Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 23

Thread: G2 and UMTS bands

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Posts
    253
    Device(s)
    T68i
    Feedback Score
    0

    G2 and UMTS bands

    On T-Mobile's own website and other blogs it says that the G2 only has the Band IV UMTS band, which is AWS 1700/2100.

    Is that a typo? Does it mean that the G2 will not work in Asia and Europe?

    Damnit! Someone please bring me the good news. Thanks!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    37
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile USA
    Feedback Score
    0
    Since band IV is 1700/2100 and band I (Europe) is 2100, it's trivial to support band I on a band IV phone - I'd be surprised if it didn't support it in hardware at least. Time will tell, I suppose.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    88
    Device(s)
    HTC Desirez/G2
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    there are two versions: the G2 supports 1700/2100, and the Desire Z is the European version with 900/2100 3G bands.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Posts
    253
    Device(s)
    T68i
    Feedback Score
    0
    But does the G2 support up AND down on the 2100 band?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    8
    Feedback Score
    0
    I have unlocked G2 and I can verify 3G does work in Europe. The Band I is there.
    Last edited by keyguy5; 10-12-2010 at 03:00 PM.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Posts
    253
    Device(s)
    T68i
    Feedback Score
    0
    That really sucks! It's a good thing I returned mine. I travel to Europe often. I'm sure this was purely done because they don't want the G2 to take sales from the Desire Z. I hope they don't do the same thing with the new MyTouch. If T-Mobile continues this I might have to consider AT&T (damnit!).

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    NY
    Posts
    18,125
    Device(s)
    Samsung Galaxy S2 (T-Mobile)
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile USA
    Feedback Score
    0
    The G2 has the Euro 2100 band.

    The 1700/2100 you see indicates the 1700 is the AWS band, while the 2100 is the 2100 is the Euro 2100 band.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Posts
    253
    Device(s)
    T68i
    Feedback Score
    0
    But the AWS is 1700 down and 2100 up. Unless it can do both up and down on 2100 it won't work in Europe.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Guam
    Posts
    3,544
    Device(s)
    Nexus One, Droid Incredible, HTC Desire, Samsung Galaxy S
    Carrier(s)
    DOCOMO Pacific (HSDPA);
    Feedback Score
    0
    The G2, as well as any HTC T-Mobile Android since the G1 Dream, has both the 1700/2100 AWS _and_ Asian/Euro 2100.

    They do this to support T-Mobile Europe for roaming. Guess who owns T-Mobile USA?

    My first Android is an unlocked T-Mobile branded MyTouch 3G which I use on Asian 2100 bands on Asian countries.



    Sent from my ADR6300 using Tapatalk
    I am @guamguy on Twitter.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    843
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by juliemeister View Post
    But the AWS is 1700 down and 2100 up. Unless it can do both up and down on 2100 it won't work in Europe.
    And UMTS2100 is 1900 down, 2100 up, and GSM850/UMTS850 doesn't even run on 850MHZ (the uplink stops at 849MHz and the downlink starts at 869MHz. Point is, stop saying what you just said. That goes double for T-Mo, since they should know better. It just confuses people. Call it Band IV, AWS, or UMTS1700. Don't even mention the downlink. It's irrelevant.

    And the reason why all phones aren't penta-band like the Nokia N8 is because every band you add means you have to pay additional licensing fees. It's a crappy system, but it's how it works. There is no, repeat NO, technical reason.
    Former AT&T Rep. Free from tyranny for 2 years and counting...

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Posts
    253
    Device(s)
    T68i
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Drillbit View Post
    The G2, as well as any HTC T-Mobile Android since the G1 Dream, has both the 1700/2100 AWS _and_ Asian/Euro 2100.

    They do this to support T-Mobile Europe for roaming. Guess who owns T-Mobile USA?

    My first Android is an unlocked T-Mobile branded MyTouch 3G which I use on Asian 2100 bands on Asian countries.



    Sent from my ADR6300 using Tapatalk
    I'm not questioning any other T-Mobile phone. G2 is the first 3G T-Mobile phone I've seen that doesn't mention Band I in the specs, which is why I've questioned it.

    Quote Originally Posted by STRazr View Post
    And UMTS2100 is 1900 down, 2100 up, and GSM850/UMTS850 doesn't even run on 850MHZ (the uplink stops at 849MHz and the downlink starts at 869MHz. Point is, stop saying what you just said. That goes double for T-Mo, since they should know better. It just confuses people. Call it Band IV, AWS, or UMTS1700. Don't even mention the downlink. It's irrelevant.

    And the reason why all phones aren't penta-band like the Nokia N8 is because every band you add means you have to pay additional licensing fees. It's a crappy system, but it's how it works. There is no, repeat NO, technical reason.
    I wasn't talking about the exact frequencies but the generic terms, which is AWS for T-Mo USA and 2100 for Europe, although I know it differs slightly. Otherwise, I'm not sure what you are saying about AT&T. As far as I know, the AT&T phones I've looked at all offer Band I.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    8
    Feedback Score
    0
    Here is how it works:
    In order for down link to work you have to have up link. You need to send some pockets of data to request data. And you can't have 2G (GSM freq) for upload and 3G for download to work at the same time.

    Now Band I (2100) for Europe and Asia has upload freq 1920 - 1980MHz and download freq 2110 - 2170MHz. Band IV (1700/2100) has upload freq 1710 - 1755 MHz and download freq 2110 - 2155 MHz. Band I is also called IMT. Band IV is called AWS.

    Another difference between those 3G Bands are different channel numbers on which those freq are working. So channels on Band I (2100) are different than on Band IV (2100) for download.




    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/UMTS_frequency_bands
    Last edited by keyguy5; 10-12-2010 at 03:01 PM.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    8
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by juliemeister View Post
    That really sucks! It's a good thing I returned mine. I travel to Europe often. I'm sure this was purely done because they don't want the G2 to take sales from the Desire Z. I hope they don't do the same thing with the new MyTouch. If T-Mobile continues this I might have to consider AT&T (damnit!).

    I'm 99% sure that MyTouch HD will not have Band I . I looked at FCC website. The best way to check it though is to unlock the phone and go to Europe.
    Last edited by keyguy5; 10-12-2010 at 03:01 PM.

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Brooklyn, NY
    Posts
    31,608
    Device(s)
    LG V20 and LG G Pad X 8.0
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile One Plan 6+1 lines
    Feedback Score
    0
    Wirelessly posted (HTC Nexus One: Opera/9.80 (Linux armv7l; Maemo; Opera Mobi/4; U; en) Presto/2.5.28 Version/10.1)

    Quote Originally Posted by keyguy5
    Quote Originally Posted by juliemeister
    That really sucks! It's a good thing I returned mine. I travel to Europe often. I'm sure this was purely done because they don't want the G2 to take sales from the Desire Z. I hope they don't do the same thing with the new MyTouch. If T-Mobile continues this I might have to consider AT&T (damnit!).

    I'm 99% sure that MyTouch HD will not have Band I either. I looked at FCC website. The best way to check it though is to unlock the phone and go to Europe.
    according to tmonews
    http://www.tmonews.com/2010/10/t-mob...e-tv-included/
    mytouch will have band I.
    Last edited by matt.mingkee; 10-10-2010 at 02:14 PM.



    Optimum/Cablevision

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    8
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Scottish Skyedance View Post
    Wirelessly posted (HTC Nexus One: Opera/9.80 (Linux armv7l; Maemo; Opera Mobi/4; U; en) Presto/2.5.28 Version/10.1)



    according to tmonews
    http://www.tmonews.com/2010/10/t-mob...e-tv-included/
    mytouch will have band I.
    My mistake

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 9
    Last Post: 10-19-2010, 04:20 PM
  2. Virgin Virgin uses Bell's UMTS? Same bands II and V?
    By Deusfaux in forum Bell/Virgin/Lucky/Solo
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 06-14-2010, 07:43 PM
  3. CDMA: TouchPro2 UMTS Bands
    By Dave32 in forum TELUS/Koodo/Public Mobile
    Replies: 98
    Last Post: 11-19-2009, 03:00 PM
  4. UMTS network: is it going to be HSPA+(Evolved) UMTS Release 7?
    By buzzinhornets in forum TELUS/Koodo/Public Mobile
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 03-29-2009, 05:50 PM

Bookmarks