Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: UMA in Cuba.

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    America!
    Posts
    2,032
    Device(s)
    Samsung Galaxy J7
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile | $10 UNLIMITED EVERYTHING + $20 SPEED BOOST
    Feedback Score
    0

    UMA in Cuba.

    Does anyone know if UMA would work in Cuba. I may be going there for some studies, I wanted to know if the internet down there will allow for VoIPs like T-Mobile's UMA service.

    Thank You,
    tmobiley
    T-Mobile. Connecting you when you need it most... disconnecting you when you need to connect with God's beautiful creation! Service is great in cities and highways, but in rural areas they leave you with just your surroundings. I encourage you to get T-Mobile, disconnect for a while!

    I am glad that God is not like cell phone coverage. He does not hide behind mountains or loose us down long windy roads. The Lord levels mountains, and He makes our paths straight!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    1,026
    Feedback Score
    0
    No reason not working Cuba!
    if you get internet with full access (at least TCP port 500/433/4500 are not blocked).
    I was in Cuba one and half year ago. UMA was fine on my BB phone in hotel!
    NO need to ask if any country UMA work or not!
    UMA works worldwide, anywhere with full internet wi-fi access
    Last edited by Androided; 10-21-2011 at 12:59 AM.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    1,066
    Feedback Score
    0
    Well, the internet is not very widespread in Cuba. Tourist hotels try to have it for foreign tourists. If you will live in a hotel, you may or may not have internet. Most ordinary citizens there have none.

    Where will you be studying. Possible that there is some kind of internet access there, but likely limited, and not comparable to the US, Europe, nor Asia.

    The government there is very concerned with restricting information. Likely many ports are blocked on any internet access that you could get. Also, they charge a very high surcharge for any kind of overseas phone calls. (Including incoming. That is why calling Cuba from Miami, 90 miles away, would cost many times more than a call to China or Germany across the world.) Therefore, they likely would block any ports used for VOIP.

    I just noticed how old this thread is. T--mobiley, if still reading, if you indeed tried using UMA in Cuba, please let us know if it worked.

Similar Threads

  1. Prepaid roaming in Cuba?
    By joako in forum General Prepaid discussion
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 01-14-2011, 04:17 AM
  2. Plans Rogers/Cuba sms plans
    By maxjaytar in forum Rogers/Fido/Chat-r
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 12-27-2010, 12:11 PM
  3. BlackBerry Cuba
    By bubbbab in forum Rogers/Fido/Chat-r
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 11-27-2010, 04:11 AM
  4. Calling in and from Cuba
    By necksys in forum TELUS/Koodo/Public Mobile
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 10-29-2010, 05:41 PM
  5. Going to cuba
    By Zlat in forum Rogers/Fido/Chat-r
    Replies: 63
    Last Post: 05-19-2009, 09:09 PM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks