Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: Unlocking MetroPcs phone and using it for another carrier

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    1
    Feedback Score
    0

    Unlocking MetroPcs phone and using it for another carrier

    Hi i have this MetroPcs Samsung Galaxy Indulge and im tired of MetroPcs and its crappy service. I want to switch to a prepaid plan At&t offers for 25 a month and unlimited text and 250 minutes or so. I want to know if someone can tell me how to unlock this phone if possible and use it for At&t without letting it crash my phone and etc. Thanks

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    3,626
    Device(s)
    HTC Evo [Afflicted Evo 2.3.3]
    Carrier(s)
    MetroPCS
    Feedback Score
    0
    Short answer is no cdma LTE is not gsm compatible

    Sent from my PC36100 using Tapatalk
    Code Name: L0GiC4L 3ViL
    Status: Metro Mafia®
    Quote: "Make love not war... Contribute dont leech.My insane logic gets the job done..."
    Latest Exploits:
    evo full flash (yes mms works), samsung intercept web (ask around), moto droid full flash
    Next Hijack: AFFLICTION ROM




    11/4 3000th post

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Around the corner
    Posts
    1,792
    Device(s)
    LG Esteem
    Carrier(s)
    METRO PCS
    Feedback Score
    0
    ^^^ exactly what he said ur better off buying a walkie talkie.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    184
    Carrier(s)
    Metro
    Feedback Score
    0

    His main point is he wants to leave Metro service

    His main point is he wants to leave Metro service. Aren't there are CDMA based providers where his phone will work, even that ATT won't because it is GSM technology, while Metropcs is CDMA technology? some of the dealers want people to think that their phone will only work with Metropcs.

    I'm looking at leaving Metro too because where I live 3G is just too slow. And given the options, $50 seems too high for that level of slow and unavailable 3G.

    I believe the list includes, Sprint, BoostMobile, Cricket, maybe more

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    292
    Carrier(s)
    MetroPCS
    Feedback Score
    0
    Someone could provision it to talk & text on another carrier's CDMA network but no one could provision it on another carrier's LTE network.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    metro Atlanta area
    Posts
    3,527
    Device(s)
    Moto Maxx (XT1225, LG Nexus 5 (LG-D820)
    Carrier(s)
    AT&T GoPhone
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Class View Post
    His main point is he wants to leave Metro service. Aren't there are CDMA based providers where his phone will work, even that ATT won't because it is GSM technology, while Metropcs is CDMA technology? some of the dealers want people to think that their phone will only work with Metropcs.

    I'm looking at leaving Metro too because where I live 3G is just too slow. And given the options, $50 seems too high for that level of slow and unavailable 3G.

    I believe the list includes, Sprint, BoostMobile, Cricket, maybe more
    But you will need a carrier CDMA that will take flagged phones.

    Sprint/Virgin won't. Verizon won't. They make you buy their phones. Cricket will.
    __________
    Sent from my LTE LG Esteem (LG MS910)

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Around the corner
    Posts
    1,792
    Device(s)
    LG Esteem
    Carrier(s)
    METRO PCS
    Feedback Score
    0
    i just saw a flyer at a dollar store that cricket has made it to florida loool im gonna go to their site to confirm this. well seems they have been here for a while but so far on their site all they have are a few 3g phones like the admire which they are calling the samsung vitality lol

    http://www.mycricket.com/cell-phones..._vitality_r720

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    metro Atlanta area
    Posts
    3,527
    Device(s)
    Moto Maxx (XT1225, LG Nexus 5 (LG-D820)
    Carrier(s)
    AT&T GoPhone
    Feedback Score
    0
    Obviously I meant "flashed" phones. Stupid autocorrect. But I posted it without double checking.

    Quote Originally Posted by ChazzMatt View Post
    But you will need a carrier CDMA that will take flagged phones.

    Sprint/Virgin won't. Verizon won't. They make you buy their phones. Cricket will.
    __________
    Sent from my LTE LG Esteem (LG MS910)

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Posts
    3
    Feedback Score
    0
    I have the same problem. But maybe not, lol
    I bought a MetroPCS Samsung Exhibit T599N from a website, I only use with WI-FI and not with any service, so it didn't really matter what service it had before. I got a new phone with a contract and would like to give this one to my father. He has a contract with AT&T but his phone is about to die and he does not really qualify for a new one til next year...So long story short, can I somehow get the Samsung (was sim card operated before) unlocked for AT&T service, that my father uses ?

    I do not trust those Unlock services, and they are kinda high too, would really appreciate it if someone could help me get this done, I am about tired of searching for something I don't really have a clue about anyways...lol

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Posts
    55
    Device(s)
    Blackberry 7520
    Carrier(s)
    NEXTEL
    Feedback Score
    0
    Blowfish unlocks is the best unlocking I have used. I have unlocked more than 30 phones

    via the HoFo App
    Jason

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Posts
    66
    Feedback Score
    0
    swiftunlocks.com

    Cheapest so far

Similar Threads

  1. Buy a unlocked pda phone and use verizon?
    By Elijah1 in forum Verizon Wireless
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 10-24-2005, 07:41 PM
  2. can you buy a boost phone and use it for nextel?
    By 0pusX in forum General Nextel Discussion
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 01-26-2005, 08:50 AM
  3. unlock sprint phone and use VM account??`
    By Followurpath7 in forum Virgin Mobile USA
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 09-26-2004, 07:56 PM
  4. Replies: 14
    Last Post: 07-15-2004, 02:49 PM
  5. WANTING TO KNOW: is it possible to unlock telus phones and use them on Rogers?
    By ris-tech in forum Non GSM phone Buy/Sell/Trade
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 09-09-2003, 02:08 PM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks