Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: How to Hard Reset the HTC Touch Pro?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Posts
    10
    Device(s)
    HTC Touch
    Carrier(s)
    Bell Mobility
    Feedback Score
    0

    How to Hard Reset the HTC Touch Pro?

    I've read the manual about doing a Hard Rest as I want to get rid of the Bell customizations. The manual tell you that there are 2 ways of doing the hard reset.

    #1
    To perform a hard reset
    1. With the device turned off, press and hold the ENTER, VOLUME DOWN, and POWER buttons until yousee this message on the screen:
    This operation will delete
    all your personal data,
    and reset all settings
    to manufacturer default.
    Press VolUp to restore
    manufacturer default, or
    press other keys to cancel.
    2. Release the ENTER, VOLUME DOWN, and POWER buttons, then press the VOLUME UP button to
    perform the hard reset, or press any other button to cancel the reset.

    #2
    Clear Storage
    You can also use Clear Storage to reset your device back to factory default settings.
    1. On the Home screen, slide to the Settings tab and then tap All Settings.
    2. On the System tab, tap Clear Storage.
    3. Enter “1234” and then tap Yes.


    Well, I tried about 10 times using the first option of pressing the keys and couldn't get it to ever show me that message and it would only try to soft reset. So on I went to #2 using the software option. It appears to Hard Reset no problem, but when I go to Soft Reset when the Bell customizations show up, it Will reset and then try to install Bells stuff again, and again and again, no matter how many times I try and Soft Reset before the 3 seconds end in that window.

    Has anyone managed to get this to work? It's driving me nuts

    1 other thing. When they say to use the "Enter" key, do they mean the one on the keyboard or the centre of the d-pad?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    45° 28' N 73° 45' W
    Posts
    1,734
    Device(s)
    ★☎₪ Blackberry PRIV™ ₪☎★
    Carrier(s)
    ¤º«★ Bell Mobility ★»º¤
    Feedback Score
    0
    This method didn't work for my HTC Pro;


    How to Hard Reset TOUCH PRO: (buttons please refer to image attached)
    1. With your phone on. Pull out your stylus.
    2. Hold your Touch Pro upside down.
    3. Press and Hold the VOLUME DOWN and ENTER buttons, then press the RESET button with the stylus tip till message appear.
    4. To HARD RESET, Press the VOLUME UP button to perform the hard reset, or else press any other button to cancel.
    5. Then just follow all the screen instruction to continue.


    Here is an alternate method


    Quote Originally Posted by digitalallstar6
    I noticed that the Bell UI takes up a huge chunk of device memory once it downloads all it's info. I tried to install a program to memory and I only had 1 meg left for installs.

    The solution is to not install the Bell UI all together. I did this by doing a hard reset and soft resetting before the customization begins. It will attempt to install the customization 2 times. Just soft reset it before it does the install. If you do this you will not have any of the Bell programs like self help but I think its a small penalty for having a leaner more efficient OS.
    EDIT: It still seems to let the customizations run no matter how many times I reset the device before the 3 seconds.

    Looks like the only solution is to install a custom ROM.
    氣功

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Posts
    10
    Device(s)
    HTC Touch
    Carrier(s)
    Bell Mobility
    Feedback Score
    0
    Thanks for the reply OpenWave. I tried the one you showed too and couldn't get it to work either. It appears the only way to Hard Reset htis device is to use the Clear Storage method. I must have tried it 20 times yesterday and kept resetting before it ran the Bell Updates but each time it will try to run them again Oh well, guess I'll be on the waiting list for a custom rom.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Waterloo/Toronto
    Posts
    707
    Device(s)
    Samung Galaxy S VIbrant, Xperia,Nexus One, Nokia e61, Milestone, iPhone 3GS, iPhone, Palm Pre, Omnia
    Carrier(s)
    Bell
    Feedback Score
    3 (100%)
    for the hard reset method to work, your phone must be turned OFF. After 3 resets BEFORE the customizations run it does not customize. Works on my tp and diamond (both from bell)
    Bell better start ensuring customer satisfaction or they'll go to #4 for new activations/customers.
    The greatest trick the Devil ever pulled was convincing the world he didn't exist.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    277
    Device(s)
    iPhone 4 /w Discovery 640
    Carrier(s)
    Virgin Mobile Canada
    Feedback Score
    0
    Sorry to resurrect an old thread, but I noticed that while PhreakMix's instructions do work for me, I'm noticing that Opera Mobile is not installed and the TouchFLO "Launch Browser" button in the Internet tab doesn't do anything. Has anyone notice this, and is there a fix?
    Silentblue.net - Fat free and dolphin safe

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    51
    Feedback Score
    0
    Just install Mighty Mouse ROM. its loads faster.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Toronto
    Posts
    17
    Carrier(s)
    Wind Mobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    i found this one for HTC myTouch HTC hard reset

    press the Menu key.
    After that you will choose Settings.
    Select SD card & phone storage by tapping it.
    From there you will need to choose Factory data reset.
    Read the disclaimer telling you that once this is done it cannot be undone and click on Reset phone.
    Touch Erase everything.
    The MyTouch will now reset itself and remove all user data and restore to factory settings

Bookmarks