Results 1 to 15 of 15

Thread: Is Solo still alive?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    24
    Carrier(s)
    Fido
    Feedback Score
    0
    vBActivity - Stats
    vBActivity - Bars

    Is Solo still alive?

    Here's my problem...

    Bell's LTE coverage is many, many times greater than Rogers, at least in the areas I looked in (around Toronto).

    I'm having problems with Rogers in the same area, notably the east side of the GTA on my drive home to Oshawa.

    Our cottage gets basically no coverage from Rogers, but I see that there are three Bell towers in the area, and generally speaking the area around Algonquin is far better served by Bell.

    But Bell's plans aren't the ones I need.

    Solo's are. Their "top end" $50 plan with the flex data is precisely what I want.

    So does it still exist? I see conflicting reports that Solo no longer accepts new contracts.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    139
    Device(s)
    Samsung S8, iPhone 7 Plus
    Carrier(s)
    Rogers, Freedom Mobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    vBActivity - Stats
    vBActivity - Bars
    Solo is finished. Virgin Mobile is also Bell though.

    Name:  solo.jpg
Views: 570
Size:  77.7 KB

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Thornhill, ON
    Posts
    25,529
    Carrier(s)
    Bell
    Feedback Score
    21 (100%)
    vBActivity - Stats
    vBActivity - Bars

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    592
    Device(s)
    SoftBank 707SC, Neonode N2, Altacel OT-710D
    Carrier(s)
    Telus CDMA... for now
    Feedback Score
    0
    vBActivity - Stats
    vBActivity - Bars
    What happens with old, deactivated Solo CDMA phones? Can you take those to Bell or VM, or are they just paperweights?
    Tracfone W175g is IMPOSSIBLE to flash. If you don't want to use it with Trac, it's WORTHLESS. Stop PM'ing me!

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    24
    Carrier(s)
    Fido
    Feedback Score
    0
    vBActivity - Stats
    vBActivity - Bars
    *sigh*

    Bell's plans simply aren't as good, and Virgin, from what I can tell, is basically identical. Virgin has a few more "gap fillers" but the plans are otherwise the same.

    I'd stick with Fido, but there seem to be real problems with data throughput these days, and coverage at the cottage is definitely an issue.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Thornhill, ON
    Posts
    25,529
    Carrier(s)
    Bell
    Feedback Score
    21 (100%)
    vBActivity - Stats
    vBActivity - Bars
    Quote Originally Posted by JusticePain View Post
    What happens with old, deactivated Solo CDMA phones? Can you take those to Bell or VM, or are they just paperweights?
    Paperweights

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    7,291
    Carrier(s)
    Koodo (03/2015-present)
    Feedback Score
    0
    vBActivity - Stats
    vBActivity - Bars
    I noticed the other days that Superstore on Grandview still has a bunch of Solo Mobile SIM cards hanging on the rack, and plan brochures nearby. Is it safe to assume those are useless too? They're not exactly heavy enough to be paperweights...

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Black Hole
    Posts
    3,922
    Carrier(s)
    Chat-r; PC Mobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    vBActivity - Stats
    vBActivity - Bars

    Re: Is Solo still alive?

    Yes, I see Solo sim cards on display at Superstore in Richmond, may be Vancouver also. Funny may be people buy them as souvenirs? Not me, after the horrible activation fiasco before, which I documented here.

    Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using HowardForums
    No longer on a leash by Fido

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    7,393
    Device(s)
    Nexus 6
    Carrier(s)
    The Big-T
    Feedback Score
    0
    vBActivity - Stats
    vBActivity - Bars

    Re: Is Solo still alive?

    Just go for telus/koodo. Same network.

    Sent from my SGH-I317M using HowardForums

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    10,237
    Feedback Score
    3 (100%)
    vBActivity - Stats
    vBActivity - Bars

    Re: Is Solo still alive?

    Quote Originally Posted by xtachx View Post
    Just go for telus/koodo. Same network.

    Sent from my SGH-I317M using HowardForums
    I think you mean Bell/Virgin

    Sent from my SGH-I317M using HowardForums

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    7,291
    Carrier(s)
    Koodo (03/2015-present)
    Feedback Score
    0
    vBActivity - Stats
    vBActivity - Bars
    I'm not saying I**want**to activate on Solo, just that it's odd to see the SIMs out if they aren't taking new customers.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    7,393
    Device(s)
    Nexus 6
    Carrier(s)
    The Big-T
    Feedback Score
    0
    vBActivity - Stats
    vBActivity - Bars

    Re: Is Solo still alive?

    Quote Originally Posted by Mr Mystery View Post
    I think you mean Bell/Virgin

    Sent from my SGH-I317M using HowardForums
    All 4 actually

    Sent from my SGH-I317M using HowardForums

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    7,291
    Carrier(s)
    Koodo (03/2015-present)
    Feedback Score
    0
    vBActivity - Stats
    vBActivity - Bars
    I guess that since Solo is HSPA only, that's true, same network. The roaming agreements are not all the same though.

    I got curious and called Solo to ask. They said the SIM cards indeed cannot be activated on a new account, but are still for sale as replacements for existing customers (e.g. if they have a CDMA phone and want to switch to HSPA, or if their SIM is damaged).

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    GTA
    Posts
    6,398
    Device(s)
    Blackberry Z30, Blackberry Q10, Galaxy Nexus
    Carrier(s)
    Fido
    Feedback Score
    1 (100%)
    vBActivity - Stats
    vBActivity - Bars
    Quote Originally Posted by JusticePain View Post
    What happens with old, deactivated Solo CDMA phones? Can you take those to Bell or VM, or are they just paperweights?
    Phone will work on Bell / Virgin but will be difficult to get a dealer to activate it (& do you really want to use an old CDMA phone?)

    Quote Originally Posted by cmstlist View Post
    I'm not saying I**want**to activate on Solo, just that it's odd to see the SIMs out if they aren't taking new customers.
    SIMs are for existing clients that need upgrades / replacement SIMs
    It is sad I need to state the obvious but some people just don't get it. Any posts I make are my own OPINIONS and in no way represent the views of my employer

  15. #15
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    394
    Feedback Score
    0
    vBActivity - Stats
    vBActivity - Bars
    Quote Originally Posted by Maury Markowitz View Post
    But Bell's plans aren't the ones I need.

    Solo's are. Their "top end" $50 plan with the flex data is precisely what I want.
    Virgin and Koodo also provide this very same $50 plan with flex data; you don't need Solo for that. (If you click on the "Silver" section on Virgin's site, click the right arrow on screen to see it.)

    Personally I would pay $10 more to get the 2GB data. If you have your own phone, you get 10% off (thus $54 + tax).

Similar Threads

  1. Grandfathered txt plans still alive!
    By mikey626 in forum T-Mobile
    Replies: 25
    Last Post: 01-10-2010, 11:23 AM
  2. Michael Jackson still alive?
    By matrix2004 in forum The Lounge
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 08-27-2009, 01:19 AM
  3. Is Customer Service (611) Still Alive?
    By rasmith3530 in forum USCellular
    Replies: 34
    Last Post: 05-23-2009, 02:08 AM
  4. Palm is STILL alive, watchout RIM!
    By GregGebhardt in forum BlackBerry
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 06-04-2007, 08:42 PM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks