Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 25

Thread: Please help me understand EDGE, GSM, WCDMA, 3G, etc.

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Posts
    110
    Feedback Score
    0

    Please help me understand EDGE, GSM, WCDMA, 3G, etc.

    I have absolutely no idea what any of these terms mean, is there a chart somewhere that explains it?

    I want to know what these EDGE, GSM, WCDMA, 3G, etc. mean so I understand what's what.

    I want an HTC HD7 but in the networks it lists:
    * HSPA/WCDMA: 900/2100 MHz
    * GSM: 850/900/1800/1900 MHz

    How do I know if this works with Rogers and if it's EDGE or 3G or whatever.

    Thanks

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    1,216
    Feedback Score
    0
    It works with Rogers 2G only.
    Want to learn more about how LTE works?
    https://productioncommunity.publicmo...ls/td-p/130581

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Posts
    110
    Feedback Score
    0
    Thanks but that doesn't answer my question as I still have absolutely no idea what 2G, 3G, or any of those other acronyms mean.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Posts
    110
    Feedback Score
    0
    Both the phone says it supports 3G and Rogers supports 3G, so I don't understand why this phone on rogers would be only 2G, but again keep in mind I haven't got the slightest clue what 2G or 3G means or refers to.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    339
    Carrier(s)
    Fido
    Feedback Score
    0
    Maybe google it a bit? Honestly wikipedia tells you everything. Just run some searches, do some reading and then ask us more specific questions.

    start here: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Gsm
    and then click on through each next generation of the technology.
    17.50 ("killer plan": 200 mins by the second, unlimited E/W from 5pm) + 10 (retention VP: 2500 SMS, CD, VM) + 30 (data plan: 6GB with tethering) - 10 (data credit)
    = $47.50 + 911 + tax
    If you're selling a good plan on Telus, Bell, or Rogers, PM me.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Posts
    110
    Feedback Score
    0
    I did search before posting but can't find all my answers.

    For example if the phone says it supports:

    * HSPA/WCDMA: 900/2100 MHz
    * GSM: 850/900/1800/1900 MHz

    How does that translate into 2G/3G/EDGE?

    And why would a 3G phone on a 3G carrier only work in 2G?

    What connection speed will I have with an HTC HD7 connected with Rogers? Would any other company in Canada allow to have 3G on the HTC HD7?

    But I'm most particularly curious to know why a 3G phone on a 3G network would work in 2G, that really sounds completely ridiculous to me.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    GTA
    Posts
    2,260
    Carrier(s)
    Koodo
    Feedback Score
    1 (100%)
    Quote Originally Posted by aab View Post
    I did search before posting but can't find all my answers.

    For example if the phone says it supports:

    * HSPA/WCDMA: 900/2100 MHz
    * GSM: 850/900/1800/1900 MHz

    How does that translate into 2G/3G/EDGE?

    And why would a 3G phone on a 3G carrier only work in 2G?

    What connection speed will I have with an HTC HD7 connected with Rogers?
    * HSPA/WCDMA: 900/2100 MHz

    Rogers's frequencies for HSPA/WCDMA: 850/1900 MHz

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/UMTS_frequency_bands
    Cell phone history:
    Motorola DPC 550 - Ericsson DF388 - Sanyo SCP-4000 - Samsung SCH-N150 - Samsung SCH-T300 - LG TM520 - LG VX-4600 - BlackBerry 6750 - BlackBerry 7250 - Samsung SGH-807 - T-Mobile Dash - Motorola RAZR - BlackBerry Bold 9000 - BlackBerry Torch 9800 - Samsung Galaxy S Captivate (rooted) - Samsung Nexus S - Samsung Galaxy S III LTE (rooted, running SlimBean 4.3) - Oppo Find 7a - Moto X Play - OnePlus 3T Midnight Black Limited Edition - Huawei P20 Pro

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    1,323
    Device(s)
    Blackberry Bold 9780
    Carrier(s)
    Telus
    Feedback Score
    0
    WCDMA and HSPA are 3G.

    Rogers uses the 850 and 1900 bands for 3G, whereas this phone does not. Rogers also has a GSM 2G network that would support your phone, but at slower data speeds.

    I'm sure there is more to it than this, but I think that is all you'd really have to know to choose a phone that works on Rogers.


    Sent via the HowardForums Android app

  9. #9
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Canada/USA
    Posts
    873
    Carrier(s)
    AT&T
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by aab View Post
    I did search before posting but can't find all my answers.

    For example if the phone says it supports:

    * HSPA/WCDMA: 900/2100 MHz
    * GSM: 850/900/1800/1900 MHz

    How does that translate into 2G/3G/EDGE?

