Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 4 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 49

Thread: Holy crap, now we have capped DSL!

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    NIMbY Land
    Posts
    19,192
    Device(s)
    LG G2
    Carrier(s)
    AT&T
    Feedback Score
    0

    Holy crap, now we have capped DSL!

    AT&T will cap DSL and U-Verse internet, impose overage fees
    With the same reason they did wireless!
    How does AT&T defend the move? The company explains it will only impact two percent of consumers who use "a disproportionate amount of bandwidth," and poses the caps as an alternative to throttling transfer speeds.
    http://www.dslreports.com/shownews/E...verages-113149

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    666
    Device(s)
    Ace,V950
    Carrier(s)
    Sprint
    Feedback Score
    0
    I knew this was coming, any person that has a capped data plan on the wireless side showed att that they could do this.

    Sent via the HowardForums Android app
    Why do peole that don't have Sprint, post in Sprint forums hmmmmm ie Troll Alert

    If the economy is so bad way are you wasting $200-$2,000 with Verizon or ATT... shame shame

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Yankton
    Posts
    2,227
    Device(s)
    Current:Bold 9650
    Carrier(s)
    Alltel
    Feedback Score
    0
    What does this have to do with wireless? And what does 'caped' mean?
    This confusion can easily be avoided if you pronounce the word intended aloud. If it has a voiced Z sound, then it’s “lose.” If it has a hissy S sound, then it’s “loose.” Here are examples of correct usage: “He tends to lose his keys.” “She lets her dog run loose.”

    Loose
    not rigidly fastened or securely attached

    Lose
    to miss from one's possession or from a customary or supposed place

    Also, just because a word has an "s" at the end, doesn't mean it needs an apostrophe.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Baja California / Sinaloa
    Posts
    22,366
    Device(s)
    Apple iPhone XS Max / Apple iPhone 7
    Carrier(s)
    Pacific Bell Wireless / Verizon Wireless / AT&T MX / Movistar MX / Telcel MX
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by mick662 View Post
    What does this have to do with wireless? And what does 'caped' mean?
    Problem taken care of.
    Looks like it got moved to the correct place.

    Quote Originally Posted by FormerRuling

    DSL available...
    750k, 1.5, 3, and 6.

    Cable available...
    1, 12, 18, and 25.
    This is why I almost always prefer cable as opposed to DSL. Even if you wanted to pay more for a higher speed, chances are the CLEC/ILEC will say that the speed you want isn't possible or available in your area. At least, IMO cable offers flexibility in speed offerings that DSL can't always offer.

    Just remember, the only reason cable company is able to offer faster speeds is because cable networks are usually of the HFC (hybrid fiber-coaxial) type whereas DSL is copper only. Obviously paying more for a higher speed tier from a cable co doesn't mean you'll get that speed, but at least they're able to offer faster speeds to those willing to take a gamble.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    SF Bay Area
    Posts
    7,905
    Device(s)
    Nokia 8290 (TMO primary and site checker) / 6200 (850 roaming) / 6340i (AT&T PAYG and site checker)
    Carrier(s)
    Simple Mobile / AT&T PAYG (for backup & checking cell sites) / PagePlus (trial)
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by i0wnj00 View Post
    ... This is why I almost always prefer cable as opposed to DSL. Even if you wanted to pay more for a higher speed, chances are the CLEC/ILEC will say that the speed you want isn't possible or available in your area. At least, IMO cable offers flexibility in speed offerings that DSL can't always offer.

    Just remember, the only reason cable company is able to offer faster speeds is because cable networks are usually of the HFC (hybrid fiber-coaxial) type whereas DSL is copper only. Obviously paying more for a higher speed tier from a cable co doesn't mean you'll get that speed, but at least they're able to offer faster speeds to those willing to take a gamble.
    One nice thing about DSL is it's a lot cheaper than cable internet where AT&T competes with Comcast.

    Another nice thing is most of the data hog kiddies seem to have gone over to cable, such that our speeds have been consistently as promised at all hours over the years. Cable has seemed more prone to whole neighborhoods getting dragged down by high usage.
    AT&T and T-Mobile SF Bay Area+ Cell Sites - with Cell ID labels
    http://sfocellsites.com/
    Over 1,100 AT&T sites in the 9 Bay Area counties + San Benito, Santa Cruz and Monterey counties
    Now over 1,500 T-Mobile sites in these 12 counties

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Gulf Coast
    Posts
    15,753
    Device(s)
    Moto G7 Power, Nexus 5X
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile, PagePlus
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by gregsmith59 View Post
    One nice thing about DSL is it's a lot cheaper than cable internet where AT&T competes with Comcast.
    The basic U-verse data here is $38/mo. Basic (unmetered) cable data is $43, so it's not always that much cheaper.
    Donald Newcomb

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    SF Bay Area
    Posts
    7,905
    Device(s)
    Nokia 8290 (TMO primary and site checker) / 6200 (850 roaming) / 6340i (AT&T PAYG and site checker)
    Carrier(s)
    Simple Mobile / AT&T PAYG (for backup & checking cell sites) / PagePlus (trial)
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by DRNewcomb View Post
    The basic U-verse data here is $38/mo. Basic (unmetered) cable data is $43, so it's not always that much cheaper.
    Yeah, but that is U-verse - not the DSL I referenced.

