Thread: Rookie Question..???

Feedback Score

Question Rookie Question..???

What does "Unlocking" mean????? I'd really appreciate if some one can take their time to explain this to me cuz im new to this. I got a sony ericson w810i.
    Thanks

Feedback Score
    Also whats "flash" and "unbranded" mean? Sorry to bother about these questions. Is there a place where I can get more info on all this stuff. Thanks

Carrier(s)
    Verizon Wireless
    Feedback Score
    Unlocked: You can use your phone with any GSM provider SIM card
    Unbranded: No provider branding on the phone, like if it came directly from Sony Ericsson, not your provider
    Flash: flash new firmware onto your phone, they update the firmware, you can flash it onto the phone
    Current Device: Apple iPhone 5S
    Space Grey - 32GB

Feedback Score
    Thanks heavyfluid, So what can I do To my w810i and how can i get the new firmware? Can I use this phone on my wifes Verison service if I unlock it. Thanks

Device(s)
    Samsung Galaxy S Glide
    Carrier(s)
    AT&T Go Phone
    Feedback Score
    You cannot use an unlocked GSM phone with Verizon, because Verizon is not a GSM carrier. An unlocked GSM phone will accept SIM cards from any GSM carrier, anywhere in the world, as long as the phone has the bands used in that country. For example, if you bought your phone from AT&T and you unlock it, your phone will still accept SIM's from AT&T but now also accepts SIM's from T-Mobile, SunCom, Centennial, original AT&T Wireless, etc. It will also accept SIM cards from Rogers in Canada and provided your phone has the bands used overseas, it can even work with European carriers and some carriers in Asia and Latin America.

Verizon, Sprint, Alltel, US Cellular, Cricket and MetroPCS (among others) use CDMA, a different wireless phone technology that doesn't even use SIM cards at all, so an unlocked GSM phone won't make you any good with these carriers.

Carrier(s)
    Verizon Wireless
    Feedback Score