Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 41

Thread: Alltel About To Cancel My Service Due To Voice Roaming?!

  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Gaffney/Spartanburg, SC
    Posts
    83
    Device(s)
    LG AX4270
    Carrier(s)
    ALLTEL Divested (SID 114, NID 7) & Also Force Roam On Verizon (SID 139, NID 103)
    Feedback Score
    0

    Alltel About To Cancel My Service Due To Voice Roaming?!

    Well I just got a message from Alltel this morning about a "wireless data card."
    I don't have a phone or wireless device with data capabilities of any kind with my Alltel service.

    So I called the number they told me to call 1-877-573-4199 and select option 3.

    A lady answered after 5 minutes on hold
    (and a loop every 10 seconds saying my call will be answered ASAP).

    I told the lady how I don't have any Wireless Data, never did (I don't even have text)
    and I think the call was in error. She put me on hold to check.

    After a few minutes she asked me if I ever moved from my home address.
    I said no, I've lived at the same address for 7 years now,
    and I've been an Alltel customer for 6 of those years.

    She asked me if I've made any trips outside my coverage area recently.
    I said no, but I sometimes travel not far to neighboring Spartanburg County SC (used to be native Alltel)
    but I still reside in Gaffney, which stayed Alltel. I live about 5 miles from the county line.
    She put me on hold to check her info again.

    After another 5 minutes she informed me that I live in a "fringe area" and that
    Alltel can not continue to provide service to (just) my line,
    the other 2 lines are not affected and one of those is even under contract.
    She said I have until February 6th to "find another provider to port my number to."

    Now here's where I have a problem. I've been with Alltel happily for....6 years,
    and I've always paid my bill on time, they've never had any problems
    with me using my phone a lot, and now they do. I've actually been using my phone alot less
    than this time last year, from like 10,000 minutes a month to about 4,000.
    They never said anything when I was using my phone over 10,000 minutes
    almost every month in 2006-2011. Most of those months were about 30-50% roaming.

    I do not want to give them up, I like my service and have stayed with them,
    loyally, even through the uncertainty with the merger

    Since the other 2 lines are not affected it sounds like I can just add a line on my account
    (with a different number) and keep my Alltel service. Though I don't really wanna change my number,
    I may have to if I wanna stay with them. Still makes no sense of the sudden turning on the customer.

    I have an LG AX4270 phone, it is not capable of data or pix, and text is disabled, I only use it to talk.
    I'm gonna head to the Alltel store in Gaffney today directly to see if I could straighten any of this out.
    I really cannot believe they could just flip on a loyal customer (with the same phone even) for 6 years.
    CDMA....Coming soon to a tower near you!
    Alltel user since September 5, 2006 - I'm proud to still be with them !!!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    643
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by KyleMelissa22 View Post
    Well I just got a message from Alltel this morning about a "wireless data card."
    I don't have a phone or wireless device with data capabilities of any kind with my Alltel service.

    So I called the number they told me to call 1-877-573-4199 and select option 3.

    A lady answered after 5 minutes on hold
    (and a loop every 10 seconds saying my call will be answered ASAP).

    I told the lady how I don't have any Wireless Data, never did (I don't even have text)
    and I think the call was in error. She put me on hold to check.

    After a few minutes she asked me if I ever moved from my home address.
    I said no, I've lived at the same address for 7 years now,
    and I've been an Alltel customer for 6 of those years.

    She asked me if I've made any trips outside my coverage area recently.
    I said no, but I sometimes travel not far to neighboring Spartanburg County SC (used to be native Alltel)
    but I still reside in Gaffney, which stayed Alltel. I live about 5 miles from the county line.
    She put me on hold to check her info again.

    After another 5 minutes she informed me that I live in a "fringe area" and that
    Alltel can not continue to provide service to (just) my line,
    the other 2 lines are not affected and one of those is even under contract.
    She said I have until February 6th to "find another provider to port my number to."

    Now here's where I have a problem. I've been with Alltel happily for....6 years,
    and I've always paid my bill on time, they've never had any problems
    with me using my phone a lot, and now they do. I've actually been using my phone alot less
    than this time last year, from like 10,000 minutes a month to about 4,000.
    They never said anything when I was using my phone over 10,000 minutes
    almost every month in 2006-2011. Most of those months were about 30-50% roaming.

    I do not want to give them up, I like my service and have stayed with them,
    loyally, even through the uncertainty with the merger

    Since the other 2 lines are not affected it sounds like I can just add a line on my account
    (with a different number) and keep my Alltel service. Though I don't really wanna change my number,
    I may have to if I wanna stay with them. Still makes no sense of the sudden turning on the customer.

    I have an LG AX4270 phone, it is not capable of data or pix, and text is disabled, I only use it to talk.
    I'm gonna head to the Alltel store in Gaffney today directly to see if I could straighten any of this out.
    I really cannot believe they could just flip on a loyal customer (with the same phone even) for 6 years.
    They probably have some stipulation against roaming excessively. From the sounds of it, you do use thousands of roaming minutes...

    But hopefully they'll be lenient and more agreeable in person, and won't cancel your line. Good luck.

    Sent from my HTC Panache using HowardForums

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    1069/1473
    Posts
    1,112
    Device(s)
    ATNI Alltel: HTC, Telular Box, V262
    Carrier(s)
    ATT, Alltel (ATNI), Verizon, Globalstar
    Feedback Score
    0
    I just received the same call.
    They are canceling one line of my service Feb 6th and there is no corrective action I can take to prevent it.

    They are crediting my account a $150 equiptment fee and one month of service.

    Thats it, lights out Feb 6th. No written notice, just an automated call.
    Still using a 3 watt analog bag phone in 2011!

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Gaffney/Spartanburg, SC
    Posts
    83
    Device(s)
    LG AX4270
    Carrier(s)
    ALLTEL Divested (SID 114, NID 7) & Also Force Roam On Verizon (SID 139, NID 103)
    Feedback Score
    0
    Well I just got back from the local Alltel store (Gaffney SC). and I explained as soon as I walked in the door to one of the reps,
    how I got a call about a "wireless data card" though I've never used any data on any Alltel phone or device, ever. Also about the termination of service on Feb 6, and how I don't really leave town too much.

    There were about 5 reps in the store, and all couldn't believe it either. The one rep who serviced me looked at my account history and saw that I'm in good standing, and assured me not to worry, "it's a huge mistake" and she asked for my name and number so she can give it to her manager. I kept saying I'm very worried about it, but she told me it should be able to be fixed without a problem.

    It's not like I moved to an area of the country where there was never Alltel, and by the way, I'm not in a fringe area, I have the ability to use Alltel towers with a good signal, and have access to a local store in case of problems like this. They are just suddenly doing this outta nowhere and I've had them for 6 years, loyally, and never been late on my bills. Thats where I have a big problem about this whole thing. It can't just suddenly be a problem, they had 6 years to say something.

    Also, as my father today pointed out, they decreased the "home native" Alltel system in my area from the whole state of SC to just my county when they merged, that is their fault not mine, They notified me that "the coverage area would not change." I haven't changed my ways, if anything, usage has gone down. This whole thing is just crazy and they are really testing the patience of the most loyal customers...maybe they wanna be out of business. We'll see if talking to them in person today will fix this, it seems like it will, but if not I'll get $150 back plus 1 month of service on my line, so that's $220-$250 total and I could just change the number and keep Alltel service on this phone (worst case) or I'd have to port it if I want the same number. Hopefully they'll fix it as they say, we'll see what happens.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Chester, IL
    Posts
    7,063
    Device(s)
    iPhone X 64 GB Silver
    Carrier(s)
    Verizon Unlimited
    Feedback Score
    0
    That's why I want these clowns to sell out to either AT&T or USCC.

    Can't get any worse than that. My condolences but I can't ever go to Alltel either under these circumstances given that I also live in a fringe area for Alltel. I got heat for my GTFO Alltel stance on the other thread but I feel much better about it after reading this and seeing an empty Alltel store in Carbondale today then seeing a packed Verizon store and a fairly busy AT&T kiosk at University Mall. Honestly I feel bad for the employees. They're getting screwed one way or another.
    Have you read the forum rules lately?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Tampa
    Posts
    4,008
    Carrier(s)
    verizon
    Feedback Score
    0
    The problem is that the original Alltel sold to Verizon. The new company can not afford to offer roaming like the. original Alltel could. I think at this point you would be better off going with Verizon and not have to worry about roaming minutes anymore. I feel that the new owners of Alltel are going to have a really tough time staying in business with such a really small coverage area.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Gaffney/Spartanburg, SC
    Posts
    83
    Device(s)
    LG AX4270
    Carrier(s)
    ALLTEL Divested (SID 114, NID 7) & Also Force Roam On Verizon (SID 139, NID 103)
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by tim33 View Post
    The problem is that the original Alltel sold to Verizon. The new company can not afford to offer roaming like the original Alltel could.
    The terms and conditions do not change just because the management of the markets does (at least thats what they've been saying since the beginnings of the merger). and besides, the roaming agreements are the same, a stipulation so that the merger could take place. The way they make it sound to the customers is that we are still Alltel (for 25 years) and expect "the same great service."

    Well nothing is exactly the same, many things have changed with the company since last summer, but they acquired the markets about 8 months before that. When they acquired the markets they did assume the responsibilities and terms that were already in place, such as nationwide roaming with the same rates that the old "Alltel Corp" paid.

    Quote Originally Posted by tim33 View Post
    I feel that the new owners of Alltel are going to have a really tough time staying in business with such a really small coverage area.
    Again Alltel has been saying how the "coverage will remain the same" but that is definitely not true obviously. The full native area has decreased to just my county (Cherokee SC) and what used to be Alltel towers in neighboring Spartanburg are now Verizon's. That is not my fault. Anybody would agree. I shouldn't have to now limit my phone usage when I leave the county, when I never had to before. They're the same exact towers. But I will if I have to in order to remain a customer.

    Also they do not define excessive anywhere on their site or even in the knowledge of their reps. I've asked many Alltel reps many times in the past about my amount of usage and they told me it was never a problem. So I know I'm right on this one. In the Alltel store they're hopefully seeing it my way, as it appears they did yesterday. Again we'll see what happens there...they told me not to worry.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Chester, IL
    Posts
    7,063
    Device(s)
    iPhone X 64 GB Silver
    Carrier(s)
    Verizon Unlimited
    Feedback Score
    0
    KyleMelissa22, my recommendation would be....Sprint.

    Fairly cheap, unlimited data, and Alltel is mostly roaming off of Sprint towers in their new PRL's. Alltel has also taken the very unfortunate choice of 2GB for $30 tiered data. They don't have The Network so needless to say, they made another dumb decision. At least go to 4GB for the same rate. They're a discount carrier anyway, this pricing is dumb dumb dumb!
    Last edited by fraydog; 01-25-2012 at 12:17 PM.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Gaffney/Spartanburg, SC
    Posts
    83
    Device(s)
    LG AX4270
    Carrier(s)
    ALLTEL Divested (SID 114, NID 7) & Also Force Roam On Verizon (SID 139, NID 103)
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by fraydog View Post
    KyleMelissa22, my recommendation would be....Sprint.

    Fairly cheap, unlimited data, and Alltel is mostly roaming off of Sprint towers in their new PRL's. Alltel has also taken the very unfortunate choice of 2GB for $30 tiered data. They don't have The Network so needless to say, they made another dumb decision. At least go to 4GB for the same rate. They're a discount carrier anyway, this pricing is dumb dumb dumb!
    Sprint signal at my house (and most of my area) does not work well or at all, so that would never work, I've known this for many years. My phone is set to roam on Verizon (and former Alltel towers) when I goto Spartanburg about 10 miles away. I've voiced my concern many times in the past about using my phone in these former Alltel areas, even excess usage, and many Alltel reps have told me don't ever worry about it. I do not want or need data on a phone at this time.

    By the way I spent many hours over the past 3 days trying to fix it,
    there is no avoiding the Offline Department.
    I was able to open a trouble ticket from customer service,
    lets see how that helps.

    In the meantime I'll have 3 options now:
    1. Keep pushing relentlessly for this to get fixed, which it may, we'll have to see.
    2. Port my number (or all lines) to a different provider (likely Straight talk CDMA), which I don't wanna do because I'll have to get a new phone and pay $90 + tax for 2 lines unlimited, which I currently pay $40 for 2 lines with unlimited My Circle (as an agreement with my father also on the account.)
    3. If it doesn't get fixed, I'll likely keep the account, and just add a new line, with a different number, but using the same phone (or a new phone which I also have as a backup). There is no way they can stop me from adding another line, maybe they can block the ESN of my current phone, but not my new (backup) phone.

    I'm hoping for option 1, but if not, I'll go for option 3.

    Theres alot of customers dealing with this issue, my local Alltel store said about 4 other people just in my town have come forth so far with this problem. Seriously I wish the company would just stop trying to lose their customers any way they can if they wanna stay in business. I know it costs decent money to the carriers for roaming, but at least they can pass the cost on, because losing a customer means their customer base gets 1 number closer to zero, and hurts their image (since negative word will spread about them).

  10. #10
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    1,392
    Carrier(s)
    AT&T, verizon
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by KyleMelissa22 View Post
    Sprint signal at my house (and most of my area) does not work well or at all, so that would never work, I've known this for many years. My phone is set to roam on Verizon (and former Alltel towers) when I goto Spartanburg about 10 miles away. I've voiced my concern many times in the past about using my phone in these former Alltel areas, even excess usage, and many Alltel reps have told me don't ever worry about it. I do not want or need data on a phone at this time.

    By the way I spent many hours over the past 3 days trying to fix it,
    there is no avoiding the Offline Department.
    I was able to open a trouble ticket from customer service,
    lets see how that helps.

    In the meantime I'll have 3 options now:
    1. Keep pushing relentlessly for this to get fixed, which it may, we'll have to see.
    2. Port my number (or all lines) to a different provider (likely Straight talk CDMA), which I don't wanna do because I'll have to get a new phone and pay $90 + tax for 2 lines unlimited, which I currently pay $40 for 2 lines with unlimited My Circle (as an agreement with my father also on the account.)
    3. If it doesn't get fixed, I'll likely keep the account, and just add a new line, with a different number, but using the same phone (or a new phone which I also have as a backup). There is no way they can stop me from adding another line, maybe they can block the ESN of my current phone, but not my new (backup) phone.

    I'm hoping for option 1, but if not, I'll go for option 3.

    Theres alot of customers dealing with this issue, my local Alltel store said about 4 other people just in my town have come forth so far with this problem. Seriously I wish the company would just stop trying to lose their customers any way they can if they wanna stay in business. I know it costs decent money to the carriers for roaming, but at least they can pass the cost on, because losing a customer means their customer base gets 1 number closer to zero, and hurts their image (since negative word will spread about them).
    Why are you working so diligently to stay with a phone company that just told you they do not want your business?

