Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Public IP's?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    9
    Feedback Score
    0

    Public IP's?

    Hi Group,

    With Verizon thinking about coming to Sprint. The reason....

    Our main internet connection can only be accomplished with a air card. At this time I have a Verizon 3G card/USB modem. A longer short story. I also have a CCTV system that I need to be able to connect to remotely. So my modem.service must get "Public" IP addresses to allow the remote connection to my CCTV camera system.

    I went with Verizon about 1.5 years ago and their 3G device worked very well for me. When their 3G/4G service was first offer I switched to it and it also worked for me, but only for 3 months. The first 3 months the 3G/4G device did give me the public IP's I needed but in March 2010 Verizon made a change and now their 3G/4G system only connects with privet IP's that connect with an IP that looks like 10.###.###.##.

    So I had to switch back to my old 3G device and plan to get my system working again.


    I have been told that all of the Sprint broadband devices & plans can be sold with a static IP but more importantly the IP's Sprint give you are "Public IP's" that start with 75.###.###.##.

    My question to the group, is this true?

    Thanks...

    Merlin3100

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Columbus, OH
    Posts
    6,477
    Device(s)
    iPhone 6s+ 64GB
    Carrier(s)
    ·T···Mobile· USA
    Feedback Score
    0
    i think that by default they come with a private routable address, but you can pay (something like $5 i think) to get a public IP address if need be
    Left: Verizon Unlimited LTE, Right: WideOpenWest 500/50

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    9
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by brad15 View Post
    i think that by default they come with a private routable address, but you can pay (something like $5 i think) to get a public IP address if need be
    1st)
    When you say "Private Routable", What do you mean? I understand the Private part somewhat. How it has applied to me is With the Private IP I was getting from Verizon I could sit at my home PC on the LAN side of my router and do all of the surfacing I wanted. But I could not access my equipment from a remote location.

    2nd)
    I know 100% I can buy for $3 per month with Sprint a "Static IP" that never changes, I just wonder if this static IP will also be a Public IP that will let me access my equipment from anywhere with internet access?

    R...

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    9
    Feedback Score
    0
    I'm told by some IT tech's that I do highly respect that insure me that with Sprint the $3 per month static IP will be a public one. What I hate the non-conformity when I call the Sprint tech support and at first there not sure how to answer my IP questions but then always default to, They do not think the IP is a public one.

    When I'm talking to the Sprint tech's I can tell that they are really not sure about their answer and I guess they are taking the safe rout by telling me they don't think the IP will be what I need.

    But tell me if this is so, one of the things that is keeping me from making the Sprint leep is that I heard they did not treat some of their old customers right when they made some changes with their old unlimited plans. I'm told Sprint would no longer honer their old unlimited plans and they did not do any grandfathering in with anyone. Is this true? If it is Sprint is the first provider that has done this to their customers.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Columbus, OH
    Posts
    6,477
    Device(s)
    iPhone 6s+ 64GB
    Carrier(s)
    ·T···Mobile· USA
    Feedback Score
    0
    it is a publicly accessible IP and will be accessible from anywhere, i added hotspot to my phone and selected the $3 option to get a Public IP, and i was able to ping my laptop and access my HTML server from my desktop attached to my cable modem no problem

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    9
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by brad15 View Post
    it is a publicly accessible IP and will be accessible from anywhere, i added hotspot to my phone and selected the $3 option to get a Public IP, and i was able to ping my laptop and access my HTML server from my desktop attached to my cable modem no problem
    Hi brad15,
    can you tell me what plan and device you have?

    3G or 3G/4G plan?

    Thanks

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 26
    Last Post: 04-25-2003, 02:38 AM
  2. public gateways
    By snowdall in forum AT&T
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 04-28-2002, 02:54 PM
  3. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 04-16-2002, 12:53 AM
  4. Replies: 11
    Last Post: 03-30-2002, 07:46 PM
  5. Posting in Public Newsgroup
    By TM in forum TELUS/Koodo/Public Mobile
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 05-08-2001, 08:28 AM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks