Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Why didn't T-Mobile originally use 850/1900mhz for 3G?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Indiana, USA
    Posts
    453
    Carrier(s)
    AT&T
    Feedback Score
    0

    Question Why didn't T-Mobile originally use 850/1900mhz for 3G?

    Even with 1900mhz building penetration will still suck. They need the 850 mhz band for a solid 3G signal. I'm with AT&T but I'd like to switch back next year, but knowing they don't have a very mature 3G network to fall back on worries me.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    1,888
    Feedback Score
    0
    T-Mobile doesn't own or have rights to any 850mhz spectrum, and the reason they used AWS was because in a lot of areas they didn't have enough spectrum for running both GSM and HSPA+ simultaneously. That still doesn't excuse their shoddy coverage though.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    California
    Posts
    3,293
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile US
    Feedback Score
    1 (100%)
    The 850MHz band is old, back from analog networks, so mostly the oldest/established networks (AT&T And Verizon) have it. There isn't enough of it for everyone to have nationwide coverage with it - even Verizon and AT&T don't have nationwide coverage on it (in some areas they only have 2G/3G on 1900MHz).

    T-Mobile only had 1900MHz, but in the mid-late 2000s they really needed a 3G network. They didn't have enough 1900MHz to have both 2G and 3G networks on the same frequency, so they bid on what was available soonest - AWS/1700MHz.
    Carriers I've used: Sprint, T-Mobile, Cricket, AT&T, Verizon, Page Plus, Virgin Mobile, Movistar, AT&T Mexico, Telcel, Straight Talk, RingPlus.
    Phones I've used: iPhone 6S, iPhone 5c, HTC One M9, Samsung Galaxy S3, LG G2, BlackBerry Storm, Nokia 820, Motorola Atrix HD, iPhone 4S, HTC One V, iPhone 4, Nokia Lumia 900, Nokia N9, Samsung Focus, Samsung Captivate, Nokia N900, HTC 8525, iPhone 3GS, iPhone, Nokia E61i, Siemens A56...

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    San Diego
    Posts
    4,393
    Carrier(s)
    ·T···Mobile·
    Feedback Score
    0

    Re: Why didn't T-Mobile originally use 850/1900mhz for 3G?

    In most places, I don't have a problem with building penetration. A properly built out pcs network should overcome that.

    Sent from my Nexus 7 using HowardForums

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Indiana, USA
    Posts
    453
    Carrier(s)
    AT&T
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Volaris View Post
    The 850MHz band is old, back from analog networks, so mostly the oldest/established networks (AT&T And Verizon) have it. There isn't enough of it for everyone to have nationwide coverage with it - even Verizon and AT&T don't have nationwide coverage on it (in some areas they only have 2G/3G on 1900MHz).

    T-Mobile only had 1900MHz, but in the mid-late 2000s they really needed a 3G network. They didn't have enough 1900MHz to have both 2G and 3G networks on the same frequency, so they bid on what was available soonest - AWS/1700MHz.
    This was the answer I was looking for. Thanks

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 28
    Last Post: 03-29-2012, 10:41 PM
  2. Replies: 16
    Last Post: 01-07-2008, 07:07 PM
  3. Replies: 35
    Last Post: 09-25-2007, 09:15 PM
  4. Replies: 16
    Last Post: 06-10-2006, 01:06 PM
  5. Replies: 15
    Last Post: 04-11-2005, 04:01 PM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks