Page 1 of 7 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 100

Thread: Android phone that doesn't trigger rate increase on AT&T?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Denver, CO
    Posts
    174
    Carrier(s)
    Cricket
    Feedback Score
    0

    Android phone that doesn't trigger rate increase on AT&T?

    I've still got 11 months or so left on my 2 year family plan with AT&T, but I'd like to buy an android phone now and sell my existing Samsung Impression. What is the cheapest Android phone that will not switch me to the smart phone data plan? I'm currently on the $15 unlimited dumb phone plan. The G1 looks cheap, but will an unlocked one trigger the plan change with AT&T? Is there anything else I should be looking into?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    351
    Device(s)
    Samsung Galaxy S II i9100
    Carrier(s)
    ATT
    Feedback Score
    0
    I dont know about it being cheap but the european galaxy s works well with 3g and the unlimited medianet plan.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    United States
    Posts
    18,761
    Device(s)
    Samsung Galaxy S9+
    Carrier(s)
    Sprint
    Feedback Score
    0
    If it is a handset that is currently or previously carried by At&t, the required data feature will be added. Unlocked phones (using the previous criteria) are not exempt.

    Bottom line, it has to be an unbranded/unlocked phone to prevent the data feature from being added to the account.
    Don't make me turn this car around.....

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Northern Virginia
    Posts
    18,877
    Device(s)
    Apple iPhone7 Plus Apple iPhone 7 Plus
    Carrier(s)
    AT&T Mobility
    Feedback Score
    0
    Be advised that the unlimited data plans for smartphones ($30.00) are no longer available for new customers. There are now two limited data plans for smartphones. They are DataPlus 200 Megabytes ($15.00) and DataPro 2 gigabytes ($25.00). If you had a previous smartphone with the unlimited data plan, you can retain the appropriate unlimited data plan if you purchase or start using another smartphone.
    Last edited by efparri; 10-01-2010 at 08:28 PM.
    Earl F. Parrish

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    3,037
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by efparri View Post
    Be advised that the unlimited data plans for smartphones ($30.00) are no longer avaialable for new customers. There are now two limited data plans for smartphones. They are DataPlus 200 Megabytes ($15.00) and DataPro 2 gigabytes ($25.00). If you had a previous smartphone with the unlimited data plan, you can retain the appropriate unlimited data plan if you purchase or start using another smartphone.
    He doesn't want ANY smartphone plan. He wants to be able to keep his $15 unlimited data plan for non-smartphones.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Denver, CO
    Posts
    174
    Carrier(s)
    Cricket
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Goelz83 View Post
    He doesn't want ANY smartphone plan. He wants to be able to keep his $15 unlimited data plan for non-smartphones.
    Yes, I want to retain $15 unlimited internet for non-smartphones, but with a smartphone. So using a G1 or other T-mobile unlocked phone is out of the question? What about a Canadian unlocked phone?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Northeast Arkansas
    Posts
    3,648
    Device(s)
    Nokia N8
    Carrier(s)
    at&t
    Feedback Score
    0
    A co-worker bought a Palm Treo Pro about 6 moths ago and had the $15 unlimited plan. AT&T never carried this model. They have now switched her over to a Smartphone data plan after she received a text message saying she was uusing a smartphone that had to have the appropriate plan.

    Seems like they're now catching other phones as well.
    Follow me on Twitter

    Cool Smartphone User Guy

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    3,037
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by superorb View Post
    Yes, I want to retain $15 unlimited internet for non-smartphones, but with a smartphone. So using a G1 or other T-mobile unlocked phone is out of the question? What about a Canadian unlocked phone?
    The problem w/ the G1 and other unlocked T-Mobile phones is that they use different bands for 3G (1700/2100 whereas AT&T uses 850/1900) so you will only be able to get EDGE service on the phones.