    I pay $28 for 1.5/384 DSL, and they have pricing as low as $15 here (I think) for the 768/whatever basic service.

    For heavier users they may be nearly comparable in price, but at the low end cable doesn't even try to compete.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Baja California / Sinaloa
    Posts
    22,366
    Device(s)
    Apple iPhone XS Max / Apple iPhone 7
    Carrier(s)
    Pacific Bell Wireless / Verizon Wireless / AT&T MX / Movistar MX / Telcel MX
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by gregsmith59 View Post
    Cable has seemed more prone to whole neighborhoods getting dragged down by high usage.
    That's because each house is connected to a neighborhood node before going to the cable headend, one neighborhood will be rocking to faster speeds, while other neighborhoods drop dead.

    This unlike DSL in which each house is connected directly to the DSLAM at the CO. Companies and providers of DSL technologies have long used the inherent design of cable modem networks as a marketing tool against cable companies by proclaiming that "unlike cable, DSL isn't shared with your neighbors so you get the fastest speed".

    I would imagine that users connected to remote DSLAMs would go through the same issues that cable modem users would experience due to high usage since the remote DSLAM basically acts like a neighborhood node.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    666
    Device(s)
    Ace,V950
    Carrier(s)
    Sprint
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by mick662 View Post
    What does this have to do with wireless? And what does 'caped' mean?
    Same company, att did the same thing in the wireless side and now they will do the same thing on home internet like dsl.

    You are capped and will get charged overages, I will be canceling me DSL and home phone when this starts.

    Sent via the HowardForums Android app

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    111
    Feedback Score
    1 (100%)
    time to cancel the DSL and tether on the unlimited data plan on the cellphone lol

  11. #11
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    NIMbY Land
    Posts
    19,192
    Device(s)
    LG G2
    Carrier(s)
    AT&T
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by rilharri View Post
    Same company, att did the same thing in the wireless side and now they will do the same thing on home internet like dsl.

    You are capped and will get charged overages, I will be canceling me DSL and home phone when this starts.

    Sent via the HowardForums Android app
    Oh, he knows, it's just a little prick sticking out going out for a walk.
    Last edited by CA; 03-13-2011 at 08:31 PM.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Yankton
    Posts
    2,227
    Device(s)
    Current:Bold 9650
    Carrier(s)
    Alltel
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by CA View Post
    Oh, he knows, it's just a little prick sticking out going out for a walk.
    I prefer to call it 'average', not little.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    NE IN
    Posts
    10,935
    Device(s)
    HTC TILT, 8525, BJI, BJII, SE w580i, w760a, z750a
    Carrier(s)
    AT&T
    Feedback Score
    0
    meh, **** copper anyways lol.
    iPhone 4 on AT&T:


    http://www.xti9.com/v3xx[/FONT][/SIZE]

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Baja California / Sinaloa
    Posts
    22,366
    Device(s)
    Apple iPhone XS Max / Apple iPhone 7
    Carrier(s)
    Pacific Bell Wireless / Verizon Wireless / AT&T MX / Movistar MX / Telcel MX
    Feedback Score
    0
    Meh..
    I'm glad none of the recent places I have lived in use AT&T DSL.
    There was this luxury apartment complex I lived in that was in bed with SBC and that was your only choice for TV/HSI. I inquired about U-Verse rollout in my current place and I am glad we don't subscribe to AT&T for HSI.

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    206
    Carrier(s)
    Sprint
    Feedback Score
    0
    I left att mobility due to the ridiculous 2 gig cap and I will leave att dsl now too most likely. I watch a lot of netflix and this is just dumb. Thank allah and baby jesus that sprint and metropcs has unlimited data and comcast, wow an brighthouse have unlimited internet still.

    Sent via the HowardForums Android app

Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 4 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Holy crap.
    By idbl_fanatic in forum Virgin Mobile USA
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 12-10-2010, 10:41 PM
  2. Holy crap what is going on with JB'd phones today??
    By PatrickGSR94 in forum iOS Jailbreaking and Unlocking
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 06-24-2010, 10:40 PM
  3. Holy Crap, there is an SPH-m900 "InstinctQ"
    By FKL in forum Regular Phone Discussion
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 05-01-2010, 09:34 AM
  4. Holy crap! When did we get new phones??
    By cstallings_xtc in forum Boost Mobile
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 02-01-2010, 10:18 AM
  5. Holy crap. The heck is going on with my xtc?!!
    By cstallings_xtc in forum Virgin Mobile USA
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 12-15-2009, 11:26 PM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks