Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 31

Thread: Unlock Samsung Epix and Jack!

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Carolina, Puerto Rico
    Posts
    8,198
    Device(s)
    Samsung Galaxy S Glide
    Carrier(s)
    AT&T Go Phone
    Feedback Score
    0

    Cool Unlock Samsung Epix and Jack!

    I was able to unlock the Samsung Epix and Samsung Jack with these steps, which I saw originally posted in xda-developers for the Omnia i900.

    Disclaimers:

    1. I tried this on a Samsung Epix prior to the ROM update released last month. I don't know if it'll work on an Epix that has been updated to the new ROM.
    2. Besides the Epix and Jack, I haven't tried this on other Samsung phones, so no idea if it'll work on the BlackJack II or Propel Pro.
    3. Make sure you enter the correct codes. Don't enter * where # is required or vice versa.

    First we need to lock the phone to AT&T. Lock the phone? Yes it's already locked, but it is locked with some code generated at AT&T's request. We are going to lock the phone with our own unlock code and then we'll be able to use our own code instead of AT&T's to unlock it.

    1) From the Today or Home screen, type in *7465625*638*#
    2) Enter the Mobile Network Code of AT&T in the first field. 310410.
    Note that on the Jack, you will only see asterisks. I don't remember if this was the case on the Epix but you should be OK as long as you are careful to type in the correct numbers.
    If you see three fields, you have to re-enter 310410 in the second field.
    3) In the last field, enter 12345678 (This will be the unlock code.)
    4) Press OK (it should tell you SIMLock is enabled.)

    Now, we are going to unlock the phone.

    1) From the Today or Home screen, type #7465625*638*#
    2) Enter the code we assigned earlier. 12345678

    That's it. You can now use a SIM card from AT&T, T-Mobile, blue AT&T Wireless or whatever GSM carrier you want. The unlock will survive hard resets.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    611
    Carrier(s)
    Verizon Wireless
    Feedback Score
    0
    Are you sure this actually network unlocks the phone? I've seen a lot of cases where people posted instructions that confuse SIM unlocking with network unlocking. The latter is what's wanted.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Carolina, Puerto Rico
    Posts
    8,198
    Device(s)
    Samsung Galaxy S Glide
    Carrier(s)
    AT&T Go Phone
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by twbrn
    Are you sure this actually network unlocks the phone? I've seen a lot of cases where people posted instructions that confuse SIM unlocking with network unlocking. The latter is what's wanted.
    Yes, I have used my T-Mobile and Claro SIM cards and they work. If you do not have a non-AT&T SIM card, you can verify the unlocking took place by dialing *#7465625# from the homescreen and you'll see if the phone is locked or unlocked.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    1,195
    Device(s)
    Samsung BlackJack II
    Carrier(s)
    Cingular
    Feedback Score
    0
    Or you can simply pick up the phone and AT&T will happily send you the unlock code. I unlocked all my phones this way.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Carolina, Puerto Rico
    Posts
    8,198
    Device(s)
    Samsung Galaxy S Glide
    Carrier(s)
    AT&T Go Phone
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Foxbat121
    Or you can simply pick up the phone and AT&T will happily send you the unlock code. I unlocked all my phones this way.
    Why would I put up with AT&T's CS bureaucracy if I can do it myself? I unlocked my Jack after 7 hours of being an AT&T customer (new activation.) No need to wait 90 days. No need to fax them proof if you purchased the phone at no-commitment price. No waiting days for the unlock code to arrive. Nada!

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    611
    Carrier(s)
    Verizon Wireless
    Feedback Score
    0
    Does not work on the Blackjack II. Step 2 doesn't provide a field for lock code, and when I try to put in the MNC it says Locking Status Failed.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Carolina, Puerto Rico
    Posts
    8,198
    Device(s)
    Samsung Galaxy S Glide
    Carrier(s)
    AT&T Go Phone
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by twbrn
    Does not work on the Blackjack II. Step 2 doesn't provide a field for lock code, and when I try to put in the MNC it says Locking Status Failed.
    Just in case, try entering the numbers while holding down the Fn key.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    611
    Carrier(s)
    Verizon Wireless
    Feedback Score
    0
    Same thing happens.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Carolina, Puerto Rico
    Posts
    8,198
    Device(s)
    Samsung Galaxy S Glide
    Carrier(s)
    AT&T Go Phone
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by twbrn
    Same thing happens.
    Sorry to hear that. I guess we can officially declare the BJII as incompatible with this method.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    611
    Carrier(s)
    Verizon Wireless
    Feedback Score
    0
    Good thing I just ordered a Jack then.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    1
    Device(s)
    Samsung Jack
    Carrier(s)
    AT&T
    Feedback Score
    0
    gracias brodel, eso funciona? puse el ultimo y dice network lock disabled.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    206
    Device(s)
    Curve 8900
    Carrier(s)
    Rogers
    Feedback Score
    0
    anyone else confirm this work? Not that i don't believe the OP, just wanna make sure before i try it.

    do you need to have a sim card inserted at the time?

  13. #13
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    1,290
    Device(s)
    6 in Space
    Feedback Score
    0
    I can confirm it, works like a charm.

    Not sure about the sim card, I had mine in at the time.
    Sit vis vobiscum.

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    usa
    Posts
    15
    Device(s)
    Motorola V400
    Carrier(s)
    cingular
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quick ? on unlock do I enter MNC?

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    62
    Feedback Score
    0
    I can also confirm this works on an Epix. Thanks for the info!

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Bookmarks