    If you can find an unlocked phone that supports AT&T's 3G frequencies (other than the Nexus One or iPhone), you should be able to get away without being forced to switch your data plan.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Denver, CO
    Posts
    174
    Carrier(s)
    Cricket
    Feedback Score
    0
    Well this stinks. I use internet radio now and I already use over 200m a month of data, and I'd like to avoid paying an extra $10 a month over the cost of a new phone. Is there anywhere I can go that would list some non-USA Android phones? I'm assuming most non-USA areas all use GSM at this point.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    California
    Posts
    334
    Device(s)
    Lg vx4400, vx6000
    Feedback Score
    0
    This question has been ask and answered many times. You can use android phones that att doesn't carry with the medianet plan..... until they sweep you and send you a text that you need a regular data plan. You take your chances with any android phone you get.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    7,573
    Device(s)
    Nokia 6230b (5.50 with Chinese)
    Carrier(s)
    Cingular
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by superorb View Post
    Yes, I want to retain $15 unlimited internet for non-smartphones, but with a smartphone. So using a G1 or other T-mobile unlocked phone is out of the question? What about a Canadian unlocked phone?
    i think there was someone using a canadian htc desire without issue.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    United States
    Posts
    18,761
    Device(s)
    Samsung Galaxy S9+
    Carrier(s)
    Sprint
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by mbranscum View Post
    A co-worker bought a Palm Treo Pro about 6 moths ago and had the $15 unlimited plan. AT&T never carried this model. They have now switched her over to a Smartphone data plan after she received a text message saying she was uusing a smartphone that had to have the appropriate plan.

    Seems like they're now catching other phones as well.
    I suspect that since At&t also sells/sold various Palm devices, the IMEI # sequence that identifies the manufacturer and model # kicked in.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Denver, CO
    Posts
    174
    Carrier(s)
    Cricket
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by lusec View Post
    This question has been ask and answered many times. You can use android phones that att doesn't carry with the medianet plan..... until they sweep you and send you a text that you need a regular data plan. You take your chances with any android phone you get.
    Alright, I guess I'll wait until our family plan is up next August. We're moving and will need a new provider anyways so we'll get new/free phones then. Thanks for the help guys.

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Naples, FL
    Posts
    576
    Device(s)
    Xperia X10a
    Carrier(s)
    AT&T
    Feedback Score
    0
    You can also use the HTC Magic phones. I had a myTouch 3G on my account for well over a year and it never triggered the data changes. You can get an AT&T 3G compatible Magic from Rogers.

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    1,656
    Device(s)
    HTC Vivid with ICS
    Carrier(s)
    AT&T
    Feedback Score
    1 (100%)
    I have had my Telus Htc Desire on AT&T for over a month and a half now and still use my $15.00 Data plan that I have used for five years now and have not even been bothered by AT&T. The phone is originally a Canadian Telus Desire that I purchased from a Canadian seller on E-bay, it came unlocked and when I got it I flashed it with a Stock Htc RUU of Froyo and have been going strong ever since.

    These Desires have gotten very hard to find because Telus has been out of stock for about three weeks now, everytime they get a shipment in they are gone within hours. There are two dealers on E-bay that have a few but the price is not cheap!!! Mine cost me $664.99 with shipping but to me it is well worth the price just to not have to own AT&T crap phones!!!! Plus the Desire is a top of the line Android phone, this phone is very solid and not made like a Fisher Price toy like most of AT&T phones!!!

    As for that bunk about reading the IMEI well all I can say is BS, that is nothing but a story someone started without proof, I have even provided AT&T the IMEI of my Desire and was told that they do not know what phone it is and I really think that they are to STUPID to lie about it!!!!!!
    The only reason they got the Nexus is because they were provided the IMEI of all AT&T Nexus ones by Google, I was told this by Google tec. support when I had my Nexus one!!!!

Page 1 of 7 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 07-22-2009, 03:39 PM
  2. The full featured phone that doesn't seem to exist?
    By GoodRevrnd in forum Phone Battle and Comparison
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 01-12-2006, 02:19 AM
  3. What's a good phone that doesn't get lost in your purse?
    By gumbygirl in forum General Mobile Questions and Discussion
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 09-22-2005, 12:50 PM
  4. Replies: 11
    Last Post: 07-26-2005, 02:27 PM
  5. A verizon phone that doesn't suck?
    By Extor in forum Feature Phones
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 07-23-2005, 07:51 AM

Bookmarks