Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 21

Thread: Blackberry Google Sync

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    64
    Device(s)
    Mogul
    Carrier(s)
    cricKet
    Feedback Score
    0
    vBActivity - Stats
    vBActivity - Bars

    Blackberry Google Sync

    thinking about getting a blackberry storm1 or curve on cricket. will google sync work on it?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Go BUCKS !!!!!
    Posts
    320
    Device(s)
    Thunderbolt
    Carrier(s)
    Verizon
    Feedback Score
    0
    vBActivity - Stats
    vBActivity - Bars
    I use Google Sync on my 8330

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Boonies!
    Posts
    70
    Device(s)
    HTC Raider
    Carrier(s)
    Bell
    Feedback Score
    0
    vBActivity - Stats
    vBActivity - Bars
    Google Sync will work on the blackberry on any provider as long as you have a data plan.

    I have it running on my Tour, I've set it up on a Storm as well and just setup a Bold 9700. Works great.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Montreal, Quebec (Canada)
    Posts
    6,597
    Device(s)
    Unlocked Rogers Blackberry Q10 | LG Nexus-4 | Samsung Nexus-S
    Carrier(s)
    Fido | Rogers Prepaid | LycaMobile US | Bell | T-Mobile Prepaid
    Feedback Score
    0
    vBActivity - Stats
    vBActivity - Bars
    It also works well on my Blackberry Bold 9700.
    Unlimited Fido Data Plan: Netgear Aircard LTE Mobile Hotspot

    My Tech Blog

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    1
    Feedback Score
    0
    vBActivity - Stats
    vBActivity - Bars
    Were you able to figure out if you could use Google Sync with the phone? I use Cricket but I wasn't able to use it, it said something how it had to do with it's network settings. Any idea how to do it?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Montreal, Quebec (Canada)
    Posts
    6,597
    Device(s)
    Unlocked Rogers Blackberry Q10 | LG Nexus-4 | Samsung Nexus-S
    Carrier(s)
    Fido | Rogers Prepaid | LycaMobile US | Bell | T-Mobile Prepaid
    Feedback Score
    0
    vBActivity - Stats
    vBActivity - Bars
    Quote Originally Posted by lmcjipo
    It also works well on my Blackberry Bold 9700.
    Actually, I want to clarify this... Google Sync works on my Blackberry Bold 9700. In terms of it working well or not, that is a matter of opinion and I've noticed a few bugs/issues (most commonly duplicate entries/contacts) since I posted the above comment.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    West LA
    Posts
    1,531
    Device(s)
    EVO 4G
    Carrier(s)
    Sprint (I'm new - please don't disappoint!)
    Feedback Score
    0
    vBActivity - Stats
    vBActivity - Bars
    I haven't been impressed. Calendar events I create on my BB never show up on my Google calendar, and apart from the initial sync upon install, calendar events from Google don't push to the berry. Also, the contact sync has caused duplicates - in some cases, dozens of duplicates - of certain contacts (in no certain replicable order).

    I don't know if it's just me, but I've had a huge headache with Google Sync. It's making me consider going back to my iPhone.
    Past phones: Samsung A530, Moto E815, LG VX8500, Samsung U600, Apple iPhone 8GB, Moto Razr2 V9M, iPhone 32GB 3GS, RIM BB Pearl 8130, BB 9700

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    14,500
    Carrier(s)
    Verizon Wireless
    Feedback Score
    0
    vBActivity - Stats
    vBActivity - Bars
    I believe that you need a data plan for this to work on your BlackBerry. As for syncing, it does leave a little to be desired. Once you get it set up the way you want, any future syncs should not affect contacts, like mentioned above. As for pushing events from the device to the Google calendar, I cannot get it to work. I just enter everything from the computer and then just sync with the phone.
    Current Device: Apple iPhone 5S
    Space Grey - 32GB

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    14
    Device(s)
    iPhone 2G,iPhone 3G
    Carrier(s)
    Rogers
    Feedback Score
    0
    vBActivity - Stats
    vBActivity - Bars
    Google Sync is a Java client.
    It should work on many phones include all BlackBerry phones.

    Quote Originally Posted by Turtl3sh3ll
    thinking about getting a blackberry storm1 or curve on cricket. will google sync work on it?

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    toronto
    Posts
    242
    Feedback Score
    0
    vBActivity - Stats
    vBActivity - Bars
    I never really had a problem with bidirectional sync on my phone.
    However, setting up Thunderbird was a differen story.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Guam
    Posts
    3,544
    Device(s)
    Nexus One, Droid Incredible, HTC Desire, Samsung Galaxy S
    Carrier(s)
    DOCOMO Pacific (HSDPA);
    Feedback Score
    0
    vBActivity - Stats
    vBActivity - Bars
    Works perfectly on my Blackberry Tour. All too well.

    When I bought my first Android smartphone, I logged into my Google account to activate the phone. The Android phone went busy. When the Android become "conscious", all my Blackberry contacts were already automatically transferred to the new phone as soon as I opened the Contacts app to check things out. Just like that. No need for PC based sync software, no need for Exchange or Outlook, no need to transfer contacts via SIM, no need to bluetooth the information between phones.

    Pure freaking Cloud power. On the Android, there is no need to have a visible Google Sync, it already works as part of the system.

    When I add new contacts and calendar information on my Android, and then I go to my Blackberry and press Google Sync, all the new information are synced to my Blackberry. Just like that. I made another experiment by putting different information on both phones, hit Google Sync on the BB, and automatically, both phones reconciled the contact information and evened things out.

    Freaking great piece of software.
    I am @guamguy on Twitter.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    259
    Device(s)
    Htc Incredible,Palm Pre Plus,Storm 2,Motorola Droid,Iphone 3gs,Nokia n900,Palm Pre, ,nokia e90
    Carrier(s)
    at&t
    Feedback Score
    0
    vBActivity - Stats
    vBActivity - Bars
    Is google sync in the BB app store? Where can I download it?

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Montreal, Quebec (Canada)
    Posts
    6,597
    Device(s)
    Unlocked Rogers Blackberry Q10 | LG Nexus-4 | Samsung Nexus-S
    Carrier(s)
    Fido | Rogers Prepaid | LycaMobile US | Bell | T-Mobile Prepaid
    Feedback Score
    0
    vBActivity - Stats
    vBActivity - Bars
    Quote Originally Posted by bd2bonez06
    Is google sync in the BB app store? Where can I download it?
    Use your phone's browser and go to: http://m.google.com/sync

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Montreal, Quebec (Canada)
    Posts
    6,597
    Device(s)
    Unlocked Rogers Blackberry Q10 | LG Nexus-4 | Samsung Nexus-S
    Carrier(s)
    Fido | Rogers Prepaid | LycaMobile US | Bell | T-Mobile Prepaid
    Feedback Score
    0
    vBActivity - Stats
    vBActivity - Bars
    Quote Originally Posted by mongoos150
    I don't know if it's just me, but I've had a huge headache with Google Sync. It's making me consider going back to my iPhone.
    It's not just only you. For me, I find that contacts are randomly duplicated and sometimes when I delete these duplicate entries leaving only 1 copy of the contact, the contact is entirely deleted.

    I've also noticed that if the person has a middle name, the sync doesn't work properly. It might sync properly the first time but if you make a change later on (like add a phone number to the contact), Google Sync will duplicate the contact and your Blackberry will have multiple copies of the same contact.

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    259
    Device(s)
    Htc Incredible,Palm Pre Plus,Storm 2,Motorola Droid,Iphone 3gs,Nokia n900,Palm Pre, ,nokia e90
    Carrier(s)
    at&t
    Feedback Score
    0
    vBActivity - Stats
    vBActivity - Bars
    Quote Originally Posted by lmcjipo
    Use your phone's browser and go to: http://m.google.com/sync
    Thanks. Got it working. It brought all my contacts and calenders over. For some reason it seems to only be syncing one way. Changes on the phone don't change in the cloud but changes via gmail contacts on PC show up on the phone once synced

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Bookmarks