Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 20

Thread: Is it possible to activate iPad plan activate on iPhone

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    200
    Feedback Score
    0

    Is it possible to activate iPad plan activate on iPhone

    Hey guys. I've an iPhone 5 locked to Rogers. Is there any way that I can activate a Rogers iPad Mini flex data plan on this device to use it as a data only device? I don't need any minutes and don't want to be locked in a contract and pay extra for services I don't use.

    Thanks in advance.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    13,280
    Device(s)
    V65E4710, A3LSMG925W8, PDNRM-975, IHDT56PG3, QMNRM-11, L6ARCV70UW, L6ARJE180LW
    Carrier(s)
    TELUS, Bell, SpeakOut, CSL, au by KDDI
    Feedback Score
    2 (100%)
    hashim71,

    Greetings.

    Yes but do not use your iPhone 5 IMEI to sign up.
    --

    HC - NO "i"
    I am NOT "the" HC, we are TWO different individuals!


    "If we amplify everything, we hear nothing!" - Jon Stewart, Comedian

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    200
    Feedback Score
    0

    Is it possible to activate iPad plan activate on iPhone

    Quote Originally Posted by HC - NO "i" View Post
    hashim71,

    Greetings.

    Yes but do not use your iPhone 5 IMEI to sign up.
    Hey. Thanks for replying. So how should I go about doing this?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    13,280
    Device(s)
    V65E4710, A3LSMG925W8, PDNRM-975, IHDT56PG3, QMNRM-11, L6ARCV70UW, L6ARJE180LW
    Carrier(s)
    TELUS, Bell, SpeakOut, CSL, au by KDDI
    Feedback Score
    2 (100%)
    hashim71,

    A smarter dealer will understand what a dummy IMEI is... e.g 111111111111119

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    6,595
    Feedback Score
    0

    Re: Is it possible to activate iPad plan activate on iPhone

    The Fido/Rogers system recognize the IMEI. From that point, no iPad Data options will be available...

    Sent from my GT-P7500R using HowardForums
    Disclaimer: All my posts, replies, comments and/or opinions expressed on www.howardforums.com are my own contribution only. The views expressed on this page do not necessarily represent or reflect the views of Fido, its management or employees.
    Fritz Z24...

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Thornhill, ON
    Posts
    25,529
    Carrier(s)
    Bell
    Feedback Score
    21 (100%)
    Quote Originally Posted by Fritz Z24 View Post
    The Fido/Rogers system recognize the IMEI. From that point, no iPad Data options will be available...

    Sent from my GT-P7500R using HowardForums
    Will a dummy IMEI work to populate the plans?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    6,595
    Feedback Score
    0

    Is it possible to activate iPad plan activate on iPhone

    Quote Originally Posted by WorldIRC View Post
    Will a dummy IMEI work to populate the plans?
    So far the current dummy didn't unlock the Data Options like some people wanted...

    Example, someone wanted to use a Blackberry with a Data Only Plan. Store Rep. and Call Center Agent did everything and nothing could be done, no Data Option pulled up from the list.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Thornhill, ON
    Posts
    25,529
    Carrier(s)
    Bell
    Feedback Score
    21 (100%)
    Quote Originally Posted by Fritz Z24 View Post
    So far the current dummy didn't unlock the Data Options like some people wanted...

    Example, someone wanted to use a Blackberry with a Data Only Plan. Store Rep. and Call Center Agent did everything and nothing could be done, no Data Option pulled up from the list.
    What IMEI's will allow the plan selection (device type).

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    13,280
    Device(s)
    V65E4710, A3LSMG925W8, PDNRM-975, IHDT56PG3, QMNRM-11, L6ARCV70UW, L6ARJE180LW
    Carrier(s)
    TELUS, Bell, SpeakOut, CSL, au by KDDI
    Feedback Score
    2 (100%)
    Fritz Z24,

    I have a friend who uses an IMEI of a Nexus 7 to sign up with a nano SIM card, then use it as data only in his iPhone 5. So the system will also recognize Nexus 7 or more importantly any non-Rogers originated tablet as "eligible" in the provision?

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Thornhill, ON
    Posts
    25,529
    Carrier(s)
    Bell
    Feedback Score
    21 (100%)
    Quote Originally Posted by HC - NO "i" View Post
    Fritz Z24,

    I have a friend who uses an IMEI of a Nexus 7 to sign up with a nano SIM card, then use it as data only in his iPhone 5. So the system will also recognize Nexus 7 or more importantly any non-Rogers originated tablet as "eligible" in the provision?
    It is not a provisioning issue -- it is a billing system rule.

    When we enter an IMEI into the billing system, "compatible" rates and features populate. If I use an iPhone IMEI, the $5 Flex Plan will not populate.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Thornhill, ON
    Posts
    25,529
    Carrier(s)
    Bell
    Feedback Score
    21 (100%)

    Re: Is it possible to activate iPad plan activate on iPhone

    On Fido any IMEI works now. As of last month. Not sure about Rogers.

    Sent from my Samsung Galaxy Note 2

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    3,033
    Feedback Score
    0
    Rogers does allow dummy IMEIs to be used with iPad/Tablet plans now. They realized that stores were losing too many sales as customers often left their iPads at home when they walked into the store to sign up for the plan.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    493
    Carrier(s)
    Rogers
    Feedback Score
    0
    Just find a ebay or kijiji ad for a ipad and ask person for serial and imei to verify if warranty, etc.... use this imei#. Its deceptive but works.

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    3,033
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by TheGuyz View Post
    Just find a ebay or kijiji ad for a ipad and ask person for serial and imei to verify if warranty, etc.... use this imei#. Its deceptive but works.
    That isn't necessary at all, Rogers will accept the generic IMEI.

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    200
    Feedback Score
    0

    Is it possible to activate iPad plan activate on iPhone

    Quote Originally Posted by B407 View Post
    That isn't necessary at all, Rogers will accept the generic IMEI.
    What is the generic IMEI? And also, what If I buy an iPad mini. Activate the plan and then swap the SIM cards and return the iPad. Will that work? Also, is the flex plan prepaid?

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Possible to activate online with prepaid plan (not MTM?)
    By kocoman in forum TELUS/Koodo/Public Mobile
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 04-07-2009, 11:56 PM
  2. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 07-21-2008, 06:16 PM
  3. Replies: 13
    Last Post: 07-10-2008, 07:18 PM
  4. Is it possible to cancel data plan for 3g iphone?
    By byoungjoon in forum AT&T Agents and Employees
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 07-09-2008, 12:54 AM
  5. Is it possible to activate a PDA on a nationwide plan?
    By moonstaff324 in forum Verizon Wireless
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 07-02-2008, 03:13 PM

Bookmarks