Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: GPS - Enable/Disable?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Toronto
    Posts
    134
    Device(s)
    SE W810i
    Carrier(s)
    Rogers
    Feedback Score
    0

    GPS - Enable/Disable?

    I have a C702, and was wondering if whether disabling the GPS saved me battery life? Does having the GPS constantly enabled (but not necessarily used by a program) use battery life? Or does it only use power when I actually see the little satellite icon going?

    Thanks.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    83
    Feedback Score
    0
    Hm, it shoudl safe the battery, but just a little bit, dont know if its so significant..

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Posts
    116
    Device(s)
    N82
    Carrier(s)
    ATT
    Feedback Score
    0
    GPS does chew up battery power.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    83
    Feedback Score
    0
    ok, so now we know

    Mobile Phone Insurance

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    24
    Feedback Score
    0
    When you would you use your mobile battery always be finished even in stand by mode battery is used continuously, but that is very consumption. Yoiu have to disable your GPS application time to time if you want to give more life to battery.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    96
    Device(s)
    Sony Ericsson w600i
    Carrier(s)
    cingular
    Feedback Score
    0
    The GPS is only drawing a lot of current if you are using an application that requires the use of the GPS. This is when the satellite icon appears on the main screen. I would imagine it would be in a low power state when you are not using it. And yes, you could disable it and maybe it would give you longer battery life, but I doubt it would be enough to notice since the low power state will be drawing something on the order of tens of microamps.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Toronto
    Posts
    134
    Device(s)
    SE W810i
    Carrier(s)
    Rogers
    Feedback Score
    0
    I'm of the same mindset, hatemachine. I presume it's in a standby mode, drawing extremely small amounts of power. Thanks for the insight.

Bookmarks