Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Force 1X on the DROID for tethering?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    1
    Device(s)
    LG 7800
    Carrier(s)
    Verizon
    Feedback Score
    0
    vBActivity - Stats
    vBActivity - Bars

    Force 1X on the DROID for tethering?

    I've been a member here for a while, but this is my first post... Sorry if this is the wrong place for this question, but I couldn't find a better place...
    I'm wanting to get Moto DROID and tether it via a 1X connection. Can I force the phone into 1X mode and tether via PDAnet? If so, how do I force 1X mode? If not, do I have any other options for 1X tethering?

    TIA

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    2
    Device(s)
    Samsung Omnia i910
    Carrier(s)
    Verizon
    Feedback Score
    0
    vBActivity - Stats
    vBActivity - Bars

    Tether

    Why do you want to use 1X? Tethering via PDAnet you can use your 3G and vzw will be none the wiser.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Hobbs, NM
    Posts
    759
    Device(s)
    Motorola Q (Alltel)
    Carrier(s)
    AT&T
    Feedback Score
    0
    vBActivity - Stats
    vBActivity - Bars
    Is PDAnet available for Android? Last I heard it was available only for WM and Palm OS.
    Scott M. in New Mexico



    Here's a laugh: http://www.howardforums.com/showthread.php?p=11989818

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    2
    Device(s)
    Samsung Omnia i910
    Carrier(s)
    Verizon
    Feedback Score
    0
    vBActivity - Stats
    vBActivity - Bars

    PDAnet

    Yes, pdanet is available for android, just download it at the android market. to tether via usb you need to also get the app for your computer, you can use it free but you wont be able to get to https sites. You can get around this by ussing bluetooth DUN.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    1
    Device(s)
    Blackberry Tour 9630
    Carrier(s)
    Verizon
    Feedback Score
    0
    vBActivity - Stats
    vBActivity - Bars
    i dont know how to tether it but i know how to force it into 1x mode only. dial *#*#info#*#* then press the send button and it should put u in a menu, its near the bottom you'll be able to see it and then change to whatever you need.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    17
    Feedback Score
    0
    vBActivity - Stats
    vBActivity - Bars
    so can I just tether via bluetooth for internet for my laptop or do I have to use something like PDAnet??

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    183
    Carrier(s)
    MetroPCS
    Feedback Score
    0
    vBActivity - Stats
    vBActivity - Bars
    yes just look in the android market

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Hong Kong/Lexington,KY
    Posts
    1,244
    Carrier(s)
    t-mobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    vBActivity - Stats
    vBActivity - Bars
    Quote Originally Posted by shanes66charger
    so can I just tether via bluetooth for internet for my laptop or do I have to use something like PDAnet??
    you will need an app or something to tether. If you are rooted, there are alot more options than if you are not rooted...

Bookmarks