Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Additional cost for data while roaming in Mexico?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Hop, Skip, and a Jump from Tijuana, Mexico
    Posts
    839
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile
    Feedback Score
    0

    Additional cost for data while roaming in Mexico?

    Hi all,

    I have the Everything Family 1500 min Plan with 2 Blackberry 8350i.

    I live in San Diego and routinely cross the border to Tijuana, Rosarito, Ensenada, Mexicali, Tecate. All of them are in Baja California. I have never been charged extra for data.

    My question is... I'm planning several trips in the next couple of months to Mazatlan and Culiacan (both in Sinaloa), Guadalajara, and Mexico City.

    I don't have the International DC service. Will I be charged extra for Data while I'm there?

    Thanks,

    Rafster
    MOBILE HISTORY:
    TM
    * 16: Moto X Pure 64GB Black
    TM, Telcel, ATT
    * 15: Note 3, ZE600, 2720
    * 14: Galaxy Avant, Z600
    Sprint/ATT
    * 12: GS3, 2720
    Nextel/Boost/ATT
    * 10: BB8350i, 2720
    * 09: i9, BB7520
    * 08: Tilt, i450
    * 07: W810i, A707, 8125, BlackJack
    * 06: L6, Z520, 6682
    VZ/TM/ATT
    * 05: 7135, i600, V551, 6230, 6620, Z600
    * 04: V300, T610, 6035, 3390
    * 03: T720C
    * 02: Advx CDM4000, 9000, 9155GPX, Thera

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Hop, Skip, and a Jump from Tijuana, Mexico
    Posts
    839
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    http://shop2.sprint.com/en/services/...coverage.shtml

    Is that an answer to my own question?

    Thanks,

    Rafster

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Atlanta
    Posts
    1,351
    Device(s)
    Iphone X Max
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mo
    Feedback Score
    0
    Heads up also if you or anybody DC's you locally or from the US while your are in Mexico you get nailed 10 cents a minute.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Hop, Skip, and a Jump from Tijuana, Mexico
    Posts
    839
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    Right. Will probably get IDC since we're heavy DC'ers. Over 1000min each month, each of the 2 of us in just DC... We're gonna die in 2013 without iDen... :S

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    1
    Feedback Score
    0
    According to Nextel/Sprint to will be charge like 5 cents per KB.

    But I go to Guadalajara every year and I use the internet all the time and i have never been charged (I assume that it's because we're using a network with the same name... my friend used his sprint phone and next month got like $88 for data charges!!!!)

    Just don't use MMS because you will be charged for everything received or sent.

    Good luck

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Atlanta
    Posts
    1,351
    Device(s)
    Iphone X Max
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mo
    Feedback Score
    0
    Iden roaming on NII and Telus is free data. The reason it's free because they can't measure it while abroad. Since IDC and MMS requires a data IP they can't restriced it without cutting out DC and texting. Brazil just recently added internet gateways as of last year so My I930 work fne. Too bad Mexico and Brazil didn't go with Widen. Now that NII is pushing for WCDMA on different bands i wounder how they gonna do the roamer.

Similar Threads

  1. CDMA Data roaming rates in Mexico
    By jbalado86 in forum Sprint
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 09-24-2010, 12:40 AM
  2. TXT to from mexico what cost?
    By makoona in forum AT&T
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 03-28-2010, 10:40 AM
  3. Replies: 13
    Last Post: 09-01-2009, 09:37 PM
  4. Mexico roaming
    By Dark Past in forum Tmo Lounge
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 05-22-2009, 09:08 AM
  5. Sidekick plan - data roaming in Canada or Mexico allowed?
    By adam917 in forum T-Mobile prepaid
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 04-17-2009, 12:57 PM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks