Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 4 LastLast

Thread: Moving to US - best carrier / device?

Device(s)
    iPhone 4
    Carrier(s)
    Rogers
    Feedback Score

Moving to US - best carrier / device?

So I don't even know which forum to post this question in, since it's not really specific to any one carrier... I'm moving to the US and want some advice on which carrier I should go with, and what device you recommend? I'm a tech geek, so getting a really solid device is important to me. That said... I'm leaving an iphone 4 at home and really don't care to go iphone again. It might end up going that way, since I have accessories and purchased apps already, but I just feel so restricted in the iphone world.

As for carriers, I figured people in this forum would have both good and bad things to say about verizon, and since it's hofo I'm sure you know about the other carriers too. Important to me are:

Enough data that I don't have to worry about going over
    I don't mind lower "anytime" minutes if it's balanced with an early free evening/weekend offering
    Tethering would be really nice to have

So... suggestions?

Oh! And a big reason I'm thinking about moving away from the iphone is to go 4G, and Apple just isn't there yet.

Device(s)
    A
    Carrier(s)
    A
    Feedback Score
    Where in the U.S are you moving to? That's the most important question that you need to answer right now. Each carrier has their own spots where they have excellent service and not-so-excellent service. How much traveling would you be doing as well? Try looking at the coverage maps of the carriers and from there, you can rule out any carriers that wouldn't provide coverage in the areas you need it, such as at work, home, the commute in between, etc.

What would you expect to do with your phone? Sprint is currently the only nationwide carrier to still offer unlimited data. Your needs will help determine which data plan would be best for your needs.

Device(s)
    iPhone 4
    Carrier(s)
    Rogers