Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 18

Thread: Telus 8830..is it unlocked?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    142
    Phone
    Blackberry 9700
    Carrier
    Bell
    Feedback Score
    0

    Telus 8830..is it unlocked?

    I've read some where that the 8830 is unlocked and that when over seas we can put another sim card in it. Although the data wont work, the voice aspect will. I just want to make sure this is true, cause I just saw a post in the Bell forum saying their 8830 are locked

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Yokohama
    Posts
    817
    Phone
    Samsung Omnia POP 931SC
    Carrier
    SoftBank
    Feedback Score
    0
    I didn't know the 8830 took a sim card. Can someone out there confirm it uses one??

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    1,894
    Phones
    LG Shine
    BB 8130
    LG 8600, LG8500
    Carriers
    Bell
    Feedback Score
    0
    It does have a sim card (the telus mobility global roaming card). As for it being unlocked, there is another thread on that topic

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    I & I, is Everywhere
    Posts
    6,090
    Carrier
    Rogers Wireless
    Feedback Score
    2 (100%)
    SIM card ONLY for Europe & Asia GSM bands 900/1800Mhz and most likely WILL be SIM locked ONLY for providers that Telus has partnered with.
    Formerly: Prom1, now I'm Supa_Fly!!
    My Feedback

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    3,878
    Phones
    Motorola Brick and a Big A$$ Pager
    2 Tin Cans and a String
    Smoke Signals/Sunlight Reflection Signals using a piece of Glass
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by nezr
    I've read some where that the 8830 is unlocked and that when over seas we can put another sim card in it. Although the data wont work, the voice aspect will. I just want to make sure this is true, cause I just saw a post in the Bell forum saying their 8830 are locked
    Yes it is unlocked for overseas GSM carrier SIM cards. When I mean overseas, I mean can only be used overseas because they use 900/1800 and those are the only GSM frequencies this unit uses. Unlocked as you said for voice only! If you need BBerry email, then you have to use the Telus provided SIM along with it's expensive data rates.
    Last edited by QPhone; 07-07-2007 at 06:47 PM.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    226
    Phones
    HTC P4000
    Wing
    Cheap Nokia
    Carriers
    Telus
    C&W Panama
    Feedback Score
    0
    Pretty sure the Telus version of the 8830 is sim unlocked. Search this forum.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    2,533
    Phones
    Google Nexus 1
    Nexus 1
    Carrier
    TELUS HSPA
    Feedback Score
    0
    It is unlocked.

    But there is some wrong info floating around. It is not locked to Voice Only.

    If you go to Europe and get a Vodaphone SIM with a Blackberry Plan then you can use the Euro data plans.

    But most people roaming overseas will simply buy a cheap pre-paid SIM, wich normally does not allow for data, or has higher rates.

    I think I like how Vodaphone does their Data plans as well:
    if you use data your charged 1pound for the first 15MB per day, so using it right you could pay 30pounds ($63 CDN) for up to 450MB. Down side to it is that if you go over the 15MB in a day, it's 2pound/MB
    http://shop.vodafone.co.uk/index.cfm...ly.selectaplan

    While we pay more for Data, I do think our Voice plans are better here than in Europe.
    Posted Using Two Copper Wires Twisted Together, And Connected To A Old Fashioned Personal Computing Device That Is Small Enough To Fit On A Desk Top.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Far side of the moon
    Posts
    2,852
    Phones
    BB 8830
    Nokia N95-3
    Motorola S9
    Carriers
    # 1 : Telus Mobility
    Feedback Score
    0
    Wirelessly posted (Who knows: BlackBerry8703e/4.1.0 Profile/MIDP-2.0 Configuration/CLDC-1.1 VendorID/126)

    /\ yes. You are correct.
    Looking forward to HSPA on TELUS in 2010!

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    331
    Phones
    BB-9550 & BB-8230
    M9505a & GSP-1600
    Carriers
    Verizon, Telus,
    Globalstar
    Feedback Score
    0
    Nice to know about the Vodafone feature SIM card...will that work all over the world?

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    226
    Phones
    HTC P4000
    Wing
    Cheap Nokia
    Carriers
    Telus
    C&W Panama
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by ofelas
    Nice to know about the Vodafone feature SIM card...will that work all over the world?
    Their pre paid cards work for voice in many countries (expensive) but data probably doesn't.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    2,533
    Phones
    Google Nexus 1
    Nexus 1
    Carrier
    TELUS HSPA
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by ofelas
    Nice to know about the Vodafone feature SIM card...will that work all over the world?
    You'd have to talk to Vodafone about that one. The Euro Carriers all have sections here, I don't know how active they are, but it might be worth asking around there what their data roaming is like.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    331
    Phones
    BB-9550 & BB-8230
    M9505a & GSP-1600
    Carriers
    Verizon, Telus,
    Globalstar
    Feedback Score
    0
    Thanks, R_H & others.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    GTA
    Posts
    593
    Carriers
    Virgin (416)
    Feedback Score
    0
    If I buy this phone... could I use it Voice Only with Rogers?

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    226
    Phones
    HTC P4000
    Wing
    Cheap Nokia
    Carriers
    Telus
    C&W Panama
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by DeeLogic
    If I buy this phone... could I use it Voice Only with Rogers?
    Not in Canada. Rogers uses a different frequency.

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    GTA
    Posts
    593
    Carriers
    Virgin (416)
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Rontec
    Not in Canada. Rogers uses a different frequency.
    Thanks.... I just found out the answer after posting this....

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Bookmarks