Results 1 to 12 of 12

Thread: Orange in the US?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    8
    Device(s)
    SCH-u740
    Carrier(s)
    Verizon
    Feedback Score
    0
    vBActivity - Stats
    vBActivity - Bars

    Orange in the US?

    Hey guys, I have been using an Orange phone over here in London and I have liked them a lot, I was wondering if it was possible to get this service in the USA, thanks guys!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    4,382
    Feedback Score
    0
    vBActivity - Stats
    vBActivity - Bars
    Nope, it's not, sorry

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    San Francisco, CA
    Posts
    4
    Carrier(s)
    Verizon
    Feedback Score
    0
    vBActivity - Stats
    vBActivity - Bars

    sorry....

    ....not possible as they are not in the US!

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    8
    Device(s)
    SCH-u740
    Carrier(s)
    Verizon
    Feedback Score
    0
    vBActivity - Stats
    vBActivity - Bars
    Well then is there anyway of using an orange phone in the US but keeping an England number? Sorry about all the questions lol

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    65
    Device(s)
    HTC Desire
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    vBActivity - Stats
    vBActivity - Bars
    Yes, use the Orange UK simcard. It'll roam on T-Mobile and AT&T (not sure if if it will if it's prepay though!) - It's going to be expensive though!

    Why would you want to?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Chicago
    Posts
    3,003
    Device(s)
    ASUS Zenfone 3 Deluxe, Nexus 4, Lumia 650 dual sim
    Carrier(s)
    AT&T,
    Feedback Score
    0
    vBActivity - Stats
    vBActivity - Bars
    Yes. your orange sim card (prepaid or contract) will roam on both AT&T an Tmobile here in the US. However, at ridiculously very high rate. Just make sure your phoe has both the 850/1900 bands used in the USA. You definitely need a phone with both to roam on AT&T. However, if your phone only supports the 1900 band, tmobile will be your best bet.

    Having said all that, why in the world would you want to roam? Unless you are just visiting for a couple of days or so, ad do not plan on using your phone much.

    Quote Originally Posted by Vanjee137
    Well then is there anyway of using an orange phone in the US but keeping an England number? Sorry about all the questions lol

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Posts
    714
    Feedback Score
    0
    vBActivity - Stats
    vBActivity - Bars
    Personally I don't like orange phones....the color sticks out...I prefer my phones to be black or silver....

    Do you mean a phone with an Orange sim card? And is the Orange sim card from Orange UK? Or Orange NL? or I think there's even an Orange in Israel....

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    58
    Device(s)
    HTC Touch Pro
    Carrier(s)
    Sprint
    Feedback Score
    0
    vBActivity - Stats
    vBActivity - Bars
    why would t-mobile be the best bet for the 1900 mhz freq? at&t uses this aswell. I have an Orange SPV M5000 on AT&T right now and i love it. i have no bad spots at all. and i have the band set to the 1900 band

  9. #9
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Chicago
    Posts
    3,003
    Device(s)
    ASUS Zenfone 3 Deluxe, Nexus 4, Lumia 650 dual sim
    Carrier(s)
    AT&T,
    Feedback Score
    0
    vBActivity - Stats
    vBActivity - Bars
    Yes, AT&T uses 1900 as well. However, most of their coverage is 850. There are some places that have no 1900 at all. Bottom line, for complete coverage with AT&T use a phone that has both 850/1900. Tmobile is primarily a 1900 carrier with 850 roaming in a few places.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    BVR
    Posts
    1,868
    Carrier(s)
    Alltel, VZW
    Feedback Score
    0
    vBActivity - Stats
    vBActivity - Bars
    If your orange phone is unlocked and works on the quad band and not tri band you will be fine. Just get att or t-mo sim card. But if it is 900/1800/1900 then you will have issues with coverage.

    But as a carrier you won't be able to get their service....unless you want to pay ridiculous roaming rates. Not to mention 3g is not very widespread for gsm/wcdma here.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Los Angeles
    Posts
    1,054
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile USA
    Feedback Score
    0
    vBActivity - Stats
    vBActivity - Bars
    Get a UK Number on Skype, go Prepaid here in the USA, have Skype forward all calls.

    =)
    WiFi Guru

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    24
    Device(s)
    V3m
    Carrier(s)
    Verizon
    Feedback Score
    0
    vBActivity - Stats
    vBActivity - Bars
    I have a Isreali orange and i brought it here In the USA and it works with T-mobile roaming

Bookmarks