Phone
    iPhone 4g, EnV2
    Carrier
    Verizon
    Feedback Score

iPhone ring tones??

I know you can create your own ringtones if you use garage band. However, if one doesn't have a mac what is the easiest way to create ring tones? or is there a site to find some? Thanks.

Carrier
    AT&T
    Feedback Score

Phone
    Iphone 4
    Carrier
    AT&T
    Feedback Score
    Hey, that's the first thing i did when i got my iphone. I'm new to the whole iphone thing and i loved that on my old phones i could just use an mp3 as a ringtone. Here's what you have to do. you can ONLY do this with NON drm (protected) songs. so if you got your music through itunes with protection you can't do this. otherwise continue.

Go to itunes, highlight the song in your library that you want to use as a ringtone. Find the section of the song you want to use (no more than 30 seconds)

right click the song, choose "get info" then click on the "options" tab

at the options tab click the boxes for "start time" and "stop time" in the fields input the minutes and seconds of the 30 seconds of the song that you want to use as the ringtone. then click "ok"

now if you double click your song you should only hear the part that you want for the ringtone. After you check to see if the selection is where you want it right click the song and select "create AAC version"

once you create the AAC version find it in windows explorer and change the file extension name from .m4a to .m4r this will allow itunes to recognize it as a ringtone. (to do this in windows you just have to be able to see the file extensions. go to folder options in any folder and uncheck the box that says "hide extensions for known file types" then all files will have their extension in the name like such as "master of puppets.mp3" )

once you change the file extension just drop it into your iphone via itunes. Itunes will create a ringtone section. you can do this with as many songs as you like.

good luck!

Feedback Score