Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 18

Thread: Telus 8830..is it unlocked?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    142
    Device(s)
    Blackberry 9700
    Carrier(s)
    Bell
    Feedback Score
    0

    Telus 8830..is it unlocked?

    I've read some where that the 8830 is unlocked and that when over seas we can put another sim card in it. Although the data wont work, the voice aspect will. I just want to make sure this is true, cause I just saw a post in the Bell forum saying their 8830 are locked

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Yokohama
    Posts
    817
    Device(s)
    Samsung Omnia POP 931SC
    Carrier(s)
    SoftBank
    Feedback Score
    0
    I didn't know the 8830 took a sim card. Can someone out there confirm it uses one??

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    1,894
    Device(s)
    LG Shine
    Carrier(s)
    Bell
    Feedback Score
    0
    It does have a sim card (the telus mobility global roaming card). As for it being unlocked, there is another thread on that topic

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    I & I, is Everywhere
    Posts
    6,123
    Carrier(s)
    Rogers Wireless
    Feedback Score
    2 (100%)
    SIM card ONLY for Europe & Asia GSM bands 900/1800Mhz and most likely WILL be SIM locked ONLY for providers that Telus has partnered with.
    Formerly: Prom1, now I'm Supa_Fly!!
    My Feedback

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    3,887
    Device(s)
    Motorola Brick and a Big A$$ Pager
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by nezr
    I've read some where that the 8830 is unlocked and that when over seas we can put another sim card in it. Although the data wont work, the voice aspect will. I just want to make sure this is true, cause I just saw a post in the Bell forum saying their 8830 are locked
    Yes it is unlocked for overseas GSM carrier SIM cards. When I mean overseas, I mean can only be used overseas because they use 900/1800 and those are the only GSM frequencies this unit uses. Unlocked as you said for voice only! If you need BBerry email, then you have to use the Telus provided SIM along with it's expensive data rates.
    Last edited by QPhone; 07-07-2007 at 07:47 PM.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    226
    Device(s)
    HTC P4000
    Carrier(s)
    Telus
    Feedback Score
    0
    Pretty sure the Telus version of the 8830 is sim unlocked. Search this forum.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    2,534
    Device(s)
    Google Nexus 1
    Carrier(s)
    TELUS HSPA
    Feedback Score
    0
    It is unlocked.

    But there is some wrong info floating around. It is not locked to Voice Only.

    If you go to Europe and get a Vodaphone SIM with a Blackberry Plan then you can use the Euro data plans.

    But most people roaming overseas will simply buy a cheap pre-paid SIM, wich normally does not allow for data, or has higher rates.

    I think I like how Vodaphone does their Data plans as well:
    if you use data your charged 1pound for the first 15MB per day, so using it right you could pay 30pounds ($63 CDN) for up to 450MB. Down side to it is that if you go over the 15MB in a day, it's 2pound/MB
    http://shop.vodafone.co.uk/index.cfm...ly.selectaplan

    While we pay more for Data, I do think our Voice plans are better here than in Europe.
    Posted Using Two Copper Wires Twisted Together, And Connected To A Old Fashioned Personal Computing Device That Is Small Enough To Fit On A Desk Top.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Far side of the moon
    Posts
    2,852
    Device(s)
    BB 8830
    Carrier(s)
    # 1 : Telus Mobility
    Feedback Score
    0
    Wirelessly posted (Who knows: BlackBerry8703e/4.1.0 Profile/MIDP-2.0 Configuration/CLDC-1.1 VendorID/126)

    /\ yes. You are correct.
    Looking forward to HSPA on TELUS in 2010!

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    331
    Device(s)
    BB-9550 & BB-8230
    Carrier(s)
    Verizon, Telus,
    Feedback Score
    0
    Nice to know about the Vodafone feature SIM card...will that work all over the world?

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    226
    Device(s)
    HTC P4000
    Carrier(s)
    Telus
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by ofelas
    Nice to know about the Vodafone feature SIM card...will that work all over the world?
    Their pre paid cards work for voice in many countries (expensive) but data probably doesn't.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    2,534
    Device(s)
    Google Nexus 1
    Carrier(s)
    TELUS HSPA
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by ofelas
    Nice to know about the Vodafone feature SIM card...will that work all over the world?
    You'd have to talk to Vodafone about that one. The Euro Carriers all have sections here, I don't know how active they are, but it might be worth asking around there what their data roaming is like.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    331
    Device(s)
    BB-9550 & BB-8230
    Carrier(s)
    Verizon, Telus,
    Feedback Score
    0
    Thanks, R_H & others.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    GTA
    Posts
    598
    Carrier(s)
    Virgin (416)
    Feedback Score
    0
    If I buy this phone... could I use it Voice Only with Rogers?

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    226
    Device(s)
    HTC P4000
    Carrier(s)
    Telus
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by DeeLogic
    If I buy this phone... could I use it Voice Only with Rogers?
    Not in Canada. Rogers uses a different frequency.

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    GTA
    Posts
    598
    Carrier(s)
    Virgin (416)
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Rontec
    Not in Canada. Rogers uses a different frequency.
    Thanks.... I just found out the answer after posting this....

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Bookmarks