porting back

    EG - you port from Bell to Wind
    You now have the old Bell number + the dummy Wind number (even if ported live Wind or other carrier always assigns this number)

    You port from Wind back to Bell
    Because Bell is initial carrier they do not always need a second number
    It is sad I need to state the obvious but some people just don't get it. Any posts I make are my own OPINIONS and in no way represent the views of my employer

Similar Threads

  1. Mobilicitycustomer with Wind Mobile question? Please advise
    By gsmphone45 in forum Freedom Mobile (previously Wind Mobile)
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: 12-18-2011, 11:00 PM
  2. A couple questions about Wind Mobile data stick...
    By leftrightother in forum Freedom Mobile (previously Wind Mobile)
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 10-19-2010, 10:25 PM
  3. Wind Mobile - Service Question
    By Guest 98 in forum Freedom Mobile (previously Wind Mobile)
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 01-04-2010, 01:39 PM
  4. Three Unrelated Questions About WIND Mobile: Pronunciation, Expansion, Restriction
    By DataDude in forum Freedom Mobile (previously Wind Mobile)
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 12-12-2009, 03:42 PM
  5. A few Blackberry Curve / T-mobile questions
    By dsmking in forum T-Mobile
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 02-08-2008, 09:12 PM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks