Results 1 to 14 of 14

Thread: T-Mobile Blackberry in Japan

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    On top of a weight bench
    Posts
    29
    Device(s)
    Z800 (R1Y005)
    Carrier(s)
    Cingular
    Feedback Score
    0

    T-Mobile Blackberry in Japan

    Can someone tell me what blackberry model will work in Japan? My understanding is that they use the 2100 MHz but I can't find any tmobile blackberry that works in that freq.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    SF Bay Area
    Posts
    7,905
    Device(s)
    Nokia 8290 (TMO primary and site checker) / 6200 (850 roaming) / 6340i (AT&T PAYG and site checker)
    Carrier(s)
    Simple Mobile / AT&T PAYG (for backup & checking cell sites) / PagePlus (trial)
    Feedback Score
    0
    Japan uses the same 3G band as Europe/Asia/Middle East/Australia-NZ.

    Sorry I don't know specific blackberry models, but if the blackberry is 3G capable in Europe it should work in Japan too.
    AT&T and T-Mobile SF Bay Area+ Cell Sites - with Cell ID labels
    http://sfocellsites.com/
    Over 1,100 AT&T sites in the 9 Bay Area counties + San Benito, Santa Cruz and Monterey counties
    Now over 1,500 T-Mobile sites in these 12 counties

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    TX,US
    Posts
    3,229
    Carrier(s)
    at&t
    Feedback Score
    0
    Current T-mobile BB (all current list) , none of them can work in Japan!
    it might be in the future, Quad/tri-band 3G BB ....
    T-Mobile - the largest fake 4G network in Americas

    HTC HD2 Speed on 3G/HSDPA

    T-mobile 3G/H or Pharos 137

    My broadband speed


    My WM phone is the best GPS now, say good bye junk Andriod

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    2,670
    Carrier(s)
    AT&T
    Feedback Score
    0
    none of the current offered Tmobile blackberries work in Japan, however an unlocked blackberry bold will work


    Check out my buyer/seller feedback: My HoFo Feedback

    Proud AT&T customer with a grandfathered plan!

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    NYC
    Posts
    148
    Device(s)
    LG Nexus 5
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile USA
    Feedback Score
    0
    Don't forget: Any T-Mobile BlackBerry with UMA will work on Japanese Wi-Fi hotspots!
    ampad @ HoFo
    Sprint / 360 Communications (1994-1997)
    BellSouth Mobility PCS / Cingular (1997-2002)
    T-Mobile USA (2002- ) Simple Choice Unlimited
    - Samsung Galaxy S6

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    2,670
    Carrier(s)
    AT&T
    Feedback Score
    0
    if the OP can wait for the blackberry driftwood, then thats a very good option

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Classified
    Posts
    10,381
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    As it's already been stated, no T-Mo branded BlackBerry will work there. Even handsets with 3G don't all have the 2100mhz band. I second the suggestion of using a BB over UMA..

    The Sony Ericsson TM506 supports WCDMA 2100 if you're looking for something cheap to use while you're there.
    Castrol EDGE 0W-20 is my drug of choice.

    Primary: iPhone 11
    Secondary: TracFones: iPhone 6s+ [AT&T] & iPhone XS [Verizon]
    Mobile Broadband: ZTE Z917 LTE hotspot (5GB for $10) + iPad Mini 4 w/ T-Mobile LTE

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Los Angeles
    Posts
    170
    Device(s)
    Blackberry 9700
    Carrier(s)
    T Mobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by IsLand_BoY
    As it's already been stated, no T-Mo branded BlackBerry will work there. Even handsets with 3G don't all have the 2100mhz band. I second the suggestion of using a BB over UMA..

    The Sony Ericsson TM506 supports WCDMA 2100 if you're looking for something cheap to use while you're there.
    Just get a used unlocked Bold from ebay for your trip. Sell it when you get back. That was my plan when I went to Tokyo just a week ago, but I ended up keeping the bold and sold my 8900. UMA is great, but I couldn't find even one free wifi hotspot in Tokyo, not even in the airport. Don't count on finding a free WiFi hotspot there. Nothing is free in Japan.

    BTW, Tmobile has the service books for the Bold, so it's easy to switch to a Bold. No trouble like the Storm.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    323
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    Last year I had a Tmobile Curve with wifi... I couldnt find any free wifi when I travelled Japan, hotels and all. I did find free internet in some of the hotels, so I assume if you take a portable wifi router then you could connect. Luckily I was in Hong Kong before and had purchased a phone specifically for Japan... along with a SIM.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    cambridge
    Posts
    16
    Feedback Score
    0
    The new tmobile blackberry 9700 will work in Japan roaming under softbank. Will not work to roam under NTT DOCOMO

    The new Tmobile blackberry 9700 3G will include 2100mhz in Band I.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    2,670
    Carrier(s)
    AT&T
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by superstarR
    The new tmobile blackberry 9700 will work in Japan roaming under softbank. Will not work to roam under NTT DOCOMO

    The new Tmobile blackberry 9700 3G will include 2100mhz in Band I.
    i noticed nearly all american carriers roam on Softbank for 3G for BB data

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    48
    Device(s)
    SS Behold, BB Curve 8900, BB Pearl 8100
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    Not sure if this is what you had in mind, but, I think this one, BB8707g..

    https://www.namikiteru.com/en/bb8707g/index.html

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    938
    Device(s)
    Nexus One
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile USA
    Feedback Score
    0
    THe 9700 will work in Japan and South Korea, was confirmed by a customer of mine
    My opinions and statements do not reflect the policies or stance of T-Mobile

    T-Mobile, RSR


  14. #14
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    134
    Carrier(s)
    Verizon
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by FokenNewbee
    Can someone tell me what blackberry model will work in Japan? My understanding is that they use the 2100 MHz but I can't find any tmobile blackberry that works in that freq.

    it would have to be umts 2100 to work in japan

Bookmarks