Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Coverage question

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    11
    Feedback Score
    0

    Coverage question

    With an H2O GSM plan, will my voice coverage be exactly the same as shown on the AT&T coverage map? Or are there some circumstances where the coverage won't match up? Here's the AT&T map:

    http://www.wireless.att.com/coverageviewer/#?type=voice

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Jersey City
    Posts
    95
    Device(s)
    Samsung SIII
    Carrier(s)
    ATT Gophone
    Feedback Score
    0
    Well first I would say, the map you have equals Postpaid coverage, you need Gophone coverage (Prepaid) coverage to see H20
    coverage, or just to to H20wirelessnow.com and look for the map there.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    11
    Feedback Score
    0
    I didn't realize prepaid was different coverage.

    I looked at the H2O and Gophone maps, and they're the same. Unfortunately they don't go done to street level resolution like the postpaid map.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    4,274
    Carrier(s)
    AT&T GoPhone
    Feedback Score
    0
    Theres no roaming on prepaid, so the coverage is less.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    7,478
    Feedback Score
    0
    It has improved but with a caveat. There are many areas that are now only 3G Att device compatible. Most of those areas are former Alltel (cdma) areas that were easier and cheaper to convert to 3Gsm/wcdma then to rebuild from scratch with 2Gsm.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    716
    Device(s)
    64 GB iPhone 4s
    Carrier(s)
    At&t
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by fonezfonz View Post
    It has improved but with a caveat. There are many areas that are now only 3G Att device compatible. Most of those areas are former Alltel (cdma) areas that were easier and cheaper to convert to 3Gsm/wcdma then to rebuild from scratch with 2Gsm.
    So if I used an unlocked phone with AT&T 3G/4G bands or have my iPhone 4 unlocked, then I would get to use AT&T's 3G/4G coverage no problem?

Similar Threads

  1. Coverage Question
    By kprofthestars in forum Tracfone/Net10
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 05-31-2011, 11:41 PM
  2. Coverage Question
    By peppert in forum MetroPCS
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 03-27-2011, 11:14 PM
  3. Coverage question E71
    By gate115 in forum Straight Talk
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 03-10-2011, 10:38 PM
  4. question about coverage
    By dmitch21 in forum T-Mobile
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 12-01-2010, 02:14 AM
  5. EV coverage question?
    By srk468 in forum Sprint
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 03-29-2010, 07:17 PM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks