Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 22

Thread: Tethering on the Samsung Rant

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Nashville, TN
    Posts
    2,708
    Device(s)
    HTC Touch Pro
    Carrier(s)
    Sprint
    Feedback Score
    0

    Tethering on the Samsung Rant

    I came across this link and followed all the directions. It works great.

    http://www.sprintusers.com/forum/sho...highlight=rant

    ou will need to locate QPST 2.7 build 301 (its from 2008)

    and get cdma workshop unless you have your msl

    now most of this is plagiarized from the instinct method with a few minor changes

    Obtain Sprint Connection manager from, www.sprint.com/download and install the samsung drivers


    Procedure:

    1) Install Samsung Driver

    a) Download & install Sprint PCS Connection Manager for Phone as Modem/USB Cables (make sure you choose Samsung drivers when prompted)
    b) Restart computer when prompted to.

    2) Find the phone's COM port(s)

    A) plug your phone in
    b) let it install the drivers
    c) right click "My Computer"
    d) click on "Properties."
    e) Go to the "Hardware" tab
    f) hit the "Device Manager" button.
    g) go to the section labeled com ports
    h) look for the samsung diagnostic port, that is the com port you will need

    note the unregistered cdma workshop cant go higher than COM8; if your device shows up as COM9 or higher, you will have to either deactivate other COM devices installed on your computer, or (eeep!) buy a version of CDMA workshop. This note is only applicable if you don't know your MSL code.

    3) Obtain MSL # (SKIP to STEP 4 if you already have your MSL code #!)

    a) Download then Launch CDMA Workshop
    b) Set the COM Settings (AT mode) to COM# of your phone
    d) Click Connect
    e) Click Read
    f) If you have the correct port selected the Phone Information will display correctly. If not see NOTE above and try again
    g) Click ‘Security’ Tab
    h) Under SPC ‘Default (nv_read)’ click Read
    i) The # in the box is your MSL. SAVE IT SOMEWHERE!

    4) Configure QPST

    a) Download and install QPST
    b) Open QPST Configuration
    c) Click on Add New Port
    d) Select COM# - USB/QC Diagnostic and hit ok

    5) Change NAI Option

    a) go to ‘Start Clients’ and select ‘SERVICE PROGRAMMING’
    b) click read from phone
    c) enter the MSL# (What you found in part 3) and hit ok
    d) CLICK SAVE TO FILE
    - This is a backup procedure to make sure you can fix anything you break!
    - Save with name and location that you will remember

    e) Click on M. IP tab
    f) Expand #2 the one which is [email protected] LEAVE THE HCM.sprint.com #1 field alone expad the "NAI" and "Tethered NAI" columns so you can read them both clearly.
    - you will notice the tethered nai is blank

    g) Copy the NAI entry into the Tethered NAI entry so that it matches.
    h) Save to DIFFERENT back up file
    i) Write to phone
    j) phone automatically reboots - you can disconnect cable at this point
    go to settings > data > update vision profile


    your Phone will automatically re-provision the correct settings - BUT - will leave the tethered NAI option alone!

    That's it! Now you can connect via bluetooth like I did, or using USB cable and dial-up networking on your PC or Mac.

    For Windows:
    7) Using Phone as Modem

    Win XP

    a) Create a New Connection (using WinXP) by selecting Start > Settings > Control Panel > Network Connections > File > New Connection > Next > Next
    b) Select "Set up my connection manually" > Next > Next
    c) Enter the name of the ISP which will be "SprintPCS" and click on Next
    d) Enter #777 and click on Next
    e) Uncheck "make this the default connection" and click on Next
    f) Check "add shortcut to my desktop" and you're done!

    Windows Vista

    a) Start > Control Panel > Network and Sharing Center > Set up a connection or network > set up a dial up connection > next
    b) Dial-up phone number: #777
    c) User name: (blank)
    d) Password: (blank)
    e) Connection name: Sprint
    f) Click connect
    g) If prompted select Sprint CDMA modem

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Winter Park, FL
    Posts
    93
    Device(s)
    Palm 755p - My bastion of hope
    Carrier(s)
    Sprint SERO
    Feedback Score
    0
    I'm getting an error 692, hardware failure in the modem, but it might just be windows 7...
    Need a sprint referral number? PM me!

    SATISFACTORY

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    96
    Device(s)
    Sony Xperia M4 Aqua
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile, AT&T
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Gopena
    I'm getting an error 692, hardware failure in the modem, but it might just be windows 7...
    This is fixed by resetting the phone.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    2
    Feedback Score
    0

    Little help

    Hey guys thx for the great walk-tho however i ran into a few issues.

    For me #0 is the [email protected] is my nai
    #1 is the [email protected] no big deal so i copy the nai to the tehered.nai under this and save it a file and when i try to write to i get
    "roaming list file contains no data"

    Thx in advancefor any help. I have got all the right tools, just seem to head wall at the end. Tech

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    96
    Device(s)
    Sony Xperia M4 Aqua
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile, AT&T
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by justanothertech
    Hey guys thx for the great walk-tho however i ran into a few issues.

    For me #0 is the [email protected] is my nai
    #1 is the [email protected] no big deal so i copy the nai to the tehered.nai under this and save it a file and when i try to write to i get
    "roaming list file contains no data"

    Thx in advancefor any help. I have got all the right tools, just seem to head wall at the end. Tech
    hey bro

    I had the EXACT same problem

    http://www.sprintusers.com/forum/sho...8&postcount=70

    Follow the instructions in that post, and you'll be all set.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Richmond, VA
    Posts
    5,786
    Carrier(s)
    AT&T
    Feedback Score
    0
    I just always use Bluetooth to tether. Works flawlessly with every phone Sprint sells (except the Instinct which simply doesn't support tethering). I use it all the time with my Blackberry 8330 and have used it with a number of other phones. No hacking required. Pick up a cheap Bluetooth dongle if your computer doesn't have Bluetooth built in.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    1
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by KG4PEQ
    I just always use Bluetooth to tether. Works flawlessly with every phone Sprint sells (except the Instinct which simply doesn't support tethering). I use it all the time with my Blackberry 8330 and have used it with a number of other phones. No hacking required. Pick up a cheap Bluetooth dongle if your computer doesn't have Bluetooth built in.
    I have the Instinct and I used to use bluetooth to tether for internet, but I mostly use the cable because my download speed is doubled using the cable rather than bluetooth. Your results may vary.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    2
    Feedback Score
    0
    i get error 678 on my lap top and error 67 on the rant when i try to tether using bluetooth any ideas?

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Nashville, TN
    Posts
    2,708
    Device(s)
    HTC Touch Pro
    Carrier(s)
    Sprint
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by raiderpt
    i get error 678 on my lap top and error 67 on the rant when i try to tether using bluetooth any ideas?
    Those errors would indicate that the tethered NAI still hasn't been wiped.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    2
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by metallicpoet
    Those errors would indicate that the tethered NAI still hasn't been wiped.


    how would one wipe the tethered nai ?

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Nashville, TN
    Posts
    2,708
    Device(s)
    HTC Touch Pro
    Carrier(s)
    Sprint
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by raiderpt
    how would one wipe the tethered nai ?
    Going through the directions listed above should do the trick. Make sure the program you use is QPST Build 301

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    North Carolina, USA
    Posts
    1,134
    Device(s)
    Android, Windows
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile, AT&T, Sprint, Verizon
    Feedback Score
    0
    I got the new Exclaim (Rants replacement?) and used this method (and a couple of other things) and tethering works great.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Nashville, TN
    Posts
    2,708
    Device(s)
    HTC Touch Pro
    Carrier(s)
    Sprint
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by wam
    I got the new Exclaim (Rants replacement?) and used this method (and a couple of other things) and tethering works great.
    Well this method is pretty much the Samsung Instinct method too. It seems to work on most modern Samsungs.

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    4
    Feedback Score
    0
    Just curious as to what kinds of speeds people are seeing doing this. I get about 1mb/128kb using usb and 512kb/128kb using bluetooth. Are these results typical?
    It can best be descrived as low-end DSL speed. No complaints at all for wireless internet anywhere I go.

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Nashville, TN
    Posts
    2,708
    Device(s)
    HTC Touch Pro
    Carrier(s)
    Sprint
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by compuboy004
    Just curious as to what kinds of speeds people are seeing doing this. I get about 1mb/128kb using usb and 512kb/128kb using bluetooth. Are these results typical?
    It can best be descrived as low-end DSL speed. No complaints at all for wireless internet anywhere I go.
    The Samsung Rant is an EVDO Rev. 0 device, so the download speeds max out at 2.4mbps and the upload speeds max out at 144kbps (since the uplink is actually 1X and not EVDO).

    If you're getting the speeds you're describing, those are excellent.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Bookmarks