    And why would a 3G phone on a 3G carrier only work in 2G?

    What connection speed will I have with an HTC HD7 connected with Rogers?
    2G = GSM/EDGE
    3G = WCDMA/HSPA

    Rogers operates 2G (GSM) on 850 and 1900 MHz. Rogers also operates 3G (HSPA) on 850 and 1900 MHz. That phone has GSM support in 850 and 1900 bands, so it will work in GSM (2G) mode. For 3G, it only supports 900 MHz and 2100 MHz. Those frequencies are only used in other parts of the world like Europe and Asia. So 3G will not work on Rogers.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Posts
    110
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by dcomp11 View Post
    2G = GSM/EDGE
    3G = WCDMA/HSPA

    Rogers operates 2G (GSM) on 850 and 1900 MHz. Rogers also operates 3G (HSPA) on 850 and 1900 MHz. That phone has GSM support in 850 and 1900 bands, so it will work in GSM (2G) mode. For 3G, it only supports 900 MHz and 2100 MHz. Those frequencies are only used in other parts of the world like Europe and Asia. So 3G will not work on Rogers.
    OMG this is ridiculous why couldn't it have been standard frequencies for 2G and 3G?

    So what is 2G? Is it like a 9.6K modem where I'll wait 15 minutes for a web page and 17 hours to download a 2 minute mp3?

    My 7 year old cell phone is about that speed now, does this mean from my 7 year old phone to a 2011 phone I'd see no improvement in connection speed?

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    GTA
    Posts
    2,260
    Carrier(s)
    Koodo
    Feedback Score
    1 (100%)
    Quote Originally Posted by aab View Post
    OMG this is ridiculous why couldn't it have been standard frequencies for 2G and 3G?
    What standard? LOL

    The level of ignorance in this thread is off the scale.

    BTW, newb is not someone who doesn't know something, but someone who is too lazy to research the issue himself and find the answers.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Posts
    110
    Feedback Score
    0
    As I said I did search before posting this thread, and yes I know less than nothing about cell phones.

    And by Standard I means 2G should have a dedicated frequency as well as 3G, to use the 3G frequency for 2G elsewhere and vice versa is stupid.

    Also searching for "2g speed" as I did to try and find the connection speed of 2g finds mostly unrelated information because "2g" is too short a term. Even searching "2g download speed" doesn't find a clear answer.

    So how would I find which North American carriers support 3G on the HTC HD7, if any?

    Is it the HD7 that's not made for north america? Or Rogers that doesn't support standard 3G? Or what?

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Lower Mainland
    Posts
    77
    Device(s)
    Xperia sp
    Carrier(s)
    Fido
    Feedback Score
    0

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    GTA
    Posts
    2,260
    Carrier(s)
    Koodo
    Feedback Score
    1 (100%)
    So how would I find which North American carriers support 3G on the HTC HD7, if any?
    There are none. Those are European/Asian frequencies for 3G

    Is it the HD7 that's not made for north america? Or Rogers that doesn't support standard 3G? Or what?
    There is no standard 3G. North America uses one set of frequencies for 3G, Europe and Asia use another. Your HD7 is made for Europe/Asia. But will work on Rogers 2G.

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    187
    Feedback Score
    1 (100%)
    You have to understand and appreciate technology for what it is. There isn't a global standard for everything. There are different units of measurement, different currencies, different frequencies and wireless bands, etc.

    You are on a network which doesn't sell that particular phone natively. This means that Rogers doesn't guarantee that third party equipment will work. If you bring in your own equipment and it's not compatible, that's too bad for you. Some companies release phones which are only certain bands and exclusive to certain providers. It sucks, but that's the way the wireless economy operates. You can either use something else in the meanwhile or wait until another device with the same bands used by Rogers is released... or, you can switch to a new provider.

    There are no "standards frequencies" as noted above. Some of this wireless jargon is hard to understand, but you've clearly done no homework whatsoever. It's not matter of being complicated. It's a matter of you being ignorant.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. WCDMA only or WCDMA and GSM?
    By tinaa in forum Freedom Mobile (previously Wind Mobile)
    Replies: 31
    Last Post: 01-13-2012, 11:23 AM
  2. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 11-10-2010, 11:47 AM
  3. What about WCDMA in Korea?!?
    By gmmour in forum Regional Providers and Other Providers
    Replies: 21
    Last Post: 05-06-2010, 05:30 PM
  4. Replies: 8
    Last Post: 05-18-2009, 05:09 PM
  5. Tmo going from GSM to WCDMA?
    By tmoschmo in forum T-Mobile Employees & Dealers
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 04-22-2009, 11:24 AM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks