Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: major problem with bold

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Deep East Texas
    Posts
    13
    Device(s)
    iPhone 6
    Carrier(s)
    AT&T Mobility
    Feedback Score
    0

    major problem with bold

    Twice this week I have made calls to multiple people and they could not hear me at all (the mic isn't working at all). I've had to remove the battery and it works fine. Hasn't ever happened before this week and I've had it since November. I'm running AT&T version 4.6.0.297. Any ideas or suggestions?
    vbush75901
    AT&T Mobility

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    81
    Device(s)
    Blacked Out Bold (1st non SE phone in 3 years :O)
    Carrier(s)
    Fido
    Feedback Score
    0
    Have you changed your bezel?
    The same thing happened to my friend when he blacked out his bold. he somehow managed to damage the mic when he was putting the bezel back on

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Toronto
    Posts
    328
    Carrier(s)
    Rogers
    Feedback Score
    0
    Didn't ATT pull .297 due to bugs? Not sure what the bugs were but was it OK with .292?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    8
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Hwaiting
    Didn't ATT pull .297 due to bugs? Not sure what the bugs were but was it OK with .292?
    Looks like AT&T went back to .167. One of the problems i noticed with the 297 is when I charge it, I do not see the charge icon. The phone charges but no charge icon.

    Update, reinstalled 167. lost the extras and the VVM. The charge icon works everytime now. Go Figure
    Last edited by pazzo76; 09-07-2009 at 12:10 AM.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    San Francisco
    Posts
    3,978
    Device(s)
    iPhone
    Carrier(s)
    Verizon
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by pazzo76
    Looks like AT&T went back to .167. One of the problems i noticed with the 297 is when I charge it, I do not see the charge icon. The phone charges but no charge icon.

    Update, reinstalled 167. lost the extras and the VVM. The charge icon works everytime now. Go Figure
    You would think that is something the testers would have noticed before they released it to all customers

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    8
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by payroll
    You would think that is something the testers would have noticed before they released it to all customers
    You would think. When I first tried to charge my phone after the update I through the AC adapter went bad. Wonder how long it will be before we get a solid uodate so We can start using the VVM again. I really liked that featuere. The extra memory was also a plus.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Orlando FL
    Posts
    294
    Device(s)
    Galaxy note 2
    Carrier(s)
    T mobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    Had this also recently. ATT kept sending me repaired replacements that were just the same. I ended up buying a new one from them for $100. Working fine now.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    0
    Feedback Score
    0
    Wirelessly posted (BlackBerry9000/4.6.0.297 Profile/MIDP-2.0 Configuration/CLDC-1.1 VendorID/102)

    I left the .297 OS update on my BB Bold, as I wasn't having any problems with it, and I love the new VVM feature.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Orlando FL
    Posts
    294
    Device(s)
    Galaxy note 2
    Carrier(s)
    T mobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    ? What is the VVM feature?

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    San Francisco
    Posts
    3,978
    Device(s)
    iPhone
    Carrier(s)
    Verizon
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Florida Phil
    ? What is the VVM feature?
    Visual Voicemail is available from AT&T with this new update. However, the update was pulled.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    326
    Device(s)
    LG Quantum
    Carrier(s)
    AT&T,
    Feedback Score
    0
    I'm still using 297, but I've had one instance of my wife not being able to hear me for the first 5 seconds or so of a call. At the time, I figured it was just a problem with my bluetooth headset.

    I've only had one random restart since installing this OS (used to have them all the time with 167, and I never had any app memory, whereas with 297 app memory is always in good shape).

    I'm sticking with this OS for now unless the mic issue turns out to be more common than I realize. I've talked for several hundred minutes since installing 297 though and only had a problem one time, and as I said it was only for a few seconds.

Bookmarks