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Chester, IL
    Posts
    7,063
    Device(s)
    iPhone X 64 GB Silver
    Carrier(s)
    Verizon Unlimited
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by kneedragger32 View Post
    Why are you working so diligently to stay with a phone company that just told you they do not want your business?
    Cost. I'm assuming T-Mobile, the national leader isn't big for coverage in Gaffney, SC. A move to Verizon or AT&T would be a big cost increase.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Gaffney/Spartanburg, SC
    Posts
    83
    Device(s)
    LG AX4270
    Carrier(s)
    ALLTEL Divested (SID 114, NID 7) & Also Force Roam On Verizon (SID 139, NID 103)
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by kneedragger32 View Post
    Why are you working so diligently to stay with a phone company that just told you they do not want your business?
    Quote Originally Posted by fraydog View Post
    Cost. I'm assuming T-Mobile, the national leader isn't big for coverage in Gaffney, SC. A move to Verizon or AT&T would be a big cost increase.
    Cost & Coverage are the big reasons. Simply put. I also have been with them for 6 years. When I tell them I've been a customer for that long they don't say "well Alltel as you knew it is no more" or "we've only been in business for 1 year" they agree with me and can see on their side I've been with them since 2006.

    Also there is nothing stopping me from porting the number from Alltel, and then porting it right back under a new line on my same account. I'll still technically be a customer (with 2 other lines on the account) so adding a line shouldn't be a problem. I may try this in the next week or so if my other corrective actions don't fix the issue, we'll see.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    NW Georgia
    Posts
    928
    Device(s)
    HTC Thunderbolt
    Carrier(s)
    Verizon (Alltel Plan)
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by KyleMelissa22 View Post
    Cost & Coverage are the big reasons. Simply put. I also have been with them for 6 years. When I tell them I've been a customer for that long they don't say "well Alltel as you knew it is no more" or "we've only been in business for 1 year" they agree with me and can see on their side I've been with them since 2006.
    When you speak of THEM seeing you have been a customer since 2006, they are sale reps. Nothing more. They have zippo say in what corporate is going to do.

    In fact Alltel and all other companies CAN and DO change TOS. They must give notice, they have, and let you go without an ETF, They are. Alltel that we knew and loved is no more. For this company to survive they need to stop the bleeding. Unfortunately, to do so, they are also alienating what few customers they do have.

    I looked up revenue for Alltel. in the 3rd quarter of 2011, revenue from retail services dropped $20 million from the 3rd quarter of 2010. Not good for a industry where revenue is going up sharply due to data.

    Here is some add'l info

    MAR 2011 JUN 2011 SEP 2011
    Beginning sub number 717,745 674,080 638,839
    Ending sub number 674,080 638,839 592,620

    Net Additions of subs (43,665) (35,241) (46,219)

    Basically Alltel is bleeding subs
    Last edited by budone; 01-26-2012 at 05:02 PM. Reason: Add'l info

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    1069/1473
    Posts
    1,112
    Device(s)
    ATNI Alltel: HTC, Telular Box, V262
    Carrier(s)
    ATT, Alltel (ATNI), Verizon, Globalstar
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by kneedragger32 View Post
    Why are you working so diligently to stay with a phone company that just told you they do not want your business?
    I totally agree and have been telling him this. I cant wait take my business somewhere else. In this economy these companies need to be doing everything possible to keep customers happy.

    People move and tend to keep their phones and numbers. Where I work several people have out of state numbers. Its not a problem, if Alltel wants to make it and issue and cut customers off with 10 days notice they will fail.

    What if someone being cut off has poor credit and cant afford the deposite or phone price to establish service with a different carrier?

    If I were an Alltel employee watching these actions and numbers I wouldnt feel secure that my job would last.

    This is how poor the opperation of Alltel is, the day after I was told I was being canceled the Alltel store called me and told me I could upgrade. Wow! Get it together!!!

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Chester, IL
    Posts
    7,063
    Device(s)
    iPhone X 64 GB Silver
    Carrier(s)
    Verizon Unlimited
    Feedback Score
    0
    I'm kind of thinking USCC would be a good fit taking this over too. They go out of their way to make customers happy.

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 11-20-2007, 01:51 PM
  2. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 10-05-2005, 10:34 AM
  3. Questions about cancelling SPCS Service
    By magiteck in forum Sprint
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 10-02-2005, 01:04 PM
  4. Question about Cancellation of service
    By chopsticks in forum Verizon Wireless
    Replies: 19
    Last Post: 08-18-2005, 02:09 AM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks