Thread: Rogers coverage in Vancouver

Device(s)
    Samsung Galaxy S7
    Carrier(s)
    Bell Mobility
    Feedback Score

Rogers coverage in Vancouver

This is probably going to come across as a rant, but I need to vent my frustrations with Rogers.

I was really put off their recent statement that they have the most reliable network in Canada. I've been using Rogers for several years and IMO they are doing little or nothing to fill in the numerous holes in the coverage in the lower mainland. I'm not talking about obscure places like basement parkades or elevators, but rather main thoroughfares where there's no reason the coverage shouldn't be 100% in such a mature network. I suspect that there are people in every city in Canada who could say the same thing about their coverage problems.

I commute to work between Coquitlam and North Vancouver every week day and there are a bunch of places on major roads where calls drop with regularity (e.g., HWY 1 going up/down the cut between 2nd Narrows and Upper Levels, Hastings in North Burnaby, Burnaby mountain (both sides), etc). Where I live in SE Coquitlam, sometimes I can't even use my phone due to the poor voice quality and dropped calls. Often I have to walk around my house trying to find a spot where I can hear the voice. There are numerous times when I can't even originate a call from my home.

When I heard the Rogers ad, I decided to give them a call on my way home from work to tell them what I thought about their claim. What a waste of time that was. I got the usual BS about how no one else is having any problems so I must be doing something wrong (they haven't talked to the people I know who experience the same thing), or it must be my handset (I've had two Nokias, two RAZRs and am now using a BB 8100, all with exactly the same "problem").